We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for Cascais & Lisbon area.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cidadela

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cidadela to your Saves list
Hotel Cidadela
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. 25 de Abril, Cascais 2754-517, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Cascais
Northern Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good Hotel for Cascais & Lisbon area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed here for 4 days.
Staff very friendly and helpful , rooms kept very clean, breakfast selection very good.
Hotel decor is a bit dated but rooms are comfortable.
Good location for Cascais and within easy access of public transport into Lisbon.

Room Tip: All 5 floors have room with pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    55
    45
    14
    11
See reviews for
25
64
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We travelled as a couple and needed a place on the Lisbon Coast with good connections to Sintra for a friend's wedding. We were very pleased with our choice of Cascais ( a lovely resort with lots to do, good restaurants and little tourist tat). The Cidadela is a three star, but it had all we needed- a good breakfast(regularly topped up supplies of fruit salad, eggs,bacon and bread). Quiet, soundproof rooms for a restorative sleep with blackout curtains, pool and air conditioning. The room also had good lighting for reading. We paid extra for a sea view,(room 538). The staff we dealt with were practical and helpful- they even checked us in on line for our return flight. We paid 9 euros for safe rental for the the week.Unfortunately, there is no fridge/ mini bar in the room and no tea making facilities. There is a hair dryer which was fine to use hidden away in a dressing table drawer. The shower, bath and double sink were all functional and clean although a little old. Towels were changed everyday. The hotel is up a hill from the main drag, but we soon got used to this- it was no problem. I wouldnt want to negotiate the pavements in high heels as they were uneven and slippy. We found Cascais to be well located with a couple of restaurants we would recommend- the Flecha Azul at Avenida Valbom no 8B- unpretentious cafe run by three brothers- we enjoyed the fresh grilled fish here, they also do Sagres beer and cakes/ desserts for a good price. A bit different is the House of Wonders at Largo da Misericordia http://www.facebook.com/houseofwonders, they serve lovely cakes and blended tea on a Moroccan style rooftop, for a lovely chill out. We travelled out a couple of times to Lisbon which is very easy on the train and to Sintra on the bus ( a long and twisty journey on the 403, better route on the 417). Links to the Airport in Lisbon were also straightforward using the Aerobus which links directly with the Cais de Sodre Station for the train to Cascais and Estoril.

Room Tip: we were pleased with our 5th floor room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We were a group of 4 people who were in Portugal to visit the Optimus Alive festival just out on the outskirts of Lisbon. We wanted a reasonably priced hotel with a pool to relax in the day time. Admitedly the hotel is a few years old, but the furniture and fixtures where of good quality. In a few years time it willl be retro-chick!! The rooms were large and airy with great views out to sea - we were in 532 and this had fab views.

The reception staff where really helpful and always on hand to help solve any problems.

We would definitely recommend this lovely (if not a little quirky) hotel to future guests

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Old decor and a tired image. The room was adequate though the bathroom had inground dirt. All a bit old fashioned. Lovely to sit on the balcony on an evening if only the beeping of the pedestrian crossing would stop it went off every minute.

The pool was nice enough if a bit cold you had to really want to swim. We ended up walking to the beach rather than staying at the hotel.

Breakfast was nice enough for the first week but got a little boring in the second.

The lady on reception was just rude at times and very grumpy! No matter how many times we greeted her in Portuguese!

We would not stay again if we could get somewhere else of similar price.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

To my opinion, the price is too high for the place that haven had cosmetic repair for that long. There is that characteristic smell of an old place, although the room was quite clean, the wardrobe doors smelt, the toilet that was just cleaned still had some sort of smell, tiles were old and one of two sinks was damaged, so water was running when tap opened. Also the hotel has around 150 rooms, but only 12 or even 8 have double beds, the rest are twin. That made us move beds together but that wasn’t the comfort we expected having paid over 100 eur a night. The hairdryer was weirdly located in one of the cabinets of TV table in the room, cord going though the hole in the back of the table to the socket, so you couldn’t take it out, the only option is dry your hair in front of TV. We ve checked our friends room- it was the same. And even though the breakfast was very nice, those little thing did leave the impression we wont stay there again.

Room Tip: Check if you are getting the bed you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Helpful, knowlegeable, and above all, very friendly staff. This is the second time we have stayed here and the experience was identical. Yes, the hotel hasn't been re-furbed for a while, but standards here are perfectly good and clean. Breakfast, cleanliness and all standards in fact, compare with much more expensive and high rated hotels we have stayed at in Lisbon itself. The rooms are larger than normal, and you will find the ensuites massive compared to most. Yes it is on high ground - but that means the balconies have a great view over the town to the Tejo and over to Caparica. You can also see the Christos Rei if you look carefully and it is not misty! Consistently good standards seem lilkely and I would book with confidence now. No complaints about the hospital noise possible now as it closed a couple of years ago! It is easily walkable into town by the way - 15mins (and I am NOT athletic).

Room Tip: I suspect there is a high ratio of twin rooms to doubles, so be specific if you want the latter - th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is a bit cheaper because it is not right in the heart of the city, but it is on a busy road, so if you sleep with the windows open – it can be loud when the Street sweepers go by.
The staff was very helpful and helped us some with our Portuguese. The pool would be even better in the summer (it was too cold for most in April ), but it is long enough to actually swim laps in (at least 20 m). It's beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cidadela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cidadela

Address: Av. 25 de Abril, Cascais 2754-517, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cidadela 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment-style Hotel in busy residential area, about 600 yards from beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cidadela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cidadela Hotel Cascais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cidadela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.