We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need to be on balcony” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baia do Peixe

Baia do Peixe
Avenida Dom Carlos I, Cascais 2750-310, Portugal
214 865 157
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 312 Restaurants in Cascais
Price range: $18 - $64
Cuisines: Portuguese, Seafood, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Restaurant with scenic view over the bay of Cascais, specialized in grilled fish with outdoor seating. Closed on Monday.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Need to be on balcony”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Had lunch there but very hot day and although
the restaurant was open to the balcony, that
seemed to be set for larger parties than 2.
Food was fine as was service, but all a bit
soulless. Shame we couldn't take advantage
of the marvellous view.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    80
    15
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great sea food, excellent value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is a very popular restaurant supported by many locals- which is always a good sign. Booking highly recommended, you have no chance on a weekend without a reservation. The restaurant does not look very much from the outside, however once you get inside the first thing that strikes you is the atmosphere and then the fabulous view.

Service will be dependant on how busy they are, everything is prepared fresh, what's the hurry anyway. There is one very cheeky waiter with a great sense of humour

First and foremost this is a fish lovers restaurant although a very good filet mignion is also available for those who are not so keen. If you are on a budget the fixed price option is fabulous value, fish soup followed by a selection of grilled fish, potatoes, salad, salsa and desert for 13 euros. Waiters walk around with trays of fish which are brought out separately,there appears to be no limit on the amount you can eat and if it is something you do not fancy you can decline.

The fixed price shell fish is outstanding value and is popular with locals for special occasions, again the fish is available in plentiful supply. There is the normal selection of individual fish choices including those sold by the weight. The fish is brought to the table cooked and then taken away for boning, so you can clearly see what you are paying for.

There is a a large wine list although the house wine at 8 euros a bottle complimented the fish perfectly.

The balcony is a great place to sit for a leisurely lunch.

My rating is based on comparison with other local restaurants, this is the best value sea food in the area, especially for the shell fish.

In comparison to other locations I have eaten, this would ordinarily be a four star very good rating although I do try to rank local restaurants in comparison with each other.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The 5 tastes of fish was excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Clean & popular with locals. The 5 fish taster consisted of fish soup followed by 4 different tastes of fish served seperately.
Service was slow as there were a number of large groups in the night we went

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good fish - great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Just round the corner from the new Pousada and on the first floor - this fish restaurant has a lovely location with views across the bay. The selection of fish was extremely good and the service friendly and efficient. Also a good selection of starters, which does not seem usual in Portugal.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Superb value AND good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I ate here in September 2013 at the recommendation of our hotel's concierge
He told us that the fish dishes were outstanding but the real value was in either of the two offers being run throughout the week and weekends
The first was priced just under 14 euros and the second just under 20 euros per head
We tried the first and were amazed at the quality and variation. For the price we received a starter of fish soup followed by five separate fishes served individually. The fish was turbot, squid, sea bass, salmon and grouper. They were served with two tomato based salads and potatoes.
Not only was the size of each piece of fish almost as large as a normal portion but they were well cooked and very tasty. The waiter asked us if we would like even more after we had finished.
The other menu was based upon shell fish with an equal variety served on a platter
We really recommend you give this restaurant a try it is located a hundred yards or so up the hill from the main part of Cascais towards the fort. Waiters were polite and efficient and you can sit either inside or outside. Located on the upper floor of the building it gives glorious views over the beach of Cascais with the panorama around the coast to Estoril and beyond.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baia do Peixe also viewed

Cascais, Lisbon District
 
Cascais, Lisbon District
 

Been to Baia do Peixe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baia do Peixe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.