We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, decent price, excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pensao Residencial Domus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pensao Residencial Domus to your Saves list
Pensao Residencial Domus
R. Adelino Veiga, 62, Coimbra 3000-002, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Convenient, decent price, excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

First a cautionary note: If can't climb steps, do not stay here. I think it was about 30 steps from the street to our hotel room. However, excluding that, it is a very modest place in the city centre. The lower city was easy to reach by walking. It is not in the most exotic area. The streets around the residence were dotted with vacant store fronts, evidence of the current economic situation in Portugal. The staff was very friendly and helpful, particularly with choreography of parking our car during our 2 days in Coimbra. The rooms are small and largely occupied by the bed. Moving around in the room was a tad difficult. The room key, a skeleton key, provided no sense of security. However, access to the hotel is limited providing a counterweight to the poorly locked door. The room was clean and the lavatory adequate. Coimbra itself is a city that could really benefit from developing its riverfront.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    18
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
22
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend OR
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Nothing fancy about this place but it is a great budget choice for a visti to Coimbra. No more than 100 meters from the Coimbra A train station on a quiet pedestrian street that is close to all of the shops and restaurants of the old town. Friendly English speaking staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

It`s located in the city centre and is quite good for those who`d not like pay a lot for a signle/double and have a little service — rooms even in a high season go by reasonal price. Rooms are not very big and bed(s) fill the most part of space in the room.

It`s easy to find it and if you haven`t booked hotel before if there`s no free rooms, on this street there`re some other pensaos with the same rate and service level.

It`s typical B&B for Portugal, I think.

Staff speak english enough to have a phone conversation as I need to talk about my left luggage, so there`s no problem with communication when you talk to each other in real life.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

I will say it simply without embellishment: If you go to beautiful Coimbra, try your best to reserve a room in Residencial Domus, it is excellent. They treat you as a person entering their house, not as a client spending money. Value for money, amazing. Comfort, cleanliness, location, friendliness and utilities are all spot on.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

Since we were in Coimbra for less than 24 hours, we didn’t want to spend a lot of money for a room. At first look, I was concerned about the hotel and the area, but it ended up being fine. Although Residencial Domus is an old hotel, it was very clean, and the staff was very nice. Some speak excellent English, and some don’t speak any but do their best to help. The plumbing lines in the bathroom were surface-mounted. The water pressure was good. Breakfast was only bread, cheese, and coffee. Due to the minimal price of the room, all of this was reasonable. While the décor was old, there were several beautiful cross-stitch pictures in the lobby that I believe were made by the owner. We were in Coimbra on a Sunday that happened to be election day, and it was basically a ghost town. I’m sorry we didn’t have time to stay longer, because it is an interesting city, and the few people we met were extremely nice. Don’t miss a chance to listen to music at A Capella Fado Bar. Fado in Coimbra is different than in Lisbon and a Capella has THE best.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

stayed one night - and paid 38 euro for a double with breakfast. The room we had was the most perfect example of a 70's room I've ever been in - it was like a museum! Spotlessly clean, and comfortable. Wi-fi worked in room. Note that it is right across from the train station - very good location.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

This was a 10 minute walk from the bus station and perfectly located to walk to all the sights. The hotel was on a pedestrian street and furnished with antique furniture. The floors were real marquetry. We paid 35 euro/night including a small breakfast of rolls, soft cheese, juice and yogurt. The place was spotless. When we arrived, a women was cleaning the stairs to the reception area (1st floor- no elevator) with bleach. The shower was small but had good water pressure. The only drawback was the noise in the street at night. I travel with earplugs, but some might have a problem with it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pensao Residencial Domus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Residencial Domus

Address: R. Adelino Veiga, 62, Coimbra 3000-002, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Coimbra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Pensao Residencial Domus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pensao Residencial Domus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.