We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It does not get any better.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mestre Afonso Domingues

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mestre Afonso Domingues to your Saves list
Hotel Mestre Afonso Domingues
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Mestre Afonso Domingues, 6, Batalha 2440-102, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Batalha
Thornhill, Canada
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“It does not get any better.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights exploring Batalha, Tomar, Alcobaça and Obidos. Not only it's a perfect location to explore the area, it's a perfect hotel in every regard. It's located across from Batalha Monastery, offers a wonderful restaurant with free buffet breakfast and delicious dinner, super comfortable rooms and free parking on site. All staff are very friendly and helpful as are store and restaurant owners in town. It's a true 4 star hotel that you would not find easily for EU 99.00 per night. It's perfect for a family holiday or a romanitc getaway. When we return I would not think twice about booking this hotel because, as I said so many times in this review, it's perfect.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    64
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
72
107
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parede, Portugal
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We visited Batalha yet again but this time wanted to have lunch there. You have a good selection of normal portuguese cafes and we wanted to sit outside so when we came across this hotel's restaurant with seating outside on the verandha there was no more discussion.
They offered a three course set daily menu for €12.50 which my husband and myself went for and our daughter ordered from the main menu,
The service was attentive, the view of the catherdral beautiful and the food was excellent. We had coffee Steak, Duck and a hot chocolate desert with melting chocolate in the middle desert. I can see this now being our lunch stop for all our visitors.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I booked this hotel based on good reviews and it surpassed my expectations. Great location, spotless, looks new and expensive, but we got a good price booking online. Classy dining area, nice rooms with marble bathrooms, very good breakfast buffet with hot and cold foods. The staff was friendly and even charged our dead camera battery for us. Only downside is no pool or fitness center.

Room Tip: Book online for best price. Please ignore terrible rating for pool and fitness center...they do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed here one night on 16/6/2012 and have no regrets. Location is unbeatable. Faces the Cathedral which is spitting distance away. My wife is disabled but access was very easy with parking right outside the front door and wheelchair access right to the bedroom if required. Had meal in the evening at their "Vintage" restuarant, all 3 courses were excellent. My wife had the fixed price menu and I chose off the standard menu. The room was modern, clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and very obliging. Paid 65 euros including breakfast - great value.

Room Tip: Small hotel so assume all rooms are equal. Although I assume some have a view of the Cathedral - so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

After visiting the gothic monastery in Batalha, we spied a shaded terrace across the plaza, which looked like a perfect location to get out of the sun, relax, and enjoy a nice, cool, adult beverage. What we found instead was Vintage Restaurant, which is past of the Hotel Mestre Afonso Domingues. We decided to stay for lunch.

Vintage has a extensive menu, but I opted for the pre-fixe lunch for 12.50Eur. The meal started with a Spinach Soup, followed by Escallops of Veal served with a Coffee Sauce. Both were excellent. Having dined across Portugal, I was amazed that the veal was tender, and succulent and not tough and overcooked. The service was superb.

Between the excellent meal, and the commanding view of the monastery, Vintage is a great place to relax and enjoy your afternoon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

I chose this hotel because it is next to the beautiful historic church/monastery. The staff was great, very helpful, a good example of the best portuguese hospitality. The hotel is very modern, free wi-fi, boutique -hotel feeling and spotless. We had a nice breakfast buffet included with our room price. There are two restaurants around the corner from the hotel, one of them Dom Duarte, in which we had a nice portuguese diner. There are nice small shops next to the hotel. I would reccommend this hotel above all others in Batalha

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Unbeatable location in Batalha. Comfortable and clean rooms. Nice restaurant and bar. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mestre Afonso Domingues? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mestre Afonso Domingues

Address: Largo Mestre Afonso Domingues, 6, Batalha 2440-102, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Batalha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Batalha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mestre Afonso Domingues 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mestre Afonso Domingues Hotel is a small 4 star property ideally located in the historical centre of Batalha.It has 2 suites, 5 double king size bedded rooms, 14 standard twin bedded or double rooms and 1 double room equipped for disable person, all distinctively decorated and personalised.To ensure maximum comfort during your stay, all the rooms are equipped with flat screen TV by cable, mini-bar, hair dryer, bathrobes, direct phone, air conditioning, facilities for coffee / tea (free), individual save (free), WIFI Internet (free), and some rooms have balcony.Batalha is rich in history and the Mestre Afonso Domingues Hotel is located right next to the Santa Maria da Vitória Monastery in the centre of the town. These quiet surroudings, can be enjoyed in a setting of modern comfort and amenities.The Santa Maria da Vitória monastery was built by order of king João I to thank the Virgin Mary for victory in the battle of Aljubarrota (1385), when the great Spanish army was defeated.The hotel is named after the person responsible for the construction of the monastery, Mestre Afonso Domingues.Over 150 years it took to be built, the monastery benefited from the intervention of several teachers and the support of various kings that left marks of different architectural styles. Of these, the Gothic and Manueline were the most expressive.This work - classified as a World Heritage Site in 1985 and named one of the Seven Wonders of Portugal in 2007 - remains incomplete to this day, as evidenced by the Imperfect Chapels, in the open air, this is an unavoidable Over 150 years it took to be built, the monastery benefited from the intervention of several teachers and the support of various kings that it left marks of different architectural styles. Of these, the Gothic and Manueline were the most expressive.This work - classified as a World Heritage Site in 1985 and named one of the Seven Wonders of Portugal in 2007 - remains incomplete to this day, as evidenced by the Imperfect Chapelsin the open air, this is an unavoidable monument in our history.The Center of Portugal tourism region has numerous routes through the local mountains and along the coast to help you discover Portuguese heritage, history and religion - landmarks of our culture. Monasteries, castles, churches and the sanctuary of Fátima are some of the points of interest which lie just a few kilometres from Batalha and from the Mestre Afonso Domingues hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mestre Afonso Domingues reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mestre Afonso Domingues, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.