We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice caldeirada de peixe, but loud and noisy groups.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Furnas Do Guincho

Furnas Do Guincho
Estrada do Guincho | Gps: 38. 72126 -9. 47794, Cascais 2750 , Portugal
21 486 92 43
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 396 Restaurants in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Lux.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Nice caldeirada de peixe, but loud and noisy groups.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

The location on the Praia do Guincho is perfect, the service was ok and the food was very good: caldeirada/cataplana de peixe, delicious fishsoup (similar to "bouillabaisse"), buuuut the last two times we went there large groups (bus? business?) behaved as they were the only guests: they were very!! LOUD AND NOISY, to an extend that we wonder if it's worth going back!?

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    134
    32
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gent
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“"The Birds" and...........the fish.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Friends had recommended us a few restaurants in Cascais and surroundings. One of them was Furnas do Quincho. On a Sunday afternoon, with a beautiful sunshine and a nice temperature, we went to this restaurant. The private parking was nearly complete at 13.00u. We had no reservation made. Every table on the front row with ocean view was occupied. Someone came directly to us and led us to a table on the second row close to the rocks and the hungry seagulls (“The Birds” from Hitchcock but not so dangerous). The weater brought us an extra sun screen. We were offered some bread, butter, a plate of shrimps and a tub of cheese but we read that these offers are not for free. They don’t tell you and that is a pity. You can always ask the price of those “offers”. We took just the butter, the bread and some olives (4.40€). We chose the fish stew for lunch; in Portuguese Caldeirada. This is a well-known Portuguese spiced stew of fish, crustaceans and mollusks, cooked in a sauce of onions, peppers, potatoes etc. We have been waiting for a 1/2hr and the fresh “Caldeirada” was first shown an then served. One word: delicious! That was a large portion for two persons. The service was fast and friendly. We ate there three times. The dishes had a good quality with the exception of the paella; to dry and not fresh.
Recommended to try!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A place like many others”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Regular food. Regular service. A lot of people smoking everywhere.

Price around 50 euro per person with drinks.

I wouldn't come back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Beautiful site but no consistant work in the kitchen”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We ate here several times and because of the extraordenary location we decided to have our informal wedding dinner there. Two weeks earlier we had a fantastic meal... the day we were there with with our guests the food left the kitchen bland as if the chef was out of salt and spices. Disapointed, certainly for the money who could have bought better for our guests. We never went back, although it is one of my favorite locations in cascais.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Beautiful site but watch the extras”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This restaurant overlooks the sea and is most impressive to look at.

We arrived and were shown our table which was overlooking the sea. On the table was some bread, butter, a plate of shrimps and a tub of cheese. If you took a bit of all of these it would add over 30 euros to your bill. Be aware!!!!

This restaurant appeared on out night to have several large groups booked in. This included a group of over 50 people and this can be quite noisy. I ordered Sardines for my starter and they were very good. Between us we ordered the Shellfish platter which a good selection of fish on it but I was surprised by the number of boiled potatoes also in the platter. As there was a strong wind blowing we declined a sweet and coffee preferring to return to the Hotel where it was less windy and cold.

This restaurant was the most expensive we went to in the area and had we eaten the bread etc it would have been even more expensive. I think the restaurant is set up more for Corporate use than for us.

I believe there are better seafood restaurants in Cascais but not with as good a view.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Furnas Do Guincho also viewed

Cascais, Lisbon District
Cascais, Lisbon District
 
Cascais, Lisbon District
Cascais, Lisbon District
 

Been to Furnas Do Guincho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Furnas Do Guincho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.