We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, even better location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Gale Cascais

Save Saved
You added Vila Gale Cascais to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vila Gale Cascais
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Frei Nicolau De Oliveira, 80 | Parque Da Gandarinha, Cascais 2750-641, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 22 hotels in Cascais
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, even better location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Clean rooms and very good location
Top location next to the sea and close to the best tourist spots in Cascais.
Recommended if you like to make long walks by the sea, bike riding, etc.
I used the room service breakfast, it was ok and reasonably priced.

The only bad thing i would like to mention was the somewhat noisy fridge in the small kitchen.
The kitchen was the only part of the room that looked a little outdated and not that useful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the feedback we receive and welcome every opportunity to improve.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have found our location ideal for your stay. Has you mention we have the sea up front, we are close to the best tourist spots in Cascais and walking distance to the city centre.

Hope to welcome you again in Vila Galé Cascais or on any other Vila Galé Hotel always close to you,

Best Regards,

Carlos Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    216
    86
    27
    5
See reviews for
93
196
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011 via mobile

Service was excellent, wonderful view from sea facing room, food good, massages out of this world! But they should invest in new towels and pillows- towels were worn out, pillows terribly lumpy!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the feedback we receive and welcome every opportunity to improve.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have found our service excelent.

Hope to welcome you again in Vila Galé Cascais or on any other Vila Galé Hotel always close to you,

Best Regards,

Carlos Alves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ickenham
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Vila Galle is a good quality hotel with good sized bedrooms. Hotel is spacioius with pleasant gardens and pool,the bar is smart and modern. The buffet breakfast is fine and the buffet dinner in the evening was more than adequate with a good range of choice. Wine in the restaurant was reasonably priced.
The hotel has excellent sea views or ii at the back of the hotel over a park that is worth visiting. The town of Cascais is a very pleasant and attractive seaside resort with plenty of bars and many restaurants from cheap to expensive.
What is ideal as a destination is the quick access by train into the city of Lisbon which with its many sights is worth spending two - three days exploring. When you have had enough of the bustling city you can return to Cascais and the sea. Ideal.

Room Tip: Higher floor sea view room ensures an excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the feedback we receive and welcome every opportunity to improve.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and to find it ideal for city breaks.

Hope to welcome you again in Vila Galé Cascais or on any other Vila Galé Hotel always close to you,

Best Regards,


Carlos Alves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I have been travelling to VGC for 5 years as part of a golf tour. It is perfect for the job. Clean with good firm beds and a 10 minute walk into the town. Breakfast is ok but inevitably samey having had it 20 mornings over the years. If you are looking for value for money, this represents a sound choice.

Criticisms - wi-fi is pay for service - altho' the hotel was less than half-full on day of our departure they want 35 euros for late check-out.

We are going to try the Guincho next year.

On a wider note - TA grading is clumsy for some reviews I write - this is not really a very good hotel per se and nor is it average; rather it is good for the money they charge.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms worth booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the feedback we receive and welcome every opportunity to improve.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to welcome you again in Vila Galé Cascais or on any other Vila Galé Hotel always close to you,

Best Regards,


Carlos Alves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Positives - room was quiet and clean. Air conditioning very efficient and quiet.
Negatives - room service breakfast was inedible and pricey at 17 Euro.
Bed was very hard and room overlooked car park so up early as the golfing fraternity headed out for the day!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to post your review because we welcome every opportunity to improve.

We hope to welcome you again in Vila Galé Cascais or in any other Vila Galé Hotel always close to you.

Best Regards

Carlos Alves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed here for two nights at the end of October with a large group. We had not been to Portugal before and had no idea what Cascais was like, so had a few worries. We need not have worried. Reception service was exceptionally good, the staff were friendly and really seemed to enjoy their jobs. Our room overlooked the pool and the sea, but more importantly it was clean and had everything we needed. Well, we would have liked a kettle etc but know that's not common in Europe. We did have a little kitchen in a cupboard so could use a saucepan instead, and it would have been possible to make lunch or dinner. The bar was very reasonably priced, and the staff very friendly and attentive. The restaurant staff were great, and the service very good. The breakfast buffet was good - I think everyone could find something they liked there. We had the dinner buffet on the first night as we were tired, but wished we had made the effort to go out. Choice was fairly limited, and it would seem that all the food gets cooked at once and put out at the beginning of the evening. This might work ok in high season when there are a lot of customers, but that evening only half a dozen people were in, and the food had obviously sat around for a long time. I had a local cod and rice dish , it was very tasty but a bit dry and only warm. My husband had pork chops - he said they were like shoe leather. We ended up having soup, bread and desserts to have enough for dinner. A pity, but the only negative we had during our stay. Checkout is nice and late, at noon, but as we had an evening flight home, we were able to store our cases until the evening and made to feel welcome to stay in the lounge and around the pool until we left.
Location is perfect, from the hotel you can walk to the Boca di Inferno, or the marina (lots of bars and restaurants) or into the town with ease. The area around the hotel is beautiful, with a fantastic promenade, a park right on the doorstep and everywhere exceptionally clean and well cared for. We'd love to go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

We always appreciate the feed back we receive and welcome every opportunity to improve.

We are very glad that you found that your initial worries were unfounded and that we have contributed for that.

We took good notice about your remarks and measures will be taken to avoid future situations.

Hope to welcome you again in Vila Galé Cascais or in any other Vila Galé Hotel always close to you.

Best Regards,


Carlos Alves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

This is quite a nice hotel in a very nice location (for Americans think LaJolla, CA). It meets all the requirements for the good rating it is earning on Tripadvisor. Take the local train into Lisbon and use the Metro to see the city. When you return at the end of the day and stroll back through fascinating upscale Cascais and along the ocean front to this hotel you will probably echo my wife, "This is really enjoyable." While one might like a little flashier room and another might complain that the desk may well give you the wrong lock for the room safe and a third may find the room chairs impossible, why worry about nirvana? This hotel will well satisfy the wants of most travelers.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for review.

We always appreciate the feedback we receive and we are very glad that you have find our hotel a good choice for your stay in Cascais.

We hope to welcome you again on a near future,

Best Regards,


Carlos Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vila Gale Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Cascais

Address: Rua Frei Nicolau De Oliveira, 80 | Parque Da Gandarinha, Cascais 2750-641, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Cascais 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located over the sea and close to the Cascais Marina, this hotel is the perfect place to spend your holidays, to hold business meetings or special events, set in a region offering a variety of experiences, highlighting the golf, surf and historically and culturally important sites (Paula Rego Stories House, Marechal Carmona Park, Cultural Centre of Cascais). Benefiting from a ravishing view over the sea, it has 233 large bedrooms, a restaurant with a show cooking station, two bars, meeting rooms with natural lighting and a health club featuring a sauna and massage cabinets. Vila Gale Cascais has a total of 233 bedrooms. Among them, we feature 75 standard rooms with an ocean view and 29 junior suites with an ocean view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Vila Gale Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Cascais Hotel Cascais
Vila Gale Village Hotel Cascais
Vila Gale Village Cascais
Cascais Vila Gale Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Gale Cascais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.