We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose your room carefully” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Albatroz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Villa Albatroz to your Saves list
Villa Albatroz
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Rua Fernades Tomas 1, Cascais 2750-342, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 30 Cascais B&B and Inns
mjcon
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Choose your room carefully”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel is in a great location by the sea. We had room 5, which is very small but has a good view and a big bathroom. Unfortunately it is directly above the restaurant, and so it's noisy and smelly until quite late. It didn't help that the staff we clattering about and singing after hours, and then it all starts up again as they prepare breakfast. The breakfast was OK and the reception staff were very pleasant. People in rooms on higher floors had fewer noise problems, so we were just unlucky.

Room Tip: Avoid room 5 or any at the front above the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    12
    7
    2
    7
See reviews for
6
19
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This originally a house but refurbish become a boutique villa. We had a room in the corner and it was facing the beach, very nice. The location very perfect and the room was pretty with Portuguese tiles. The bad thing was about the Wifi since we had to go to the main hotel for connection, many guests has complained about this but no change so far

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is not to be confused with its sister hotel the Albatross, which is of a completely different standard and quality.

Our room had a very aspect overlooking the bay and was light and airy. The bathroom was a fully tiled one in Portuguese fashion, but that was done many years ago. Really an update is now needed.

The receptionist who met us was exceptionally friendly and helpful. He offered to park our car, as space in the car park at the front was limited.

Wifi was not available or working, so we went to the sister hotel, the Albatroz, to use theirs. In fact we stayed to have dinner there, which was excellent and wished we had booked in there.

Breakfast at the Villa Alb in the morning was poor. Croissants were good, but not much else. Only a buffet seemed available and it was tired.

Next time, we will try the sister hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

What a great find. This charming boutique villa hotel was a perfect retreat from wind ravaged golf courses our group of eight played. Extremely helpful. Positively welcoming. Delightful, thoughtful and considerate service. They even tolerated our late night terrace singing! Staff constantly smiled and exuded warmth becoming of a super little hotel. Particular mention must be made of Mr Joao Monteiru our receptionist who left an indelible mark on our tour with a depth of kindness and consideration one all to rarely sees at 5 star hotels. If you're in Cascais then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I keep comming back to this nice hotel almost every year for the last seven years.
It is a very cozy place in a very good location. It has very few rooms all decorated wit taste. In terms of
room views, sho shoul clarify at the time of booking what you are being offered. The location is very good, however there is no parking on the premises, and the centric location makes parking your car a bit complicated. The staff does it's best
to helpyou solve the problem. Having said this, I firmly believe this hotel does not deserve the five star rating it has.
I agree with someone giving it a three and a half stars. Finally I do recommend it.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Couple, 56 and 61, visited 15 - 18 May 2013, approximately £98 B&B per night.

For those wishing to escape the anonymous hotel blocks of Lisbon, some 40 minutes away by frequent suburban train there is lovely Cascais and the Villa Albatroz. It is a 6 minute stroll from the (terminus) train station, but not to be confused with the Hotel Albatroz, which is its posher and more expensive nearby sister. The Villa enjoys a prominent position above a sandy beach and is central for all of Cascais' shops and restaurants.. It has loads of character and the room came with a sea view, but without a balcony. It had a fine large bathroom and the bed was large and comfortable. Some of the decor and paintwork had minor chips and bashes, and maybe this should have been better for a 4-star rating. However, this was our only small niggle - ah, plus the switch for the hair dryer which was impossible to locate, requiring some help from the ever-willing staff to find - otherwise we were very happy bunnies. The breakfast was a bit minimalist, consisting of choice of two cereals (but no cold milk?), breads, meat and cheese, coffee, tea, orange juice and fruit. Some tepid scrambled eggs and bacon appeared occasionally, but not really enough for all the guests. By way of compensation, the dining area had lovely views across the small bay, and the staff were - to a person - friendly and helpful. We ate in the Villa on one of the nights, and the food was very good, though from a fairly limited pizza and pasta style menu. It was noticeable that many of the dinner guests were Portuguese, and it was packed, so we guessed that this was a good commendation. The table service was superb, and the wine reasonably priced (£10 for a waited bottle of Dao). Cascais has a good selection of bars and restaurants and is neat and tidy (little of the graffiti that blights Lisbon), and felt safe to walk about in. We would definitely come here again, and would recommend staying in Cascais and the Villa Albatroz as a great way of sightseeing in Lisbon, but with a coastal-holiday feel to a short break.
Three travel tips -
(1) get the Lisbon Card at the TI booth at the airport. It cost 39 Euros each for a 72 hour pass and paid for three return rail journeys to Cascais, tubes, trams, and discounted bus journeys, and an estimated saving of 16 Euros in entrance charges.
(2) give the Botanic Gardens at Belem a miss, as it is a rip-off, even at a 2 Euros entrance charge. Groomed near the ticket office, it gradually decays into absolute ruination the further into it you go - it is enough to make nature-lovers weep!
(3) watch out for pickpockets in the old trams especially (full of tourist rich-pickings), but otherwise enjoy lovely Lisbon!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-view. Our room 9 had a view of the sea, but backwards towards Estoril, but there are p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed one night at the Albatroz Villa before starting a walking holiday. It's not as posh as its sister hotel in Cascais but it is very central and all the rooms have great views of the sea. We paid extra for room number 6 which is triple aspect with stunning views and lots of space. It's decorated in traditional Portuguese style with tiles and window shutters. The bathroom lets it down as the bath needs updating and when we were there there was no blind on the window. The staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Room number six is huge and has the most stunning sea view. Worth paying extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Albatroz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Albatroz

Address: Rua Fernades Tomas 1, Cascais 2750-342, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Cascais
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Albatroz 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Villa Albatroz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Albatroz Hotel Cascais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Albatroz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.