We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a good option for one night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tryp Coimbra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tryp Coimbra to your Saves list
Tryp Coimbra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Armando Goncalves 20, Coimbra 3000-059, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Coimbra
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“It is a good option for one night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stopped at the Hotel on my way to Porto. The room was nice and ample. The Hotel is old fashioned, however, it is comfortable. the staff was attentive and friendly. It is a good option for one night.
No restaurants in a walk distance.
Only, I point as negative that I was able to heard the conversations from the room next to me due to the wall's thin

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana M, Promotora de Vendas at Tryp Coimbra, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Good Day!
Thank you for choosing Tryp Coimbra hotel for your stay and also for share your opinion.
It is very important for us to know how to impove our services.
We hope to receive you again and also that you can use other hotels of our chain.

Best Regards,

Ana Marques
Sales Department
Tryp Coimbra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    98
    47
    7
    1
See reviews for
42
62
9
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I would have given this hotel an "excellent" rating had the breakfast been a bit better and if it been a little closer to the city center. As it is, it is walking distance to the city center - downhill which means an uphill retrun. The staff is excellent and helpful, and the rooms are large and a great value. We would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana M, Promotora de Vendas at Tryp Coimbra, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Good Day!

Thank you for choosing Tryp Coimbra for your stay.
We also like to thank for sharing your opinion.
It is very important to us, because it help to improve our services.
Please, we welcome you to return to our hotel or to stay in another hotel of the chain.

Best Regards,

Ana Marques
Sales Department
Tryp Coimbra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, PA, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Our convention was housed in this hotel, would never have chosen it otherwise. It is very old, and overpriced. Breakfast was adequate, but the hoards of rude German tourist every morning were unpleasant. The restaurant was expensive for mediocre food. The staff was indifferent generally, and security was deplorable. A young lady in our group was inappropriately harassed by a man in the hotel, even having access to her room when she was out to leave a note on the desk. The manager denied any responsibility, and only changed her room when we threatened to call the police. This incident alone makes this hotel totally unacceptable.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana M, Sales Department at Tryp Coimbra, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear Sir or Madam,
We sincere apologize for not corresponding your expectations concerning our product and services.
However, we regret to disagree with most of comments regarding our security and profissionalism.
In order to justify your statments, we inform:
- both messages were delivered at the client room by our staff, as expected and according to our internal procedures, and never done by the possible "intruder", as mentioned.
- In both situations, message paper or the envelope, were delivered to our care with already the client name and room number written on, which lead us to believe that the "intruder" already knew that information in advance but never informed by our staff.
- It is important to inform that under no circumstance, our staff is authorized to give informations about the clients who stay overnight at the hotel
-We were asked at front desk both times, to deliver the messages in the client room, so and against to what is said, the "intruder" never had the oportunity to get the elevator, or stairs, and never enter the client room, wich would be impossible because our key system only authorize one key per door.
- To finish, the client never threatened our duty manager as mentioned. Our duty manager by having knowledged of the situation reported by the client herself, decided to change the client room to another floor near a colleague, which was immediately accepted with gratitude.

Having no further comments about this statment that saddly do not correspond to real facts, we only regret that instead of checking everything with the duty manager, other words were written giving a wrong image of our services and profissionalism.

Kind regards,

Ana Marques
Sales Department
Tryp Coimbra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Nothing much to say about this hotel other than it is perfectly adequate for the purpose of my usual business visits to Coimbra. The breakfast is excellent and the restaurant food otherwise is pretty good. Staff are great and at €45 per night, it is excellent value.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana M, Sales Department at Tryp Coimbra, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Good Afternoon!

Thank you for choosing Tryp Coimbra Hotel and for share your opinion, that is very important to us.

Best Regards,

Ana Marques
Sales Department
Tryp Coimbra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Stayed here for one night with Trapsatour (trap in a tour) far from city center, rooms are large but average with no wifi. Join Trap a tour only if you love chicken...serve four times in six included meals.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana M, Sales Department at Tryp Coimbra, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Good Afternonn from Tryp Coimbra!

Dear sir, thank you for your words.
Please, let us inform you that we have wifi in the hotel and in the rooms but it is not a free service.
If you were not well informed at the reception, please acept our apologies.

We hope to see you again in our hotel and we stay at your disposal.

Best Regards,

Ana Marques
Sales Department
Tryp Coimbra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Good hotel, very nice breakfeast. The parking should be included in the price. Nice rooms

Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana M, Sales Department at Tryp Coimbra, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Good Afternoon!

Thank you for choosing Tryp Coimbra and for giving your opinion.

We hope to receive you again in our hotel.

Best Regards,

Ana Marques
Sales Department
Tryp Coimbra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

I staied in a Suite for 2 nights in a Business trip.
- Location is quiet and calm, it is about 100m from the Hospital University of Coimbra (HUC). But about 15 - 20 minutes walking to the Center. If you don`t like to walk, they can call a taxi, it is about 3€ the trip to the city center. And there are some Buses near.
- Car Parking (I think) is about 6€ per day, or you can try free park in the surroundings.

PROS:
- Nice Staff, they give me a map and explain me where to go in Coimbra.
- The room was large, with a small kitchenette, as you can see in the Photos (i don`t know if that was working because there was no tableware and i didn`t use that).
- The bed was a huge King size and confortable. I think that the room is very good decorated but a little bit out of fashion.
- Very clean.
- Free TV Cable / Big LCD TV
- Good Bathroom (hair dryer).
- The Breakfast was very good with 3 types of natural juices (orange, tangerine and abacaxi), yogurts, coffee, milk, cereals, fruit and other options. They have also the english breakfast type but i didn`t see the options, because i prefer the Continental one.
- They have Free Bikes that you can use!
- Location is quiet peaceful.
- Good access

CONS:
- No Pool and no Spa (It is a 4**** Hotel)
- Not perfect for families.
- No Free Internet (but it was not expensive as other Hotels). I think that if you enjoy the "Fon Zon Free Internet" and you don`t have a free log in (La fonera or Zon Net Users), you can use it for 2.50€ per day or 7.50€ (5 days).
- Bad sound isolation from the other rooms! But usualy it is peaceful.

Good relationship price / quality.

Room Tip: For light sleepers, ask for a back room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana M, Sales Department at Tryp Coimbra, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Good Afternoon!

Thank you for choosing Tryp Coimbra and for giving your opinion.
We remember that we have free internet in our business center.

We hope to receive you again in our hotel and we stay at your disposal.

Best Regards,

Ana Marques
Sales Department
Tryp Coimbra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tryp Coimbra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Coimbra

Address: Av Armando Goncalves 20, Coimbra 3000-059, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Coimbra
#7 Business Hotel in Coimbra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Coimbra 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel with multilingual staff, restaurant and bar is located on a hillside 100 meters from the University Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Melia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tryp Coimbra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Coimbra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tryp Coimbra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.