We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Amateurs built Noah's Arc while professionals built the Titanic!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Bonne Etoile

La Bonne Etoile
Rua Dom Jose de Avilez, 141 B | Villa Gandarinha, Cascais 2750-398, Portugal
+351 966 643 314
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 314 Restaurants in Cascais
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: French, Portuguese, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: La Bonne Etoile is a cafe, tea room, restaurant and art gallery that is completely innovative, offering a corner of the French Riviera in Cascais. Entering that place is like entering a private home rather than a restaurant. The atmosphere is refined and the customer is received as a friend. Everything is designed to help the customer enjoy the flavors and aromas that awaken the senses. The menu is French influenced and changes regularly.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Amateurs built Noah's Arc while professionals built the Titanic!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

La Bonne Etoile - The Good Star provides a magical, romantic and delicious dining experience approximately a 20 minute walk from the train station in Cascais.

The food was cooked fresh to order. It was a feast for the senses. We ordered the orange honey chicken and the grouper and prawn stew for mains. It was good value for money.

We highly recommend this cosy inviting establishment for all visitors to Cascais, whatever your budget.

Thank you Grace for a beautiful evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    19
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Very good food. The restaurant is like visiting her home. The food is interesting and large portions fair priced. The woman that owns the restaurant makes the recipes, cooks the food, and is the waiter. I recommend it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and a lovely host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Myself and my wife visited this restaurant during our two week holiday in Cascais. Really enjoyed the meal which was at a very reasonable price as well. My wife is a vegetarian and it wasn't always the easiest finding places to eat (non fish eater too). Grace, who runs the restaurant and does all the cooking, had no problem with this and cooked up a vegetarian dish from scratch which was both unique and delicious according to my wife! Thanks Grace.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely fresh food, great service very personal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We just had a lovely meal here. We are in Portugal for a week now and I can say that this was the best meal so far. It's made fresh for you, with fresh fruit. It takes some time, but it's nice to have a relaxed meal in a nice place. Good dessert and a good cup of coffee.

Also the owner is very friendly! So far the nicest restaurant owner we've met! She gave us lots of tips for our trip around Portugal and even her card and phone number if we would have any other questions. So sweet and nice!!

The price is also good. We've been to restaurants in Cascais where you pay more for less quality.

The restaurant is not in the tourist centre but really worth the d-tour. I think it's about 5 or 10 minutes walk from the center.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of man
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful encounter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Tonight we have been guests of Grace, who incidentally is full of grace . We enjoyed her wonderful warm hospitality and her French cuisine , Grace does more than feed you with food , ask her when you get there to tell you a bit about herself , she is a remarkable lady .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bonne Etoile also viewed

Cascais, Lisbon District
Cascais, Lisbon District
 
Cascais, Lisbon District
Cascais, Lisbon District
 

Been to La Bonne Etoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bonne Etoile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.