We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical fish restaurant - not blown away” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante O Pescador

Restaurante O Pescador
Rua das Flores 10B, Cascais 2750-348, Portugal
+ 351 214 832 054
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #108 of 284 restaurants in Cascais
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Typical fish restaurant - not blown away”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

We were recommended this by our hotel. It is situated on the same street as Beira Mar which I thought was better.
We shared a fish and seafood platter which was quite generous, but I thought the quality of the fish was not quite as good as at other places.
Service was generally good though.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    30
    27
    18
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Overpriced and not as good as expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

It is always busy however the food is not better than much cheaper places in Cascais. Service was alright but we found the food to be disappointing given that it is a highly recommended place to eat. It is not well presented at all and the prices are too high for average food. We were charged 15 euros for the cheese that is plonked on your table-absolute rip-off!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a disappointment !!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My husband and I had passed this restaurant on a number of occasions since our arrival to Cascais i had looked it up on Trip advisor and regardless of reviews had decided to give it a try. We didn't get very far when they seated us and placed olives, pâté, soft cheese, bread all which were priced individually €2.00 p.p approx. We questioned the waiter on whether these were complimentary items we were advised then of prices we felt this was underhand behavior but has been a regular fixture from other restaurants in Cascais. When I ordered a half bottle of wine rather than a bottle this again was questioned & was another issue...we had decided enough was enough we paid for what we had and left the service was terrible and not what you expect on holiday! I wouldnot recommend this restaurant

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Simple fresh fish, relatively inexpensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Dropped in after seeing a few good reviews, sea bream and lobster salad was simple but fresh. House white wine was surprisingly good and service ok.

Pretty quiet outside for lunch, but inside was pretty busy.

Worth a visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Maybe it was an off night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The food is the only reason to go there. The lobster was fresh and served 3+, the food was good. The ambiance was like many touristy restaurant rows and the staff seemed as though they were wondering why they weren't on holiday.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante O Pescador also viewed

Cascais, Lisbon District
Cascais, Lisbon District
 
Cascais, Lisbon District
Cascais, Lisbon District
 

Been to Restaurante O Pescador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante O Pescador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.