We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly adequate business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tryp Coimbra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Tryp Coimbra to your Saves list
Tryp Coimbra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Armando Goncalves 20, Coimbra 3000-059, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
up to -15% MeliáRewards
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Coimbra
Berkshire, UK
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Perfectly adequate business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Nothing much to say about this hotel other than it is perfectly adequate for the purpose of my usual business visits to Coimbra. The breakfast is excellent and the restaurant food otherwise is pretty good. Staff are great and at €45 per night, it is excellent value.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana M, Sales Department at Tryp Coimbra, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Good Afternoon!

Thank you for choosing Tryp Coimbra Hotel and for share your opinion, that is very important to us.

Best Regards,

Ana Marques
Sales Department
Tryp Coimbra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    112
    56
    7
    1
See reviews for
51
70
9
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Stayed here for one night with Trapsatour (trap in a tour) far from city center, rooms are large but average with no wifi. Join Trap a tour only if you love chicken...serve four times in six included meals.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana M, Sales Department at Tryp Coimbra, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Good Afternonn from Tryp Coimbra!

Dear sir, thank you for your words.
Please, let us inform you that we have wifi in the hotel and in the rooms but it is not a free service.
If you were not well informed at the reception, please acept our apologies.

We hope to see you again in our hotel and we stay at your disposal.

Best Regards,

Ana Marques
Sales Department
Tryp Coimbra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Good hotel, very nice breakfeast. The parking should be included in the price. Nice rooms

Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana M, Sales Department at Tryp Coimbra, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Good Afternoon!

Thank you for choosing Tryp Coimbra and for giving your opinion.

We hope to receive you again in our hotel.

Best Regards,

Ana Marques
Sales Department
Tryp Coimbra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

I staied in a Suite for 2 nights in a Business trip.
- Location is quiet and calm, it is about 100m from the Hospital University of Coimbra (HUC). But about 15 - 20 minutes walking to the Center. If you don`t like to walk, they can call a taxi, it is about 3€ the trip to the city center. And there are some Buses near.
- Car Parking (I think) is about 6€ per day, or you can try free park in the surroundings.

PROS:
- Nice Staff, they give me a map and explain me where to go in Coimbra.
- The room was large, with a small kitchenette, as you can see in the Photos (i don`t know if that was working because there was no tableware and i didn`t use that).
- The bed was a huge King size and confortable. I think that the room is very good decorated but a little bit out of fashion.
- Very clean.
- Free TV Cable / Big LCD TV
- Good Bathroom (hair dryer).
- The Breakfast was very good with 3 types of natural juices (orange, tangerine and abacaxi), yogurts, coffee, milk, cereals, fruit and other options. They have also the english breakfast type but i didn`t see the options, because i prefer the Continental one.
- They have Free Bikes that you can use!
- Location is quiet peaceful.
- Good access

CONS:
- No Pool and no Spa (It is a 4**** Hotel)
- Not perfect for families.
- No Free Internet (but it was not expensive as other Hotels). I think that if you enjoy the "Fon Zon Free Internet" and you don`t have a free log in (La fonera or Zon Net Users), you can use it for 2.50€ per day or 7.50€ (5 days).
- Bad sound isolation from the other rooms! But usualy it is peaceful.

Good relationship price / quality.

Room Tip: For light sleepers, ask for a back room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana M, Sales Department at Tryp Coimbra, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Good Afternoon!

Thank you for choosing Tryp Coimbra and for giving your opinion.
We remember that we have free internet in our business center.

We hope to receive you again in our hotel and we stay at your disposal.

Best Regards,

Ana Marques
Sales Department
Tryp Coimbra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

This is a typically business hotel, far from the historical University of Coimbra which is a disadvantage. Rooms are large but with a bad noise isolation. Hotel does not offer commodities for families, such as swimming pool or playing room. Breakfast can be good, yet natural orange juice is not available. The breakfast room can be so crowded that together with the lack of waiters, makes you running out of that room. Not designed for families.

Room Tip: The rear rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

Stayed here on a last minute telephone decision, to go to a funeral and without even having visited the website. I find this hotel to be generally bad, outdated, too big, low standard in everything. The location is bad, the rooms are dark and big but not confortable, it's meant for tasteless business travelers. I'd say it is one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in, mostly because of its total lack of charm: huge, enormous reception with lots of shinny, golden stuff all over but you can't really figure out your way to the elevator. The staff was Ok but there was a convention going on in the hotel so mostly every energy was directed towards that organisation. Not really my style, my son didn't want to stay, he couldn't even believe it was a hotel when we arrived (he's 6). Of course we were not traveling for pleasure so it had to do but I wouldn't stay here again, even if was for free.
We desliked it, but it's not to say you won't get a good night sleep or that it's dirty or anything really bad. It's just totally charmless and cold. I am an architect so this could also have an influence on my opinion: it's one of the uggliest buildings I've ever seen, so uninteresting and lacking all functionality, bad detaling, bad construction, it's totally depressing.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

As hotels go, this one is comfortable enough but is not well placed for the old town or university. It has very little character, being a multistory 'box' with standard rooms and reception lounges. Rooms are fine and in reasonable condition with decent bathrooms. Those at the front are noisy given the busy road outside and, although the double glazed windows help, the airconditioning doesn't work well enough to keep them closed all night. Rooms at the back are much better and offer better views. Plenty of free parking but, as mentioned above, you face a good 20 minute walk in the very steep streets to get to the old town or university. Overall, fine for a conference or business meeting, not recommended for sightseeing.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tryp Coimbra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Coimbra

Address: Av Armando Goncalves 20, Coimbra 3000-059, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Coimbra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Coimbra 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel with multilingual staff, restaurant and bar is located on a hillside 100 meters from the University Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Melia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Tryp Coimbra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Coimbra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tryp Coimbra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.