We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Service not so good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of John Bull Restaurant

John Bull Restaurant
Largo Luis de Camoes, 4, 5, | Cascais 2750-330, Cascais, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #110 of 314 Restaurants in Cascais
Cuisines: Portuguese, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Ate on the terrace in April 2011 and it was delicious. We shared a seafood rice (25euros) which we were told would feed two people. It was fantastic and easily the best paella we ate on our trip and would feed three people especially if you have bread and a starter. This was the best meal we had during our 3 weeks in Spain and Portugal. One of our party spilt a little sauce on her top and the waiter came to her aid immediately with a spray to fix her blouse. Fantastic service, setting, price. Wish I could eat there again.
Cork
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Food, Service not so good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The food here is of a very good standard and even managed to attract us back a second night during our 5 night stay. However on the second visit one of the staff knocked out bottle of wine and it spilled over me but I didn't get an apology and worse, when the bill came, they tried to charge for the wine. I was really disappointed by this and brought it to the attention of the manager who took if off the bill but was a little rude about it. Pity because as I said, the food was great but I would not return with such poor service

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    55
    25
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre, RS
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice to enjoy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Great place with nice food, cold drinks, excellent service to enjoy you night time.
Waiters are friendly and give you good indications.
On Menu we can indicate Açorda com gambas. It's a typical Portuguese dish based on fried eggs with bread, and olive oil and of course Shrimp (Gambas).

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun staff, a good laugh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The food here is just OK, but there is a very lively atmosphere as the evening goes on. Not for romantics as there is a lot of loud music and voices but we were in the mood on the night!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Friendliest Place In The Food Court”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Being born of British blood I was drawn to the Union Jack flag and immediately thought to myself it's my duty to try their beer. It'd been a day of walking and touring and Cascais was still new to our group but the thought of a patio seat and a cold beer was definitely in the cards. The 'Attack Of The Portuguese Menu Bearer' not withstanding we grabbed a seat. The servers that immediately swarmed upon us were endless and yet highly charming. Very pleasant and engaging they were clearly enjoying their jobs and setting up for the up-sell. Bread/Cheese/Olives have been mentioned ad infinitum here so just say no thanks! With sangria that's well done and certainly exciting to the newly arrived and cold beer and a friendly place it's a great place to stop put up your feet and have a cold one. Once they know you're not looking for a glass of water and a diet coke, the cheese/olive/bread issue goes away instantly.

I will say that we did go back here for dinner. Frankly it was based on the up-sell charms of the original waiters and lack of imagination. The dinner was frankly not a good experience. Rather than write another review berating them let it be said that it's a very good pub, it's not a restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Get what you see.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Central in the square where you get pestered by all the Maitre Des to eat at their place. When you sit down they serve you bread cheese and olives it stated on menu it's 1.50 couvert but then they charge you couvert and 4.50 for the cheese and bread. They say it's standard when questioned. If you don't want it at the start ask them to remove it. The waiters don't really care once you are seated you are just money to them. The food is average and the wine is cheap but ok.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Bull Restaurant also viewed

 
Cascais, Lisbon District
Cascais, Lisbon District
 

Been to John Bull Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Bull Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.