We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay for a great trip to Coimbra” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Pombal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Pombal to your Saves list
Casa Pombal
Rua das Flores 18, Coimbra 3000-442, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Coimbra B&B and Inns
Beersheba, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The place to stay for a great trip to Coimbra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Anya, the owner, was great from the moment we got to the guesthouse. She has lots of great recommendations and pointed us in the direction of some free Fado music for that night. When we returned at night we found hot waterbottles in our beds. The breakfast was delicious and included a lot of vegan and vegetarian options. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    48
    11
    7
    2
See reviews for
7
82
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our room on the top floor had a beautiful view over the rooftops of Coimbra and was adorably decorated in cozy colors. There were free port wine and water in the room, robes to wear, and helpful, friendly staff. It was impeccably clean and the room was very well cleaned during our stay, too. It's the only place I noticed to stay that was really right at the university, right near fascinating student neighborhoods. This would be a solid, obvious 5 stars except that the shower was extremely small and didn't have good water pressure or temperature, which made beginning the day kind of a drag. Breakfast is continential. One day there were amazing fresh figs. We traveled with my parents-in-law who felt it was difficult due to the stairs, small size, and location on a steep hill.

Room Tip: If you don't mind stairs, get the top floor for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Loved this unique, old-world B&B on a steep hill near the University of Coimbra, the Fado Center and other attractions within walking distance. Steep, narrow stairs limit this to fit travelers who can carry their own bags up, though our host grabbed a bag and took it up herself. Hosts are very knowledgeable and eager to help, with recommendations, good maps and routes for directionally challenged visitors like us, and breakfast room looks out on a cute patio. We stayed on the top floor in a room under the eaves with a super view of the city, though we did forget to duck our heads a couple times while climbing into bed. Port in the rooms is an unusual touch, and a nice intro this nation of port producers.

Room Tip: There is no lift, so higher floors require a bit more effort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The B & B is in the old city by the University. What they say in their advertisement is right. Coimbra is a city of steep hills. It is a great location but you must be ok to walk up steep hills and the B & B itself has many floors with many stairs. However, the stairs are comfortable to walk up and down, but you must walk up and down them.

The room was a double (two twins pushed together) and was clean. It is old, nothing spectacular, BUT it is clean and the women who run it are really nice and very helpful with where and what to see. One thing, is that you can really hear your neighbors in the room next to you. YOu can hear them cough, open their closets and talk. No one snored next to me but I can see that being a problem if it would happen.

Breakfast was ok, nothing special. Was the usual: hardboiled eggs, yogurt, coffee, cheese and meat slices. The cheese and meat are probably my least favorite as well as the eggs were too runny for me but you can have cereal or something else.

Room Tip: Really should pick based on flights of stairs that you can manage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, B.C.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This B and b was great. Port for us in the room and water bottles too! The ladies running the place were so helpful and very eager to please. The breakfast was super. Free parking on the street too. The location is very close to the University and we were able to walk everywhere.

Room Tip: We had a top floor room where the view was out of the bathroom. Cute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have spent only one night in Casa Pombal but should have stayed longer... Great location, five minutes from the university. Our host was very helpful, her sightseeing tips were invaluable. Coimbra is a beautiful place and the local fado is something very special just as the amazing chanfana, one of most typical dish from the region. The room was very clean and cozy with a great character and wonderful view over the river and the rooftops of the historical centre. The breakfast was excellent and abundant. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at Casa Pombal for three night in August 2012 and we'll never forget the hospitality and kindness of the Dutch Lady and the beauty of such a fascinating Portuguese town as Coimbra. The rooms are charming and confortable, rich breakfast and great views over the historic city centre and the Mondego river. Strongly recommended!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Pombal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Pombal

Address: Rua das Flores 18, Coimbra 3000-442, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Coimbra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Pombal is a small bed & breakfast on the top of a hill in the historical heart of Coimbra. This old townhouse is utterly unpretentious and will stir feelings of nostalgia for those student years. The rooms are basic, but stylish decorated, each with its own Portuguese atmosphere. All rooms have heating and most rooms have private bathrooms. Some rooms have a beautiful view over the city and the river Mondego. Breakfast is Included in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Pombal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Pombal Hotel Coimbra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Pombal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.