We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Casa Velha

Restaurante Casa Velha
Avenida Valbom, 1, Cascais, Portugal
2750-508
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 314 Restaurants in Cascais
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were very pleased with the food in this cosy restaurant. We celebrated my fathers 80th birthay here (13 people) and everybody enjoyed their dinner. Lots of choices of fish and meat. Very nice atmosphere, decor and service. Easy to find in the center of Cascais.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    72
    27
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great food central cascais”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Good restaurant in the centre of Cascais tipical Portugesse food in pleasent suroundings reasonably priced helpful and pleasent staff

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice typical Portuguese place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

This is a traditional Portuguese restaurant in the very heart of the seaside city os Cascais.
The service is number one, and so is the food. The atmosfphere is cosy with fishing tools on the walls. Terrace outdoors. The relationship between price and quality is reasonabel.
Woul certainly recommend it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meath
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worst meal and service of entire trip”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

,
Where do I start,
Not a place to have a meal with children, we were shoved in a corner with our 6mt old who might I add was no trouble. I hate this practice, cheeses,hams, bread etc put on table and charged for with being asked if you would like any and 13 euro a plate of cured ham, this is crazy.

Staff hoovered around the table all during the meal topping up every glass with water or wine without asking if you would like anymore. all our meals where served with frozen chips??? we were not offered a side and the chips where spooned onto all our plates lioke we were at some kind of childs party.

Needless to say we will never return here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Always worth a visit for a treat. Sheep's cheese a lovely way to start the meal. the Vinho Verde is excellent. the staff are a pleasure to behold. Always pleasant and give excellent service. 'Bife a Portugese' was exquisite and so tender. The almond desert Taucinho do Ceu a joy to finish with. It's a slightly expensive experience, but quality is always remembered long after the price is forgotten

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Casa Velha also viewed

Cascais, Lisbon District
 
Cascais, Lisbon District
 

Been to Restaurante Casa Velha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Casa Velha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.