We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pousada De Cascais - Cidadela Historic Hotel & Art District to your Saves list
Pousada De Cascais - Cidadela Historic Hotel & Art District
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fortaleza da Cidadela, Avenida Dom Carlos I, Cascais 2750, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Cascais
dublin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Just back from a 5 night stay with my elderly Mum. We arrived late at night and first impressions did not disappoint. Just as our taxi pulled up to the door our bags were taken by a staff member and delivered to our room. Most of the rooms come with baths but the staff had purposely allocated us a room with a walk in shower due to my Mums age, it was very thoughtful.
Breakfast in the morning was in the Resturant overlooking the marina. As well as a great selection of fresh fruit, cheeses, hams, cereal and hot food the kitchen will gladly make up an omelette or whatever you fancy.
Housekeeping were very helpful, quickly delivering an iron and extra hangers to our room when requested.
I found the location of this hotel to be perfect. Just at the end of the town it was a perfect distance to walk after dinning in the town in the evening.
We actually ended up eating in the main Resturant in the hotel on 3 evenings, which we have never done in any previous holidays. Here the food was so good, and the menu so extensive, and such good value, it was worth it. And a special mention to one of the waiting staff Carina, who looked after us each night we ate in the resturant and who real went above and beyond with her food recommendations and convincing the chef to fillet a whole sea bream for both my mum and I on a busy Saturday night.
Unfortunately there is so much to do and see in Cascais and the surrounding villages that we never did get to try out the hotel Spa, hopefully we will next time as if I do get to go back to Cascais I will definitely return to this hotel.
PS they do a great value over 55 rate!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pousada De Cascais - Cidadela Historic Hotel & Art District, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Irishskibunny23

You can't imagine how glad we were with your review. Thank you for all the lovely words and comments! It was an enormous pleasure have you and your Mum with us and we can wait to welcome you both back so you can enjoy all the things that you didn't have the chance to embrace during this stay. We'll be all waiting for you..!

Sincerely,

Maria
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    122
    38
    12
    5
See reviews for
72
245
7
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wantage
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This pousada is very new - only started operating in March this year. Therefore everything is very clean and shiny. As many reviewers have noted the plus points are the very helpful staff, the large comfy beds and the interesting architecture. The minus points are definitely the small plunge pool, the limited sunbed area, no parking and the very high cost for what you get.
We only stayed 2 nights and ate down in the town square both nights, but I don't think I would like to stay any longer than that.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pousada De Cascais - Cidadela Historic Hotel & Art District, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear CJA58,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We also thank you for your criticism because it's with comments like yours that we're able to achieve perfection! In fact we opened in March, 2012, so it's real nice to hear that we keep our standards so high that you thought we were only a few months old ;) Once again, thank you for sharing your candid opinion!

Sincerely,

Maria
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Firstly, this is a lovely building creatively inserted into the old fort. It fronts onto a plaza that will I hope in time generate more activity but is quiet at present.
We had a sea view room with balcony . I agree the marina is not much to look at and at weekend nights the throbbing music will continue til 3am. However, the sunrises and view of the sea still are good for the soul. You pay a lot for this however and other hotels might offer better value.

Our experience of the hotel -staying for 7 nights - was that it was smoothly functioning. Staff were informative unobtrusive friendly helpful and well trained. Housekeeping flawless. Can imagine the hotel might come under strain if more quests around.

Only a small indoor pool although sides open to the air seems an odd feature possibly constrained by the overall design. Lack of Parking is an irritant.

Whether 5 star or a leading hotel is a matter for whoever sets the relevant standards but they do seem to vary country to country. Area most needing attention is the food offering. Wonder how it stacks against the Pestana brand offering?
We liked this hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pousada De Cascais - Cidadela Historic Hotel & Art District, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear CalmTraveller75,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your kind words about the staff and service! It's wonderful to hear that your experience was a positive one, we're glad you were able to enjoy the sea view and sunrise, the last one breathtaking! Your comments regarding the the food offering was passed on to upper management. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Sincerely,

