We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good and not that expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hemingway Cascais

Hemingway Cascais
Marina de Cascais | 1floor, Cascais 2750-800, Portugal
+351 916 224 452
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 397 Restaurants in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $78
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Fine Dining Restaurant by reservation. Amazing terrace during the four seasons, very well knowned for the best fruit & classic cocktails in town always with a fantastic music! Excellent service in a cosy and casual athmosphere.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very good and not that expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Good service, cheap and excellent Rose!!
Good food beautiful location by the marina. definitely to be recommended,

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    91
    22
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit if staying in cascais”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Really lovely evening here. Staff were charming and keen to please despite a busy service and guests waiting on spec for tables. As adventurous as you want to be cooking was first rate and the marina setting overlooking the Fortaleza is beautiful

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“This is Michelin star quality at reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We visited Hemingway in late June 2013 after several average to very poor dining experiences in Cascais and Estoril . We were very pleasantly surprised by the very gracious welcome and service and the amazing food . Staff were friendly and professional, customers were happy and despite quite high winds the atmosphere was buzzing . Every dish was beautifully presented and totally delicious . The foie gras and the pear crumble were particularly memorable . We had two starters, three mains, two desserts , coffee, two large beers and a good bottle red ..total bill 154 Euro but I would expect to pay twice that for this quality food. Most Michelin star restaurants don't match this place. Reckon they are trying for star..only advice ..get rid of TV and give bar area a facelift And am giving this advice despite having watched the Brazil vs Spain in the bar after dinner! . Everything else is perfect. We will be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“The best in Cascais”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

After our first visit we immediately booked for two further nights
Both the food and the service were superb and I would recommend this restaurant unreservedly

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Hemingway is held in high esteem by trip advisor contributors. I really don't know why. We had a rather dissapointing evening there. The place itself is a glass cage situated in the ugly concrete marina. We suffered both from heat, from the sun glaring in our eyes and from the wind. The service was obseqiuos, pretentious and clumsy. The menu is small, which is usually a good sign, not here, it was simply small and uninteresting. The food we ate was expensive, aspiring to be fancy and simply not very good. The waiter's pretensious mumbling of the ingredients just made the whole thing embarrassing, so did the foul carrot puree which they had the temerity to call an amuse bouche. The whole experience left us with a bad aftertaste and 120 Euro poorer for it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hemingway Cascais also viewed

Cascais, Lisbon District
Cascais, Lisbon District
 
Cascais, Lisbon District
 

Been to Hemingway Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hemingway Cascais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.