We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good dining experience...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Giuseppe & Joaquim

Giuseppe & Joaquim
Rua da Sota, Coimbra 3000, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 231 Restaurants in Coimbra
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, International, Ice Cream, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Buffet, Late Night, Reservations
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good dining experience...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We had a very nice meal. They serve some bread and antipasti at the start of the meal. The restaurant is very large, but when we went it was empty. They do a buffet from 2 to 6, which we heard is very good. We had dinner here. Our waiter spoke very little English, so we basically let him order for us. He made great choices though! Good service, very nice setting.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    66
    39
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A bad day for grilled fish?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We were recommended to have the fish of today, grilled flatfish. Even thow there weren´t many customers in the restaurant, we had to wait for quite a while. When they came with the fish ,the skin was really burnt on both sides and it smelled like something that has been on fire. The waiter made it ready by the table, removed skin and bones with a technic that was far from impressing, but we were still in an optimistic mode and thougt that this was some kind of local delicacy. It was a true dissapointment. It was too salty, too dry and too old. I tried to complain to the main waiter, but he sad that we were not used to this kind of fish and we got the feeling that we didn´t understand good cooking. I had expected that they suggested some other dish or some kind of compensation. It is in these situations you see if there is good or poor service. At this restaurant, there were no service. The starter consisting of shrimps was ok.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“too expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

the fusion between Portuguese and Italian food is interesting but the price is not

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, the Netherlands
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“The most beautiful restaurant of Coimbra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Well go and have a look and you will love it! Most restaurants in Coimbra are not very appealing, this one is! At Valentine they are completely booked up, the staff is excellent and the food as well.
By my opinion the best Italian restaurant in Coimbra, but I am not sure if I already experienced all of them!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiria, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and marvellous food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Marvellous food and very helpful staff. Could not fault anything. Fantastic house wine which really complimented the meal.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giuseppe & Joaquim also viewed

Coimbra, Coimbra District
 
Coimbra, Coimbra District
Coimbra, Coimbra District
 

Been to Giuseppe & Joaquim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giuseppe & Joaquim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.