We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try it - you'll like it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Pinha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Pinha to your Saves list
Casa Pinha
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Parque Florestal, 123 | Serra da Boa Viagem, Figueira da Foz 3080-357, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
RP
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Try it - you'll like it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We loved this place. Rooms were very small and modest but clean. The beautiful view, pool restaurant and staff were all great and more than made up for the small room. We stayed in a variety of accomodations during our trip to Portugal (some very expensive and touristy) but we particularly liked the Casa Pinha because it felt to festive and authentic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    39
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
35
62
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
exeter
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We travelled around Portugal as part of our holiday when we stumbled on this place. Amazing view over Figueira da Foz. The outside of the place looked clean and well cared for, the pool looked clean - too cold to try the water!
The room we had would have slept 5 it would however felt very cramped with 5 in the room, it was basic but clean. It felt tired and for 50E per night it was expensive fro the room. Towel were frayed and some sockets loose in the walls.
Been so far out of Figueira we ate in the restaurant, food was good, difficult to understand the menu, not fully able to translate and the staff did not speak very much English. The evening’s food and drink expensive.
Singer in the restaurant was good, but she did want interaction, difficult when eating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vught
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Very pleasant place to stay. Located in the woods on the dunes it offers a great view over the bay and Figuera da Foz, lovely swimming pool. The restaurant is not exclusive but OK. The rooms are modest but clean and quiet.
The owner & his wife and the staff are friendly and relaxed.
The town of Figuera da Foz is not very special. Casa Pinha is a good base though for visiting Coimbra, Obidos, Nazaré etc.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

This is more like a hostel than a bed and breakfast. I have never seen anything quite like it. Before you discount this review, let me note that I have travelled extensively all over Europe and stayed in many B&Bs and had a great time. To sum it up here: The view is great. Everything else sucks.
Let me tell you the highlights. There are no (NO!) comfortable places to sit anywhere in the hotel!! What do I mean? Well there are only wooden and metal chairs that you can sit on for 10 minutes. But then what do you do? The rooms have no chairs at all (ONLY A BED!!!) There is no public area in this place. Only a cafe that has wooden or metal chairs. So if you spend here a day, do you spend it lying on your bed... or standing up??
Second, the rooms are extremely depressing. There is a tiny window, a bed, and that's it! If you expect shampoo in the shower, well that's too optimistic.
FInally, since this is a bed and breakfast, you would expect some breakfast. Well you'd be wrong. I am writing this in my bed. Just went to check out on breakfast and guess what? The cafe is locked. Nobody around (it is 8.30 am, so it's neither too early nor too late). And I presume no breakfast for us this morning.
What a train wreck of a place. Even though this is a cheap place, it is the greatest rip off I have seen.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasaga Beach, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

Casa Pinha is a beautiful place to stay, grounds and views to the sea are excellent. We found the room basic but it was very clean and had all the amenities required.
The staff were excellent and with a bit of effort on both sides we managed to communicate. Portuguese and French are the spoken languages and their understanding of English was very limited as was our attempt at French. We had a lovely dinner in the restaurant that is on site. If we ever manage to return to this area again we certainly would not hesitate to re-book here. Thank-you Juan

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

After reading the last review, I felt compelled to write a review for this beautiful bed and breakfast. I don't know where these people stayed. We had the pleasure of staying at La Casa Pinha in Figuiera da Foz for 3 nights this past August during a 5 week vacation in Europe. We felt very fortunate to have discovered this hidden treasure a 10 minute taxi ride from the bus station on a hillside overlooking the city and the Atlantic Ocean. It wasn't only the view that was amazing, but the entire experience. Juan and his family and staff were exceptionally hospitable. We arrived early, and not only was our room prepared and waiting for us, but when we explained that we had not had a chance to have lunch, we were offered a delicious lunch that had been prepared for a private function. We ate at the restaurant on 3 occasions, and were impressed with the warm and friendly service, not to mention the delicious food and charming ambiance.
My husband and I have travelled extensively throughout North America, and this was our first stop in Portugal, and we weren't disappointed. I am sorry that these last guests were unable to recognize and take advantage of this gem. I encourage anyone who want to experience a relaxing, warm and hospitable sejour to stay at la Casa Pinha - You won't be disappointed. Thank you Juan, Marie and family.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Pinha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Pinha

Address: Parque Florestal, 123 | Serra da Boa Viagem, Figueira da Foz 3080-357, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Figueira da Foz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Figueira da Foz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Pinha 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Pinha, with an exceptional sight over the ocean, is one of the finest residence of Figueira da Foz because it lies between the sea and the Natural park of Serra da Boa Viagem composed of pine and eucalyptus with a nice fragance. Our house has 10 rooms,one equipped for disabled person, a restaurant and a private swimming pool.You will find a very cordial and family space on our premises. Figueira da Foz is known as seaside town and also for its sports such as tennis, equitation, karting, surfing, sailing, fishing, montain biking, walking a bike,hiking. Enjoy your stay to discover the culture, our traditions, our gastonomy, our beaches, visit museums, spend some time at the Casino, bowling, dancing, discover the secret alleys and parks of our region ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Pinha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Pinha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.