We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I recomend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museu Condes de Castro

Museu Condes de Castro
Av. Rei Humberto II de Italia, Cascais 2750–374, Portugal
21 482 54 01
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 Attractions in Cascais
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I recomend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Visit FREE the Museum! Special on Sundays. Take a stroll in the garden, have a picnic, take kids... its a full day excitment

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    30
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Devon
Top Contributor
446 reviews 446 reviews
220 attraction reviews
Reviews in 206 cities Reviews in 206 cities
464 helpful votes 464 helpful votes
“A worthwhile free attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Located at one end of the Parque Marechal Carmona with separate access from the coastal road but no parking as far as I could tell; this house originally belonged to one O'Neill. Irish? Yes, but with Portuguese connections after several generations.

What I didn't expect was the good display of archaeological finds at one end of the ground floor with excellent interpretation standards.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Cinderella Palace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We came across this place on day 1 of our trip to Portugal. When we left our hotel, Vila Gale, Cascais and started to walk towards the town of Cascais, imagine our surprise when we found this lovely palace right beside our hotel. There was no charge to enter the Museu Condes de Castro and it was an amazing starting point of beauty that would continue throughout our stay in Portugal. We had an opportunity to view inside the palace and all the treasures inside, as well as enjoy the views on the top balconies - the Atlantic Ocean, lighthouse, fishing boats etc....the back drop to the museum is a municipal park that is quite large - about a city block - I would recommend taking a stroll through this well kept park as well. Between the palace/hotel is a small beach that we saw some people enjoy sunbathing/swimming when the tide was out. Well worth the visit!!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Not the best visit in town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

From the outside the museum bulding is quite something - a bit of a fantasy castle on a little inlet where the tide comes up to the walls. Inside (as I recall) it was pretty ordinary and even dull, although our visit was not improved by a very loud individual showing some other people around. Was he an employee? Right nearby you'll find the local cultural centre and the lighthouse museum, both of which I'd say are more worthwhile.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic free museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Absolutely stunning building architecturally and so worth a look around. Lots of interesting artefacts - can happily spend a couple of hours or more in here

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museu Condes de Castro also viewed

Cascais, Lisbon District
 
Cascais, Lisbon District
Cascais, Lisbon District
 

Been to Museu Condes de Castro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museu Condes de Castro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.