We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pergola House

Save Saved
You added Pergola House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pergola House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Avenida Valbom 13, Cascais 2750-508, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Cascais B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Pergola Guest is a beautiful old Portuguese house set behind a delightful garden and which is still owned by the family for which it was built. The outside of the building is postcard perfect with beautiful Portuguese tiles framing the windows. Inside is even better. Much of the original house is still there to be seen. Everywhere is elegant and charming. A fine staircase took us to our large, comfortable room. Breakfast was very good and complimentaty port was served the garden in the evenings. The staff are wonderful and made us feel at home and well looked after
Location was important to us. Pergola House is but a few minutes walk from the station (but no train noise). It is almost opposite Santini's Ice Cream Parlour (ice cream to die for!) and close to the beach, restaurants and shops.

We couldn't have asked for more. Quite simply we love it. This was our second stay and we will certainly be returning to Pergola House.


David & Jean

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room with a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia G, General Manager at Pergola House, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for returning to Pergola House and for your wonderful review. It is guests like you that make us feel motivated about our work. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and we wish to welcome you soon. Best regards, Patricia Gonçalves, general manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    32
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
82
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Casa da Pergola. The staff is very friendly and always helpful with good advices. The hotel, that has a beautiful and romantic garden in front of the house, lies next to the shopping area of Cascais and the beach is reachable in approx. 5 minutes.
Only the WiFi-Signal could have been better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia G, Owner at Pergola House, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Jan,

Thank you for your review about our house and for letting everyone know how much you have enjoyed your stay. We are working on the Wi-fi signal to offer a better service. Thank you so much, Patricia Gonçalves, manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Pergola Guest House B&B is conveniently situated regarding the beach, shops, restaurants, railway station. At the same time there are silence and feeling as if you are at country house remote from city’s noise. Beautiful well-groomed garden, enclosed area, antique furniture chosen with good taste made me feel as if I spent several days in previous century in the house of reach aristocrats. Every morning began with a delicious breakfast and smile of the friendly and very helpful personnel of the House. Staying in this place turned to be unforgettable and left only positive emotions.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia G, Manager at Pergola House, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Mrs. Lorena,

Thank you for your review, it is wonderful to know how much you appreciated your stay. It was a pleasure to welcome you at Pergola House. We truly hope that you come back, Patricia, manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gijon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Casa da Pergola is a cosy house with a beautiful garden situated in the centre of Cascais. We have just spent there 4 days and must say that we felt like at home. Sofia and the rest of the satff made things very easy to us and were very helpful at all times. We especially enjoyed breakfast, served in the garden during the summer, and the Porto wine moment every evening. We will for sure come back to this lovely place. Lorena (Asturias, Spain)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia G, General Manager at Pergola House, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Lorena,
Thank you for choosing Pergola House for your holidays. We miss you already and are waiting to welcome back in the near future. See you soon, Patricia and Sofia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

After spending the first night just outside of Cascais we ran into this beautiful and classy place right in the center of town. The guest house looks like a very elegant mansion with a bloomy garden in front. In the garden seven or eight table to have breckfast in the morning. Breckfast is continental with scranled eggs, fresh fruit, juice, jam, coffe, the and home made bread, still warm, served by Fatima, Sofia,or some other very nice lady. Rooms are very confortable and get cleaned twice a day. Casa da pergola is the place where I want to go back every year. I would raccomand it to the people I love most.
M. Delgado

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia G, General Manager at Pergola House, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Mr. Delgado,
Thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure to have you as guests at Pergola House. We miss your sympathy and the scooter... We wait for you next year like promised. Best regards, Patricia e Sofia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Great setting, wonderfull service, excellent breakfast and very genuine andwilling staff all contributed to one of the nicest and prettiest B&B house we have ever stayed in.
Perhaps a little expensive,and a few extra thoughts such as bath condiments would help.

Room Tip: Choose onbe overlooking the garden with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia G, General Manager at Pergola House, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear guests,
Thank you so much for your nice comments. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. Regarding your suggestions we are happy to inform you that we are improving the amenities in the bathroom. Hopping to see you next year, Patricia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Casa Da Pergola is a great place to stay if you are in Cascais. It is a short walk to the train to/from Lisbon, shopping, restaurants, bars, beaches, churches and anything else you may need on a fun vacation. Patricia and Sofia are extreemly gracious hostesses and they both speak english (and several other languages) very well. The property is spotlessly clean and the gardens in the front of the property are truly beautiful. So much so that if you walk around town you will find the property pictured on many available post cards! Free port wine is served each day in the early evening which is always appreciated!! A relaxed and casual atmosphere combined with very fair prices make this an easy location to recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia G, General Manager at Pergola House, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your nice review and for taking the time to write such a nice description of our Pergola House. It was a pleasure to welcome you and we really hope that you come back, Patricia and Sofia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pergola House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pergola House

Address: Avenida Valbom 13, Cascais 2750-508, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pergola House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pergola House, a Mediterranean style Mansion, with its elegant white marble floors and staircases, 10 bedrooms with "bas relief" stucco ceilings and beautiful garden, is located in the very heart of Cascais. This superb house has always belonged to the same family for over a century and its beautiful facade adorned with ancient hand painted tiles has been the delight of both amateur and professional photographers. Enjoy the buffet breakfast outside in the colourful garden in summer or inside with the sound of classic music. Port wine served everyday at 6 pm. Tea service in the afternoon. Special appetizers and wines from 6-8 pm. Daily diner buffet available. Air-conditioned and central heating. Wireless internet in all the rooms. Good tips for restaurants and museums.Pick-up from Lisbon airport available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, T4B, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Pergola House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Da Pergola Hotel Cascais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pergola House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.