We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tivoli Coimbra Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tivoli Coimbra Hotel to your Saves list
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Joao Machado 4, Coimbra 3000-226, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Coimbra
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

On our return visit to Coimbra my wife and I decide to stay once again at the Tivoli, and very pleased we were. This is primarily a business class hotel located a short walking distance to
town. Our 5th floor room was very well equipped and with a lovely view of the town.
More comfortable chairs and more bathroom shelf space would make all the difference, but this
is a personal observation only.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    111
    70
    23
    4
See reviews for
68
83
6
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

The hotel is quite large and comfortable, and the room was huge for a single person. The bathroom deserved a makeover, however, with a larger bench for the sink and a newer hairdryer.

The location is good and you can easily walk to the historic center (about 5 minutes to the Santa Cruz church and Ferreira Borges street). The University of Coimbra is also near the hotel, but arriving there is bit harder since it's located at the top of a high hill (but that's a disadvantage of any hotel there). Tivoli is very close to the bus station (about a 5 minute walk) and about 10 minutes (by taxi) from the train station.

The breakfast is good, with a variety of breads, fruits and sweets. The pastries were great!

The WI-FI service is charged (about 16€ per day), but it goes out free when you fill a registration form to GHA Discovery. If the receptionists don't give you this information at your check-in, ask them about it.

Pictures at my personal blog: http://batepernabatepapo.blogspot.com.br/2012/05/coimbra-tivoli-hotel.html

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
174 hotel reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
358 helpful votes 358 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We have stayed in Tivoli Coimbra Hotel only one night during our Portugal trip. We arrived there in absolutely dreadful, dark and rainy day. Lobby & reception area looked like from the 70s, so I started to worry about it. Luckily, check-in process was quick, efficient and professional. We received key card to our Superior Room number #504.

Hotel is located in the centre, so it could be quite busy and noisy around. They do offer valet parking for a fee of 7,50 EUR/24h.

Entering our room I was pleasantly surprised - it was fresh, modern and spacious. Everything was very clean as well - no issues with that at all. There was 1 Queen Bed - comfortable, but very soft; working area, coffee table with two chairs and plenty room for your luggage.

Bathroom was quite nice as well. Good quality toiletries provided, but enough only for one person, not for two. I know that you can ask, but I really do not like to bother anybody. We managed.

Air-condition in the room was really a problem. When we turned it on you could smell cigarette smoke from other (probably smoking) rooms - absolutely disgusting. We finished with window open for all evening and night. I really didn't like that.

There is a Wi-Fi Internet access, but prices are quite high. Because this hotel is part of Global Hotel Alliance they do offer for their loyalty programme GHA Discovery few benefits - Internet, bottle of water and newspaper for free - definitely worth joining. Ask Reception staff for access code.

In the morning we had breakfast in their restaurant. Really good selection of different warm and cold options available. That was good start of the day.

I have to mention that reception staff is really the best. During this short stay they helped me with few things and answered politely all my questions or needs - thank you! Bill was accurate and car delivered from garage within minutes. I would definitely come back to Tivoli Coimbra Hotel next time.

Room Tip: Superior Room is worth few EUR extra, but ask for strictly non smoking room (or floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

If you don't fear getting depressed once you step inside the hall stuck in the early 70s or having to pay 8 euros for 1 hour wifi (!!!) than you can cope with Tivoli Coimbra Hotel. Rooms are large and clean but untouched since the Templar age. Everything is oldstyle from the brown moquette to the faint lights. Parking costs 7.50 euros a night. Breakfast buffet wasn't that bad. City centre is nearby.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed at Tivoli Coimbra for 3 nights. The hotel is located in what seems to be a small industrial area of Coimbra, which is not the nicest but ok (5-10 min walk to the old city which is the main tourist attraction). The rooms were big and clean. The service gets 6 out of 5 points! The staff did all they could to help in every possible way, starting from taking care of our luggage, to parking our car every evening when we returned from travelling, and always with a smile.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

but it's not really a 4* hotel... it looks like it got stuck in the 80's and needs renovation to keep the announced quality. Bathroom is not like in the pictures... the one I got is a lot older and I was given a twin bed instead of a king size dispite making the right reservation. Mattresses are very stiff. Other than that, it's nice for a short stay and the price is good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights - room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Reception staff pleasant and helpful. Decent breakfast - fresh fruit and pancakes were my choice. Central location. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tivoli Coimbra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Coimbra Hotel

Address: Rue Joao Machado 4, Coimbra 3000-226, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Coimbra
#4 Luxury Hotel in Coimbra
#5 Family Hotel in Coimbra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Coimbra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Coimbra, Tivoli Coimbra is an excellent 4 star establishment which exudes comfort and well being. Relax in the sophisticated and modern restaurant, bar, meeting rooms and our completely renovated superior rooms. Leave your car in the private hotel car park and take a walk through the city of tradition. On your return to the hotel, visit the Health Club and then stop off at the Porta Férrea restaurant to recharge your batteries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tivoli Coimbra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Hotel Coimbra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tivoli Coimbra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.