Maria
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We booked this hotel in Cascais after reading all the positive comments on Trip Advisor. We made a HUGH mistake.This hotel is over priced and in NO WAY can be classified as one of the leading hotels of the world. The leading hotels of the world need to revisit this hotel as our faith in the title was a mistake.
(i) The Rooms are small.Our room for nearly £200 per night had no view other than some dark walkways around the back.
(ii) No Bathroom just a shower room. Honestly we have had a better room and bathroom at Travelodge and Premier Inn for £40 per night in the UK. No coffee making facilities in the room.(even travelodge at £40 per night has this)
(iii) The House keeping is the WORST we have ever experienced. No Toilet paper replaced, Used glasses never removed. No water replaced.We had to call the reception twice because our room was never attended.Had to call for soap as this was not replaced, and have the mini bar replenished. Each time we had to call several times!
(iv) The Service in the hotel is just plain BAD. They are understaffed and do not have enough staff to attend.
(v) The pool is NOT a proper swimming pool. I swam the length in 6 strokes. It is a pond.
(vi) The sleeping beds around the pool were never cleaned. The mattresses were soaked with stains and sun lotion form previous users. Just disgusting.The Decking area around the pool was deteriorating and the noise from the road near the marina kills any sense of relaxing near the pool (pond).
(vii) The hotel lacks all forms of entertainment for guests.The hotel further has no concierge service.We had to ask what excursions they operate. Even then it was the receptionists "opinion" of what they thought we required.
(viii) One excursion we were quoted 120 Euros for 3 hours the next day we asked the price had suddenly dropped to 60 Euro for the 3 hours?

The only good feature of this hotel is that it is close to the Cascais town where we generally ate all our evening meals.The hotel does nothing to promote and reason to stay within the hotel.This is the first time ever we dreaded returning back to the hotel in the evenings after dinner.

In a nutshell this in our opinion is not a 5 star hotel and no way definitely not a leading hotel of the world. We are shocked shocked that there are so many positive postings and really advise to treat this hotel with caution. No one it appears is willing to call a spade a spade , this place sucks or the other guest have not seen the standards you expect from a leading hotel of the world.(Our opinion)

SAD it ruined our week away.Thank God Cascais is a great town with great restaurants. if we ever go back we would search a different hotel

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pousada De Cascais - Cidadela Historic Hotel & Art District, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Brad M,

We are very sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We thank you for your detailed feedback, as it is the best way for us to understand how we can enhance your guest experience in the future. Your comments have been passed on to senior management and we'll be anxiously waiting for your return so you can give us an opportunity to make it up to you and make your stay flawless!

Sincerely,

Maria
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I have mixed feelings on this hotel. When it was good it was very good, when it wasn't so good it was pretty average and not great value for money. First the good - the service was excellent from the minute that we arrived at check in. The staff were all very pleasant, courteous and helpful. They were obviously well trained and they had been well selected to provide a genuine customer service. Secondly the location of the hotel is very good, 35 - 40 minutes from Lisbon airport and 5 minutes walk from numerous bars and restaurants in the old town. The design and build quality / finish of the hotel is imaginative and polished - building an entirely new facility within the shell of the ancient fort. We ate at the hotel's pool bar and at the main restaurant in the central hotel courtyard - both provided nice food, very good service and a pleasant atmosphere at reasonable prices. Finally it was nice to have Wi Fi available free of charge throughout the hotel.

Now the not so good. The rooms were a disappointment for a 5 star hotel. We paid extra for the 'Superior Balcony Rooms' - quite a lot extra - the supplement for the balcony was around 65 Euro a night- for that I would expect a pretty impressive balcony, particularly in Portugal. In fact the balcony was pretty small, on the ground level and immediately adjacent to a public pathway. There was no view, no sun for most of the day, no privacy and no light to read by at nighttime (which is the main reason that we booked the balcony in the first place). So for almost 300 Euro / night you get a nice, neat contemporary room - modern, clean and comfortable but not that big and certainly not that impressive - overlooked by a public pathway that runs immediately outside the window. To have a sea / marina view (which, in itself, is unremarkable), you will have to pay another 120 Euro a night! When you get over 400 Euro a night I expect something pretty special in this sort of Portugese resort- and this hotel fell vary far short of that. Secondly the facilities can't cope with the guests when the hotel is busy. We visited in early / mid September so the very end of the peak season - the hotel didn't seem to be that busy but the breakfast rooms still struggled to cope. One morning we stood in a queue for almost 15 minutes waiting for a table. If we had been paying 100 Euro a night at a 'coach party 3 Star' I would have been disappointed - at these prices that service simply isn't acceptable. The choice at breakfast was quite small for a 5 star hotel - it was OK but no more. Finally the pool is pretty small - I guess that they need one to merit a 5 star rating but it is more of a gesture than a serious facility for people who want a pool / beach hotel. The Hotel is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World - compared to others that we have stayed in this was rather disappointing. Compared to hotels in this price range in the Far East and the US it was very limited - compared to other European resorts it was generally quite good but, in my view, seriously overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pousada De Cascais - Cidadela Historic Hotel & Art District, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Brian C,

