We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star cocktails and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mix

The Mix
Avenida Rei Humberto II de Italia 7 | Farol Design Hotel, Cascais 2750-461, Portugal
351 214 823 490
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 314 Restaurants in Cascais
Price range: $34 - $61
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: O Restaurante, The Mix no Hotel Farol pela mão do Chef Hugo Silva, lançou uma nova Carta .Esta carta nasceu da conjugação dos produtos da estação, com uma cozinha moderna de autor, criando desta forma um menu moderno, com grande influência mediterrânica. onde aliamos as novas tendências gastronómicas, com o que de melhor temos na nossa costa e tradição.Pratos de Carne: . Peito de pintada recheado com foie gras, gnoccis e estufado de ervilhas com cenouras glaceadas; e . Carré e pá de borrego, puré de cenoura, cogumelos selvagens, canneloni de aipo e frutos secos aromatizados com açafrão e laranja.Para a Sobremesa, há deliciosas sugestões. Destaca-se : . Creme de chocolate e gengibre com crumble de lima, granizado de maçã verde e arroz tufado caramelizado O Restaurante The Mix, além da Carta disponibiliza de 2ª a 6ª menus executivos ao almoço, onde todos os dias tem uma sugestão de entrada, prato principal e sobremesa, agua, e café por 28€.O The Mix está aberto todos os dias das 12.30 as 15h e das 19.30 as 22h.
London, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Five star cocktails and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We started our evening in the bar here and found it very hard to leave! Although quite expensive, we thought that the drinks prices were more than justified by the setting, outstanding service and general quality and exclusivity. Excellent cocktails and wonderful views over the pool down to the sea.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    16
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The Mix at Farol Design hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Superb location, smack on top of the cliff, overlooking the ocean. The service, however was just acceptable, with endless gaps between dishes and a somewhat too friendly staff who kept insisting in speaking english with us although we only spoke french and portuguese at the table.

Whilst we enjoyed the evening we left somewhat disappointed and although living locally we'll probably not return. There is much better value for money and service in Cascais.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom Downs, Surrey, England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We went twice in a week to this absolute gem of a restaurant. Modern, chic with an imaginative menu and good wines. An absolute must is the 'Garden of Strawberries' dessert. Best pudding we've ever had anywhere!!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Great view and excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stumbled upon this hotel on our walk in Cascais. The place looked magnificent and the prices were not prohibiting, so we decided to try it. We definitely were not disappointed. We had a bottle of house wine and two mains: risitto and octopus. Both were absolutely delicious.
The food indeed took a bit too long to arrive, but the view was great, wine good and bread, dips and olives kept our hunger away. We also ordered a tarte tatin as a dessert.
The meal was not cheap: around 80 euro in total but we definitely enjoyed it.
I would definitely recommend this restaurant, especially if you are looking for some nice and romantic place away from the tourist crowd.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Gemütlich in front of sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Ther restaurante is located in front of sea, with the blue water it looks that we are in a litle island, sinply wonderful. The food is exquisite and so sophisticated. The staff is kind.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mix also viewed

Cascais, Lisbon District
Cascais, Lisbon District
 
Cascais, Lisbon District
Cascais, Lisbon District
 

Been to The Mix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.