We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience if you really like thai food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bangkok Thai Moods

Bangkok Thai Moods
Rua das Flores, 18, Cascais 2750 -348, Portugal
00351 214864501
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #160 of 314 Restaurants in Cascais
Price range: $14 - $21
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Bad experience if you really like thai food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Located in one of the most popular streets in cascais ,the decor and ambiance are kind of nice.
The problem start with the waiters who are not thai and can hardly speak portuguese.They don't provide a friendly service and you better speak english if you want them to understand what you want.
The food is horrible .NOT THAI ANYWHERE! It' a mix of bad chinese food and bad indian food .
The starters are very vulgar and mediocre. The main dishes are really bad. We were served fried rice as a side that was already improper to be eaten. We told about the problem and they brought a new one after we had finished the meal and we were charged for that.
I do not reccomend this restaurant to anyone! Ilove thai food and this was a very disappointing experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    27
    5
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The food here was fantastic. The waiter was clever, funny, and very accommodating.Overall, the decor and the ambience was elegant, understated and welcoming.Thanks Bangkok Thai Moods

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“hiding a lack of food in the kitchen?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

All the food has photos for it - the shrimp spring roll photo shows 4 spring rolls and 4 wrapped up whole shrimp. We just got the 4 wrapped up shrimp. We thought from the photo this would have been a good dish to share between 3 to start.

My order came out as chicken and not fish (which mattered as I do not eat meat) and when i questioned it i was told they didnt have the dish i wanted or another similar one. It seemed instead of telling me the dish was off they just guessed a next best thing and hoped I wouldn't notice! By this time the friends I was dining with had their main course. I then chose another dish which arrived about 15-20 minutes later and was very average. There was no apology and when we attempted to ask for a discount or some kind of compensation they knocked 3 euros off the bill! An insult.

It was also cold and we had to ask for the heating to be put on - we were the only people there - also the wine was overpriced for what it was but was drinkable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin , Ireland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Had a meal with my wife in Bangkok Thai Moods last week - food excellent .
Probably best meal we had in Cascais. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Exotic and with nice quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I go there quite often so this review is late but well deserved.

Friendly staff, great decoration, zen like ambient music... but the main about this restaurant is the food.
After many times being there i only got good experiences. I never went to Thailand to compare but theses dishes apart from being exotic are very tasty and the ingredients have good quality.

For those days that you want to eat something different this is the place to go!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok Thai Moods also viewed

Cascais, Lisbon District
Cascais, Lisbon District
 
Cascais, Lisbon District
Cascais, Lisbon District
 

Been to Bangkok Thai Moods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bangkok Thai Moods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.