We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Charm of Cascais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Charm of Cascais to your Saves list
The Charm of Cascais
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Av. Infante Dom Henrique ,669 | corner with Av Pedro Alvares Cabral, Cascais 2750-168, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 19 Cascais B&B and Inns
Jefferson, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“I love this B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here the second time in December 2013. The house is beautiful and comfortable. I stayed in the pool house that had been converted to 2 rooms. I prefer to stay in the house. There was a lot of noise when the gardeners were working. No sleeping late. Also, they left one of the doors open so I could come into the house during the day... Sometimes they forgot and I had to get someone's attention. Overall, those problems were minor. The house is about a 15-20 minute easy walk. The bus stop is close if you would rather ride. I enjoyed walking and enjoying the colorful flowers; they are beautiful. There is a side street you can walk on that takes you to the water which has a wide sidewalk for cycling, running, and walking. It will take you to downtown Cascais. I love the cityscape. You can't go wrong staying at the Charm and enjoying the charm of the city!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruy F, Proprietário at The Charm of Cascais, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Michele

Tanck you very much for your nice review . On the 3rd stay , maybe next year , you will get a gift from us . Pls come back soon

Regards

Ruy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    12
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
64
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cavan, Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

IT'S nor very often that one can come back home from a continental holiday and feel that you have actually left home to come home ..but having spent some quality time staying in the beautiful 'Charm of Cascais' that was the feeling we had. From the the moment we checked in we were treated as special guests and Ruy and his beautiful wife Susanna ( both have fluent English ) made sure that our stay was 100% satisfactory .As we had hired a car and our plan was to stay around Cascais for a few days and stay 3 nights in the 'Charm of Cascais ' and then travel to / Stay in various places north like Nazaré, Obidos Fatima etc. and then head home but we were so taken by the 'Charm of Cascais that having visited those places we booked to spend our last 4 days there as well . This is a beautiful small family run Hotel where the emphasis is on treating Guess almost as members of the family .The breakfasts were very satisfying and homemade by Susanna .We had the choice of either having dinner in or out and on the occasions that we stayed in and dined there the Food was excellent and the bonhomie with the other guests and Ruy and Susanna really made it special.and if all this was not enough Susanna took us and 2 lovely Norwegian guests on a lovely day trip of wine tasting /sightseeing etc. All in All this This was a most enjoyable Hotel to stay in and we will always have it it on our Portuguese Itinerary . Highly Recommended

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruy F, Proprietário at The Charm of Cascais, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Evelyn & Thomas

Your review was and always will be best we can get, thank you very much .
Thousand of future and past guest will be touched ,impressed and I hope convinced to have a look over here to be sure that we are realy as you say.
What a responsability , we can not let you down, it's your commitment .
Now I want only on more thing , to welcome you again to have the oportunity to thank you personaly . Richard from Norway is coming back on March 24th . Join us again please !
Thank you again
Ruy & Susana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I spent seven nights in one of the most wonderful guest houses we have ever visited. From the moment you enter the property you are embraced with an eclectic mix of beautiful furniture and tasteful decorations. Our room was incredible and it included all of the amenities we treasure the most - comfortable beds, a large bathroom, free wifi, quiet air conditioning and it was very, very clean. Each morning a delicious breakfast was served that included a wide array of perfectly prepared pastries, breads and cakes as well as made to order eggs, bacon, sausage or flan. It seemed like every taste was accommodated - English tea, American coffee or European espresso was always available. The variety and availability of optional services was incredible for such a small guest house, but Susana and Ruy have seemingly thought of everything. If there is anything you need, all you have to do is ask. Susana's dinner, shopping, touring and transportation recommendations were all winners. In summary, the Charm of Cascais is a perfect choice for a relaxing and enjoyable stay in Portugal. We can't wait to return.
George & Zoe

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruy F, Proprietário at The Charm of Cascais, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear George & Zoe


Thank you very much for this wonderfull review , you couldn't say better things from us and the positive part of it is that it is all true . However this must be said by the guests , not published by ourselves , nobody will believed .

Please be nice and come back soon .

Regards

Susana & Ruy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Sadly, for us, the Charm of Cascais did not live up to the hype. Plus points were a nice pool, good breakfast and a reasonable room. However, we didn't feel overly welcome (perhaps because we were a fair bit younger than the rest of the guests) and it seemed a bit like we were kept out of the loop on lots of things like eating dinner at the guesthouse, transfers etc. Whilst it became apparent that these things were available and others were partaking in them, they weren't really brought to our attention. A little bit too far out of town as well unless you want to rely on taxis every day. Not a bad place to stay but certainly not worth 5 stars on trip advisor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruy F, Proprietário at The Charm of Cascais, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest

I'm so sorry that you did not feel so welcome like everybody else that I dont know how to excuse myself. In fact we always try to have a personal aproach to all our guest , young or not so young and we do realy enjoy a good mix of ages and tastes . Our slogan is Handmade Hospitality and that says it all .

