We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food with a wonderful view of the sea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Santa Maria

Porto Santa Maria
Guincho | Estrada Do Guincho, Cascais 2750-642, Portugal
+351 214879450
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 396 Restaurants in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $39 - $158
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
london
2 reviews
“Great food with a wonderful view of the sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We had a wonderful meal at this restaurant with a beautiful view of the sea. Try and request a table by the window. It's like eating actually on the sea.

Superb sea bass baked in a salt crust. Fish was so fresh and actually tasted of the sea.

Well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    66
    23
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great sea food and view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Seaside restaurant specialized in seafood. The Wine cellar is excellent and although I always go for the great selection of Portuguese wine, check out the pricing of champagnes. You must try the salt-baked fish, world class. Or the live lobster walking around in the big aquariums….

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Outstanding - worth a star!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The restaurant hasn't got a star or a "Bib Gourmand" by G. Michelin, but it would have earned one in ny humble opinion.
It's an expensive restaurant, but worth every 160 Euros that we spend there for a lunch with one bottle of wine - our verdict is clear: the best restaurant in Portugal so far...even better than some "Bib's".
Starters: Barnacles and crab and some clams - the best we had so far.
Main course: Rock Lobster x 2, one with very good tagliatelle and one with a special bread and egg and coriander mixture, some speciality of the house - both absolutely flawless and a league of it's own so far in the lobster and prawn competition throughout Portugal, even a bit better than in Ericeira's Esplanada Furnas, but that's another story.
As a dessert, I couldn't decide and told the waiter - and he made me a mixed plate of everything (!!) Hazelnut- and Almond- and Chocolate-cakes and tartes were my favorites.
The service was ever present and ever friendly and very professional and made our visit really star worthy - thank you and we will be back!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband and I ate here twice and loved the seafood. The restaurant has beautiful views. The food and presentation are excellent, however the staff is not super friendly. They are polite, but not overly friendly. It's worth going there for the excellent food with a beautiful view. We will be back in July to eat there again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recife, PE, Brazil
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great experience! One of my favorite restaurants.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This restaurant has everything: super fresh seafood, impeccable service, nice atmosfere and a great view of the ocean. It's one of our favorite restaurants in Portugal. And Cascais is a very nice place to visit, so if you have the time to get away from Lisbon, this is a good destination for a long lunch. I really enjoy the natural gambas (shrimp) for starters, with a good White wine to go with it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porto Santa Maria also viewed

Cascais, Lisbon District
Cascais, Lisbon District
 
Cascais, Lisbon District
Cascais, Lisbon District
 

Been to Porto Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Santa Maria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.