We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Baia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Baia to your Saves list
Hotel Baia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Marginal, Cascais 2754-509, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Cascais
GreenLeadersGold level
liverpool
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best location in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This was the third or fourth time I have stayed in this hotel. The last time was three years ago and there have been a couple of changes to the pool area but otherwise it remains consistent in its offering. The only downside for me is that the breakfast is OK but a bit ordinary and doesn't vary much.

The best things about this hotel are it's location and the magnificent view across the harbour, so it's advisable to select a sea view room with balcony at the front of the hotel. However, being at the centre of things it can get a bit noisy outside late at night, so if you like to sleep with the balcony door open then it's best to pack your earplugs.

The rooms are three or maybe four star, comfortable rather than luxurious, but the view is definitely five star. There's a good bar with terrace on the ground floor and the restaurant is good, although we didn't dine there during this stay. Parking is easy as it is beneath the hotel and there is a lift up to reception or direct to your room floor, but it does cost 10Eu per night.

And, should I visit Cascais again, I will be staying at Hotel Baia.

Room Tip: I go for a sea view room at the front of the hotel every time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, General Manager at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are always trying to improve so your comments are most welcome. We will do our best to improve on breakfast before your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    162
    64
    17
    16
See reviews for
45
156
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

A group of us visited last week and I will only report on my experience. I was given room 128 which is at the end of the corridor, at the back of the hotel with a very small window. The room felt very claustrophobic. I went straight to reception to see if there was an alternative and as the hotel was 'full' I was offered a sea view room for an additional 80 Euros for the 4 nights. This room was acceptable and served its purpose. When I found out that the tour company had only charged us 35 Euros for the 4 night upgrade I was less than pleased!
We ate in the hotel on the first evening and the food was excellent and the waiting staff were fabulous.
No wifi in the bedrooms is a travesty in this day and age, so had to sit in reception to get access.

Room Tip: If visiting get a sea view room to get some sleep and upload your emails when going through receptio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, General Manager at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I loved this hotel. My husband and I stayed here for the first three nights of our honeymoon and could not have been happier. We got a room facing the water with a wonderful private balcony where we sat and enjoyed wine and cheese and just enjoyed the view, breeze, and people-watching. The location of this hotel is perfect and we really enjoyed wandering around Cascais. The breakfast is expansive and well-worth it. The rooms are small, but enough room for what you need with a nice-sized bathroom. There is free wifi in the lobby. The pool on the top deck is nice and relaxing and a nice place to sit instead of on the small, busy beach. Before we moved on to our next city in Portugal I begged my husband to let us stay a few more days.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, Gerente geral at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Room was modern and comfortable with a balcony and beautiful sea view. The restaurant has a new chef who cooks tradition Portuguese with local ingredients The fish is as fresh as you can possibly find anywhere. Great flavors and very attentive staff. The Blue Bar, located on the rooftop next to the swimming pool, also had a beautiful view and live music from "Jack in the Box" gave it a great atmosphere. Hotel Baia rocks!

Room Tip: Rooms with sea- view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, Gerente geral at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your review! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed her for 11 nights from 29 July 2013. It has the best location in Cascais; close to the town centre and with the beach just outside across the road. The rooftop pool has fantastic views. There can be some noise in the evenings, but what do you expect right close to the action! Rooms were good, with adequate balconies and again great views.

The hotel restaurant offers good value if you want to eat in, but just around the corner is the main square with many restaurants vying for your custom

We have visited this area about a dozen times in the past 25 years and I would recommend this hotel if you want to be close to everything

Room Tip: ask for a sea view. These rooms have odd numbers
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, Gerente geral at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is one of the most central hotels in Cascais for the beach and town center. It offers an alright nights sleep and is a great location. Everything else is fine but pretty standard. It wasn't expensive so I can't complain. Things that I wish were different so that it could go from an ok hotel to a great hotel
- no towels for guests on the pool/terrace
- no wifi outside of reception area
- no iron in the room
- provide nicer toiletries in the bathroom (separate shampoo, shower gel etc)
- don't wake up your guests on the last day by phoning them asking to leave the room so it can be cleaned
If all you want is a nice bed to sleep in then it's the right place. The breakfast buffet was also really big and tasty

Room Tip: Sea view is worth the small extra price
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, Gerente geral at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We have taken your suggestions into account and are constantly working to improve. We DO offer towels on the pool sunterrace. All you have to do is ask at the bar, they are free of charge. We also offer free wi-fi all along our ground floor (reception, bar, terrace...) We hope to be able to offer wi-fi in the rooms very soon. We do not offer irons in the rooms for safety reasons but we do have a laundry and ironing service. We thank for your suggestion regarding the toiletries. We are looking for a solution that will satisfy all our guests and is still Eco-friendly as we are a certified Eco-Hotel. We are sorry if we woke you on your last day but check out time is midday and, especially at this busy time, we often have the new guests waiting to check into their room. We must also take into consideration that after a long journey they want to freshen up and relax in their room. We hope you will visit us again soon, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarendon Hills, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We arrived at Lisbon airport and our shuttle set up by the hotel was waiting for our family of 8. The hotel is at the beach with large rooms and balconies and updated bathrooms. They have family rooms for 4, a rare find in Europe-call to ask, they don't show up on website. If you face the front of the hotel, there is a huge disco/bar by the beach that can be loud late on a weekend but it didn't bother us. Beautiful views facing the beach on the pool deck-the pool is outdoors but covered by a huge canopy which worked great for my younger kids to keep out of the sun. Wear sandals on the pool deck, it gets hot and the drinks are expensive by the pool but they don't want you to bring your own, understandably. Walking distance to all the restaurants and shops. Decent breakfast included, seating inside and outside. Free wifi in the lobby! Wonderful service, my husband had a medical issue and they were very accommodating and helpful when we had to extend our stay. Our driver back into Lisbon gave us a great tour on the way for no extra charge! It's a very relaxing, beautiful beach hotel and town close to Lisbon and allowed us to relax after our long flight for a few days. We did not look for kids' activities or a workout room so I can't comment on them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, Gerente geral at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. The "huge disco/bar" was a 1-off party at the Sailing Club. We have had previous problems with the bars behind the Hotel but the authorities seem to be doing their job and we have not had further complaints. This is a problem that comes with the prime, seafront, central location...
Drinks at the pool bar are the same price as the ground floor bar: Water €1, Soft Drinks €1.60, Beer €2. Cocktails can cost between €5 to €6.50. We don't think this is expensive, especially given the prime location and views offered at the Blue Bar on the roof top. In any case, if you contact us directly for your next booking we will be glad to offer you a round of drinks on the house! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Baia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia

Address: Av Marginal, Cascais 2754-509, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cascais
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baia 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 30 km from Lisbon on the Estoril Coast, Hotel Baia has a privileged sea-front location, facing the Cascais Bay and offering a fabulous view of the ocean. The recently renovated Hotel Baia has 113 fully equipped rooms. Most of the rooms have a private balcony overlooking the sea. The Hotel Baia also has Conference Rooms with wireless Internet access, Banquet rooms for up to 300 people, private underground car park and our reputed Baia Grill Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Baia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Hotel Cascais
Hotel Baia Cascais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Baia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.