Thank you for giving us the pleasure of choosing us during your stay in Portugal and for sharing your constructive criticism and detailed opinion with all the travelers. We apologize for the things that didn't meet your expectations and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you again the next time you visit Cascais so we can make your stay the most positive one, without mixed feelings!

Sincerely,

Maria
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen's Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed as a party of four a short 5 day city break. The hotel is about 35 mins by taxi from the airport and located just behind the marina about a five minute walk into Cascais. The manner in which they have converted the old citadel into a modern hotel, while retaining appropriate elements is first class. Entering through the main entrance in the citadel walls it quickly opens up into a courtyard with some small shops, a restaurant and hotel reception on three of the four side of the internal courtyard. On arrival the staff were extremely helpful, efficient and welcoming. That theme continued throughout the visit. We were in rooms on the second floor (same level of the pool) one with a balcony overlooking the marina and a slightly larger one over looking a rear courtyard. Both had small balconies. The rooms themselves were extremely comfortable with large bathrooms, although the shower was not separate but in the bath. We were immediately adjacent to the restaurant where breakfast was served. We were on a b&b package and the breakfast had a good selection of cold and hot foods. Top tip would not be to leave it late to be able to get a table without a short wait. Beside the restaurant is the "indoor" pool - it has opening sliding doors & a retractable roof so it doesn't feel inside. Note it is more for a quick dip & a cool down than doing lengths being about 15m in length. Beside the pool is a stylish terrace for relaxing. There is also an additional terrace above accessed up a circular metal staircase. The terrace was most enjoyable for an evening drink before heading out for dinner. We ate out each night we stayed so cannot vouch for the restaurants in the hotel (there are two, one by the pool and one more formal in the grounds of the hotel) though if the bar snack one lunch time is anything to go by I'm sure it will be pretty good. The hotel is a five minute walk from the centre of town with plenty of restaurants and bars to choose from. We went into Lisbon a couple of times, the train station being about 10-15 minutes walk from the hotel. Lisbon is about 40 minutes by train. We also used the public buses to go to Sintra - it was adjacent to the railway station; that took an hour. We were there in early August which coincided with a summer festival. The place was jumping most nights with live music, food stalls and a great atmosphere. If you are going to Cascais I would have problem recommending it. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pousada De Cascais - Cidadela Historic Hotel & Art District, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear MEJG,

We are elated to hear that you had a magnificent experience with us and that you loved everything about you stay! Our service and staff are truly two of our greatest assets and we are so happy that you felt well taken care of. Thank you for giving us the pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip to Cascais!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

A beautifully renovated building in a buzzing seaside town. The Pousada de Cascais provided an oasis of calm and tranquility. Nothing was too much trouble for the fantastic staff and all meals we had were beautifully presented and absolutely delicious. Rooms were spacious and very well facilitated. We would definitely return and not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: courtyard rooms are great as away from main hotel yet near to the hotel shops and bistro
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pousada De Cascais - Cidadela Historic Hotel & Art District, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear David G,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to leave us a review. We are thrilled to hear that you loved your stay and what better phrase to describe it than 'an oasis of calm and tranquility'? Wow! Thank you for such kind words. We'll be anxiously waiting for your return!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pousada De Cascais - Cidadela Historic Hotel & Art District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada De Cascais - Cidadela Historic Hotel & Art District

Address: Fortaleza da Cidadela, Avenida Dom Carlos I, Cascais 2750, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pousada De Cascais - Cidadela Historic Hotel & Art District 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel, Pousada de Cascais, is set within the walls of the historical fortress, the emblematic 16th century Citadel of Cascais, in the centre of Cascais. It is a place where ancient meets modern, and many of the rooms are dramatically set into the former barracks which makes each space a different experience, while others, more modern, enjoy spectacular views to the sea or over the huge internal patio spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pousada De Cascais - Cidadela Historic Hotel & Art District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada De Cascais - Cidadela Historic Hotel & Art District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.