Sorry again and please give us another chance to please you

Best regards

Ruy & Susana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for four nights. This is absolutley not your average guest house. They have a pool for the guests, but if you want to go to the beach it is just a 15 minute walk to the shore. The rooms are huge, clean and beautifully decorated. The breakfast was diverse and you can depend on a home made cake (!) it tasted fantastic each morning. We also recommend trying the hotel dinner. The service is excellent. We also want to mention that the wifi is excellent (which is important to us). We fell in love with the Charm of Cascai and will definatly come back the next time we visit Portugal. Kind Regards, Warvin&Magnus

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruy F, Proprietário at The Charm of Cascais, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you very much for the excelent review, it will, help us and future guests to know what they will get during their holidays with us . As you know we are never tired to please you and we look realy forward to get you back here .Please feel free to cal my mobile 00351917843329 if you need something from Portugal
Regards

Ruy Susana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 10 night stay in the Charm of Cascais.

We stayed in the master suite which was very large, clean and beautifully furnished. we had a lovely balcony to enjoy the early morning sunshine before a fantastic breakfast and I endorse all of the comments about Susannas cakes - amazing!

The pool area is lovely being set in well tended gardens and I agree with Barry - ice cold beers around the pool - hard to beat.

Ruy and Suzanna and their small team of staff were all excellent and ensured an absolutely perfect stay. Dont miss the evening meals cooked a few times whilst we were there.

Cascais itself was even better than expectations with a wide choice of places to eat and very picturesque beaches.

Highly recommended and I hope to return soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruy F, Proprietário at The Charm of Cascais, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Friends

Wow!!! , that's the American expression for a so amazing review of our "handmade hospitality way of life .

It was realy a pleasure welcoming you both , you are a delicious couple , friendly and sweet .Pls come back soon and dont Forget that the weather in Portugal during the Winter is the best in Europe.
Regards
Ruy & Susana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Staying in the Charm of Cascais brings luxury and quality to a new level. The hotel has 8 bedrooms, is spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated and luxurious. The attention to detail is staggering, whether you want to be collected from the airport, dropped or collected somewhere, need anything you may have forgotten - nothing is too much trouble. The staff are all exceptionally helpful and friendly. The quality of the breakfasts are superb, if you feel like a nice lunch it can be done with great recommendations on wine. A small example of detail - 39 degrees by the pool, ask for a beer and it is delivered in a frosted thermostat glass to keep the beer cold for longer. The food is prepared by your hosts and you will go a long way to taste baking as good as Susanna's. Taxi to Cascais centre under €5. You mix or not at your own pace. Only regret was we couldn't stay longer. Would return in a heartbeat
Marian & Barry ( Dublin)

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruy F, Proprietário at The Charm of Cascais, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Marian & Barry

Thank you very much for your review , it helps a lot ,

I hope that after this stay in Cascais you will be a new FAN for fish (with no head on the dish). You know that our fish and seafood is realy the best in the world (words from the greatest chef Adria ). Concerning the cheese cake from Susana , well is what it is, just fantastic.

Cake back soon , we miss you already

Regards

Ruy& Susana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Charm of Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charm of Cascais

Address: Av. Infante Dom Henrique ,669 | corner with Av Pedro Alvares Cabral, Cascais 2750-168, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Charm of Cascais 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charm of Cascais is a unique property located on a peaceful and residential area at a walking distance from the town center and the sea , the Marina and the Guincho Road fish restaurants. It is an impressive beautiful and well balanced house surrounded by a nice Mediterranean garden with some fruit trees and a bio cooking herb agriculture production used for the home cooking at our restaurant .A 10x5 swimming pool will make your days fresher . Free use of hotel special towels at the pool. Enjoy our Sun lying on our sun lounge beds .Only 8 en-suite Rooms with all the comfort, large private bathrooms , bathrobes , safe deposit boxes, deluxe amenities, LCD TV , direct phone (at a cheap price to keep you in touch) , WIFI free internet, air conditioning/heating, Hair Dryer etc .The lounge will be the meeting point , Pool table , bar sofas e maples , LED TV Tea room - every day at 5pm your tradicional Tea and Scones Vinoteca - Oporto Wine tasting AreaGarden Restaurant – Light meals at lunch time by the pool and garden Breakfast room Restaurant with fine wines ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Charm of Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Charm of Cascais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.