We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel in a poor location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wellington

Save Saved
You added Hotel Wellington to your Saves list
Hotel Wellington
Hotel Wellington
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Wellington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Dr.Calado 23-27, Figueira da Foz 3080-153, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 hotels in Figueira da Foz
London, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average hotel in a poor location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

We found this hotel on tripadvisor when we were looking for a good value hotel in the area and decided to book it. Unfortunately it has rather disappointed us, especially given the good experiences we had with other hotels in Portugal in the same price range.

I'll start with the location and the fact it is nearly impossible to find it by car and absolutely no-where to park. The staff at reception when we came in was bored of their job (i conclude that based on the fact they hardly talked to us or smiled at any point).

the room itself was spacious, but the window was broken and could not be closed, so the noise from the road below (there was loud music form a nearby bar) could not be shut out. It took us quite a while to force it shut.

The internet in the room did not work, i could only access it from the hallway and it was slow.they offer a computer in the loby, but that is even slower.

The last straw i think was when we tried to find a place to eat something local in the area and the only places we could find were empty restaurants that were not inviting at all.

All in all, we were happy we were only staying a night so we coudl move on to somewhere nicer.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
16
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

Just around the corner from the Casino and central to the bars and restaurants this hotel has an excellent location with the beach within easy walking distance too. The rooms are modern and clean but the wooden floors can be a bit noisy if the people in the room above walk around constantly in hard soled shoes. Breakfast was the usual cold buffet but fruit salad was served here too. The hotel also has a restaurant that we did not try but the menu looked reasonably priced. For those travelling by car the hotel has a deal with a nearby car park but as we were in a hire car I didn't mind dumping it f.o.c. on the roadside back towards the beach (there is space to drop off and collect luggage outside the hotel door).

Fig da Foz is a very friendly place to visit and retains it's own community character despite being a popular tourist destination for Portuguese and other European visitors. We spent 3 nights there and will be back again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2007

Unfortunately had only time to stay one night here. OK the front room had some street noise that may be bad in high season but we paid 30 euros for a double plus breakfast. The staff were brilliant and the breakfast good. The room was all we could ask with international TV for news and films and there was even free internet in the foyer.
The hotel is yards away from the casino and not much further from the beach.
We had a fabulous 4 course lunch in Cozinha Nuevo in Sailerstown near the commercial port which was only 13 euros including a bottle of wine.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2007

I spent a magnificent week at hotel wellington. The food was amazing and the staff were extremely helpful from greeting me in the morning to helping me decide what night life was the best for me nothing was too much trouble for them.This was by far the best hotel i have been too.

  • Liked — The friendlyness of the staff.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wellington

Address: Rua Dr.Calado 23-27, Figueira da Foz 3080-153, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Figueira da Foz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 hotels in Figueira da Foz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Wellington 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.