We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely evening of food and wine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante O Pescador

Restaurante O Pescador
Cascais 2750-348, Portugal
+ 351 214 832 054
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 396 Restaurants in Cascais
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Shropshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A lovely evening of food and wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend went here through recommendation...although some of the waiters were a little quiet and moody (apart from one who I had the most fabulous chat about lobster and crabs and in fact let me hold some of them), the food was really great, not too busy and loud a nice place for a romantic dinner...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    58
    22
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stay away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This was recommended by the local Pousada, but our experience was very poor. Waited over an hour for our food; one meal was ridiculously overpriced and the food was tepid. Complaint was met with indifference and no attempt at redress of our dissatisfaction. We eat out a lot and are not prone to complain, but this place is no longer good, if it ever was. There is a really good place up the street - see my other review. Give this place a miss.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Typical fish restaurant - not blown away”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

We were recommended this by our hotel. It is situated on the same street as Beira Mar which I thought was better.
We shared a fish and seafood platter which was quite generous, but I thought the quality of the fish was not quite as good as at other places.
Service was generally good though.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Overpriced and not as good as expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

It is always busy however the food is not better than much cheaper places in Cascais. Service was alright but we found the food to be disappointing given that it is a highly recommended place to eat. It is not well presented at all and the prices are too high for average food. We were charged 15 euros for the cheese that is plonked on your table-absolute rip-off!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a disappointment !!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My husband and I had passed this restaurant on a number of occasions since our arrival to Cascais i had looked it up on Trip advisor and regardless of reviews had decided to give it a try. We didn't get very far when they seated us and placed olives, pâté, soft cheese, bread all which were priced individually €2.00 p.p approx. We questioned the waiter on whether these were complimentary items we were advised then of prices we felt this was underhand behavior but has been a regular fixture from other restaurants in Cascais. When I ordered a half bottle of wine rather than a bottle this again was questioned & was another issue...we had decided enough was enough we paid for what we had and left the service was terrible and not what you expect on holiday! I wouldnot recommend this restaurant

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante O Pescador also viewed

 
Cascais, Lisbon District
Cascais, Lisbon District
 

Been to Restaurante O Pescador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante O Pescador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.