We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel for the Night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tivoli Coimbra Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tivoli Coimbra Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Joao Machado 4, Coimbra 3000-226, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 21 hotels in Coimbra
Port Washington, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel for the Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Tivoli for one night as we were driving through Portugal. We showed up at the hotel at about 7pm ( even a bit later) without a reservation and everything was very easy.

We were able to park our car for free, the breakfast was included and for an additional 20 Euros we decided to stay on the newly upgraded floor which was well worth it. (Floor 5). The room was very spacious, extremely modern and clean.

The location was great, we walked to the university (upper town) and throughout lower town. Near some good restaurants and then easy for us to get back on the highway the next day for our trip to Porto.

I would strongly recommend this hotel but ask for the updated floor as from what I heard the other floors are not as nice.

There is a computer terminal in the lobby with internet. We also joined the Tivoli "club" for free to get wifi in our room.

Room Tip: Ask for the executive floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    69
    51
    18
    4
See reviews for
43
52
4
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
525 helpful votes 525 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

The hotel is pretty easy to find, which is sometimes a challenge in Portugal. Hotel Tivoli Coimbra isn't fancy and a bit on the utilitarian side, but the bedroom was large, spacious, clean and had the great sheets I've come to expect from Tivoli properties.

We arrived late in the afternoon and would only spend 24 hours in the city, so we simply wanted a good place to stay, and this fit the bill!

Parking was included and we'd signed up for their internet wifi service when we stayed with Tivoli in Sintra (free), so had good internet coverage in the room. The staff was helpful with directions and maps and answered all our questions.

We enjoy walking, so even though the hotel is at on end of town, it was a pleasant walk to the Baixa centre. Before taking off for dinner, we stopped into the Tivoli bar and I had the most delightful coffee drink -- which became my new favorite, but was never made as well as at Tivoli Coimbra. It is Espresso com Natas or espresso with whipped cream. What made this drink special was that the bartender actually hand whipped the cream. It was cold and silky and the espresso hot and smooth. A delightful combination.

We ended up going to Diligência Bar (Rua Nova, 30) for non-touristy yet very authentic fado. It was wonderful. Walking back to the hotel at 1:30am we felt very safe (two women). Loved our evening in Coimbra.

I'm not sure what other hotel options would be better in Coimbra....Tivoli was just fine for us.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

I use 4 and 5 star hotels all over Europe regulalry for work and I have to say this is by far the worst one I have stayed in and cannot imagine why it is even rated 4 star. The building looks old and uninviting in general but the room was attrocious - very old and worn, terrible twin beds, stained carpet that you try not to step on barefoot. This visit was supposed to be a pleasat city break but the hotel ruined the experience. The staff at reception were not the jolliest of people either. Ironically, they have something called an expereince manager. I like to think that the other Tivoli hotels in Portugal have nothing to do with this one, although I'd rather not risk it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TivoliHotelsResorts, Manager at Tivoli Coimbra Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comment on Tivoli Coimbra, always an opportunity for us to improve the quality of our services. We recognise that our hotel is not new, and that we still have some way to go in terms of refurbishments. However, we are pleased to inform you that we have already renovated a further 40 rooms. Together with the 20 Superior rooms already available, we now have 60% of our total inventory refurbished.

We've also redecorated the public areas, and opened a new Tivoli Caffè bar-lounge, with a full range of Mediterranean dishes.

.Concerning the staff, we are sorry to hear they disappointed you, as it is usually a strong point in our guest reviews. We have increased training with our front office staff, in order to ensure that our guests' experience with us is as consistently favourable as possible.

Should you be able to stay with us again, please contact me directly, in order to experience the new Tivoli Coimbra concept.

Yours sincerely
Francisco Brito
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

Entering the hotel, we expected a great stay. However, as soon as we opened the door of the room (303), we were disappointed. It was very outdated, the pillows were so thick, I could hardly sleep. Also, there was no wireless internet, which we had at every other hostel, residencial. We could however use the "business center", which had a howling loud PC and a defective, flickering monitor. Had to go find staff to help us check out.

The top (fifth) floor rooms were renovated and should be much better, however, we did no see them.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

The rooms are large with good views but they certainly do need updating. This hotel does not deserve 4 stars at present. Our main problem was a lack of securtiy. We arrived back to our room at the end of the second day to find the door open. Reception said that the housekeeper admitted that she had left the door open! Luckily, nothing was taken. We were given a free dinner in the hotel which was gesture of goodwill. We were happy with this until we checked out. The cost of the dinner was on our bill! When we explained this, the bill was amended but we received no apology from the rude girl on reception.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2008

Touted as the business hotel and four star this proved a disppointment. It is a bit of a walk to the Baixa centre and this felt a bit threatening on a quiet Sunday evening. It was much better the following night.

The hotel is going through a bit of a well needed upgrade and we were disappointed that the pool was closed.

The staff were probably the most unaccommodating encountered in Portugal and their gloominess and dour attitude mirrored that of the waiters in town. Perhaps it is a Coimbra thing that all hospitality staff are miserable even when you speak their language.

The room was big and had a great view up to the Univ, and had a double as well as proper single bed for our child. The room however was beyond tired and the bathroom, although big, was grotty. Beds were a bit of a backacher.

The breakfast was poor and the breakfast room dingy.

The price was ok but for the time spent I would have gone to the Ibis or a more budget hotel which would have served the same purpose.

Bit of a pity as it is a nice city to visit.

  • Liked — Flat screen tv
  • Disliked — Surly staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraga, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2007

We did not like this hotel at all. The staff was apathetic and we felt ripped off. Our reservation stated that hotel "amenities" included a gym and pool. True, but those amenities are not run by the hotel and you are charged to swim. It is run by a different company and the hotel guests are allowed to use the facilities. My son left his goggles by the pool and when he went back to get them (withing minutes) they were gone. When my husband asked the girl at the desk, she suddenly only spoke Portuguese, even though she spoke English an hour earlier, and indicated shen knew nothing about goggles. When he got assertive, they goggles suddenly appeared. My husband ordered a gin and tonic at the bar and was charged 4 euro for the gin and 2 euro for the tonic! We have travelled all over Europe and have never been charged like that! When I talked to the manager he basically shrugged and handed me the bill. My advice, skip Coimbra and the Tivoli all together. There are much nicer places in Portugal. Oh and one more thing, the rooms are spacious but very worn and tired looking. Not worthy of 4 stars.

  • Liked — Nothing.
  • Disliked — The staff.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tivoli Coimbra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Coimbra Hotel

Address: Rue Joao Machado 4, Coimbra 3000-226, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Coimbra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Coimbra Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Coimbra, Tivoli Coimbra is an excellent 4 star establishment which exudes comfort and well being. Relax in the sophisticated and modern restaurant, bar, meeting rooms and our completely renovated superior rooms. Leave your car in the private hotel car park and take a walk through the city of tradition. On your return to the hotel, visit the Health Club and then stop off at the Porta Férrea restaurant to recharge your batteries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Tivoli Coimbra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Hotel Coimbra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tivoli Coimbra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.