We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Oslo Coimbra

Save Saved
You added Hotel Oslo Coimbra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Fernao de Magalhaes 25, Coimbra 3000-175 , Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 21 hotels in Coimbra
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great location, easy walk from train station; nice room -- ours was comfortable & ample for the three of us, with a good view of the old town; the receptionist was so welcoming and helpful; in fact, everyone working there was pleasant; the room was immaculate; there is a very pleasant bar for the evenings, with a good view; the breakfast is very good.

Room Tip: Good views from the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    144
    92
    17
    4
See reviews for
66
151
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for a night in July. I will admit when we pulled up we were like 'oh no, what have we done - this looks sketchy' - but as soon as we walked inside we were reassured. The hotel was much nicer inside, phew!

The staff were very friendly and helpful, they gave us a list of things we should see and pointed them all out on a map! They will also park and retrieve your car from the garage for you.

The location of the hotel was great, we could walk everywhere we wanted to visit. Also, this hotel has a rooftop bar - so we enjoyed a bottle of wine overlooking Coimbra (the view is amazing!!), so I would recommend enjoying a beverage here.

Our room was a good size, and the bathroom was huge! My only complaint is that I found it quite noisy at night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

As others have commented, the hotel would benefit from an upgrade! Advantages: location, free parking and internet and pleasant breakfast included. The receptionist was a bit complicated, wanting us to believe, that a crib would fit in a smaller 2bed room and not in the bigger queen bed room... took a while to make him see our way... but definitely a good value!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I was travelling around Spain, Morocco and Portugal for five weeks, staying in lots of different hotels. This was the best breakfast of all.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights, the staff were very helpful with details of where to go and what to see. The hotel itself is clean, room was large and comfortable however it is a little in need of updating decor wise. I'm not sure what rooms were like on the other side, ours was a 'superior room' and came with superior noise from the busy road below and constant traffic starting early in a morning. Also no tea or coffee facilities in the room and buffet breakfast was just that and ok. Also had to spend a lot of time chasing laundry that went missing and was not returned as requested the same day.

Room Tip: I'm not sure which rooms were quieter but ours certainly wasn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

This hotel is in a good location on the edge of the old town and the restaurants. Free parking in nearby garage - they park your car for you when you first arrive. Room was comfortable with a good view. Nice bar on top floor with view of old town. All staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We were on 3rd floor facing the old town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, the Netherlands
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

The reason why I booked Hotel Oslo for the first time was the location and the first thing I liked were the people who work there - very helpful and friendly. The lobby is very small but the room was modern, clean and comfortable and it was not expensive at all!!! Very good value.
On the outside one wouldn't tell that it's such a comfortable hotel, but it is.
For example: I have been in the beautiful Hotel Astoria in Coimbra, but the furniture was too old fashioned and the bed was too small for 2 persons.
In the Oslo Hotel I did not have this problem.
Also the breakfast was good, nothing to complain about, just a good and clean hotel.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Oslo Coimbra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oslo Coimbra

Address: Avenida Fernao de Magalhaes 25, Coimbra 3000-175 , Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Coimbra
#3 Family Hotel in Coimbra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oslo Coimbra 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Coimbra, located in the center of downtown and run by a local family. Hotel Oslo Coimbra is very accessible and offers a great base to walk and feel Coimbra. The hotel makes a point in offering free parking, free breakfast buffet and free Wifi to every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Oslo Coimbra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oslo Hotel Coimbra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Oslo Coimbra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.