We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service,excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante O Trovador

Restaurante O Trovador
Largo da Se Velha, 15-17, Coimbra 3000-316, Portugal
+351 239 825 475
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 231 Restaurants in Coimbra
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Accepts Visa, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Accepts Visa, Reservations
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good service,excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The restaurant was a really nice suprise. The restaurant was very nice, atmosphere was good and the staff was nice and very helpful. We took the day's specials and was really happy with our choices. The food looked good and tasted delicious.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    51
    13
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very good food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We popped up late at this place and so we could only choose between a veal with mushrooms or grilled seabream. We were all happy with our choices, the restaurant is near the university on the top of the hill and the interior design nice, very nice and clean bathroom too. The starter we had were the only disappointing bit: we asked for the charcuterie platter. Some of the salami were not good and the platter was a bit expensive compared to the rest of the menu. But overall, a nice experience.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Really worth the climb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I read the other reviews and went there. After a very tiring day we almost gave up on the steep climb.There were only 2 families in the restaurant which is sad, because we all had very delicious meal. The staf was very nice, the food excellent cooked and a very nice open interior.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Simply delicious surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This restaurant located in front of the Old Cathedral in the old city is a real good surprise after the steep climb from the river. The reasonably air-conditioned room can seat few diners, both foreign and Portuguese. Service is excellent and unobtrusive. The quality of the food for the price paid cannot be beaten : excellent melon for starters, deliciously grilled sea-bass and above all stewed goat-meat in a sauce I would love to be able to make again at home. Delicious home-made cake to finish the meal. And finally the owner offered us a glass of old Port wine ! An excellent remembrance.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisgah Forest, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A special evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

The restaurant was fully booked with private parties when we asked for a reservation. We were invited to come at 7:30pm before the groups. Greeted by the chef/owner, given a couple of options for main course, we were treated to a special private dinner. The house wine was very good, the dourado & pork loin were superb. And the individual attention made for a night to remember.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante O Trovador also viewed

Coimbra, Coimbra District
Coimbra, Coimbra District
 
Coimbra, Coimbra District
Coimbra, Coimbra District
 

Been to Restaurante O Trovador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante O Trovador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.