We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, recently refurbished, good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riversuites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riversuites to your Saves list
Riversuites
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Av. Joao das Regras, 82, Coimbra 3040-256, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well located, recently refurbished, good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Well located, central, just over a short walk away from the centre of town, the hotel has been recently upgraded and offers good value for money as it includes a free breakfast. The breakfast is ok, not a lot of options, and sometimes it has queues. Small rooms, but new furnish. Very good option in term of value for money. No amex payments. I had to cancel one of my bookings and the hotel didn't charge me any fees for it, great option.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando S, Gerente de relações com clientes at Riversuites, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Many thanks for your comments. They are very important for us to improve our service. See you soon. Greetings from Coimbra!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    68
    16
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
57
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Villa Guardia, Italy
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in the santa clara district in the lowest flat area of coimbra. The hotel is new reorganized and rooms are nice (even if are small). In general i suggest this place for short stay and in period of No student party (festa das latas e queima das fitas) the risk is insomnia. The hotel is cheap but honestly I think that the breakfast is too much poor for the standard rate.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando S, Gerente de relações com clientes at Riversuites, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Many thanks for your comments. They are very important for us to improve our service. See you soon. Greetings from Coimbra!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Well located just across the river from the old city of coimbra the hotel is new and excellent value for the 40euro we paid. The breakfast is a little weak, but the rooms are lovely. The blinds were complete blackout and the double windows adequately filtered the nearby road.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando S, Gerente de relações com clientes at Riversuites, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Many thanks for your comments. They are very important for us to improve our service. See you soon. Greetings from Coimbra!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were extremely satisfied! The hotel is pleasant, new and clean, in a great location, the rooms are just what you need- basic and lovely, air-con and double glazed windows, breakfast fresh and satisfying, and Coimbra is gorgeous.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando S, Gerente de relações com clientes at Riversuites, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Many thanks for your comments. They are very important for us to improve our service. See you soon. Greetings from Coimbra!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmestrand, Norway
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel was very well located - just a short walk over the bridge and you were in the centre of Coimbra. The room was very nice and clean and the bed was good.We even enjoyed the breakfast - it was everything there that we needed. Very good value for the money, and we will stay there again next time we visit Coimbra!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando S, Gerente de relações com clientes at Riversuites, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Many thanks for your comments. They are very important for us to improve our service. See you soon. Greetings from Coimbra!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Overall we don´t regret our choice of staying at this hotel. Apparently it was built only few years ago and everything is new. There are some small things we are unhappy with, though. We asked for a quiet room but were given a room facing a big street. Since it was very hot we slept with AC and the traffic didn´t disturb us, but with the windows open it can be very loud. The sink was so tiny that the only thing you can do is washing hands...even washing the face can be challenging! the buffet breakfast was ok, but with a (relatively) limited choice. Location is good: away from the centre but within walking distance.

Room Tip: avoid the room facing the main street, they can be quite loud. The hotel is a labyrinth of narrow co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando S, Gerente de relações com clientes at Riversuites, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Many thanks for your comments. They are very important for us to improve our service. See you soon. Greetings from Coimbra!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We were booked in here with a wedding party and given the low price of the room weren't sure what to expect. However, we were very happily surprised to find the room spotless, new, well maintained, nicely decorated and the staff (from receptionists to cleaners) pleasant and helpful. It's the sort of hotel you always hope you get when booking on a budget: foregoing some of the extras (e.g. there is no hairdryer, though reception can provide you with one) but instead leaving you a room that is well laid out and, again, absolutely spotlessly clean. I am very fussy, especially about the bathroom, and usually get 5 star hotels just to be ensured cleanliness. If all hotels were like this one, I'd never bother paying the extra. The hotel is a stone's throw from the centre of Coimbra, and next door to a delicious pastelaria run by a lovely couple. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando S, Gerente de relações com clientes at Riversuites, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Many thanks for your comments. They are very important for us to improve our service. See you soon. Greetings from Coimbra!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riversuites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riversuites

Address: Av. Joao das Regras, 82, Coimbra 3040-256, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Coimbra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riversuites 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Riversuites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riversuites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.