We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My kind of hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel D. Luis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel D. Luis to your Saves list
Hotel D. Luis
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rotunda da Ponte Rainha Santa Isabel, Coimbra 3040-091, Portugal (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel D. Luís)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Coimbra
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My kind of hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

A wonderful hotel with a wonderful view and a wonderful service.
Rooms are nice and clean and wi-fi and parking are free of carge.
My opinion about the restaurant will be on the right page.
.........................................................................................

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldluis, Sales Department at Hotel D. Luis, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your words. We try our best to pleased all our guests.
All of BEST WESTERN Hotel D. Luis team, are glad for your words.

Hope you can visit us next time you return to Coimbra.

Yours sincerly
Tânia Soares
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    130
    74
    24
    11
See reviews for
77
114
8
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed here for one night as part of a Cosmos tour. Room was comfortable, a view out the back to a wooded are, free WiFi and a kettle to make coffee/tea (coffee and tea provided) We had included dinner and breakfast both of which were very good. It's a bit out of town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldluis, Sales Department at Hotel D. Luis, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. It's always important to share travel experiences. Our hotel has the advantage of the view, you can see the river Mondego, the houses, the university...
It was an honour to received your visit at our hotel

Hope to welcome you another time, we remain.

Yours sincerly,
Tânia Soares
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whickham Tyne and Wear
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

The only complaint about this hotel, which is very good value, is the fact that it is difficult to walk into town but as others state there are plenty of taxis which are cheap.The view of the city makes up for this We hired a car for two days and the hotel car park is easy to access and spacious. The rooms were good even if the shower is now a bit dated it still worked well Coimbra ia a nice town although we felt it lacked good restaurants and consequently we ate at the hotel. On one evening when it was quiet we had a super peppered steak cooked at the table and the buffet meals were good value. Breakfasts were quite reasonable and l would be happy to stay here again as the staff( thanks Bruno ) made it feel homely

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldluis, Sales Department at Hotel D. Luis, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.
It's an honour to read that your expectations were achieved and that our service and facilities were

The BEST WESTERN Hotel D. Luís, location is privileged and you can enjoy the view throug all over the city.

Hope to welcome you next time you visit Coimbra.

Yours Sincerly,
Tânia Soares
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Just return from a short stay at the D.Luis to visit the “Portugal dos Pequeninos” and I found the experience excellent. Of course the location is not the best but the quality and the friendliness of the staff made us forget that detail, giving us the opportunity to try the “Tuk tuk” a bike/tricycle that does the transfer and tours in the city and which my kid loved it.
The room is quite nice, considering you’re in a 3 star hotel, very clean and comfortable and with a great view over Coimbra.
We even at time to taste the barbecue they serving for dinner during June, accompanied by live music, excellent food, wine and an unbeatable view.
My compliments to all the staff for the excellent service
Will return for sure!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldluis, Sales Department at Hotel D. Luis, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your words and for sharing your experience at BEST WESTERN Hotel D. Luís.

It was very pleasurable to read your kind words, regarding our service and our facilities.

Near the hotel you have plenty of great activities to do or to visit. And inside the hotel, we try our best to make your stay memorable.

Hope to welcome you at our hotel, next time you visit Coimbra.

Yours Sincerly,
Tânia Soares

We
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed in this hotel recently for four nights. The general impression of hotel is all right.

The decor of the hotel is a bit outdated, the location is not in the center, the wireless network is tiresome as you have to ask for password/inlog name every 12 hours. The personel is doing their job; thus neither friendly or rude. We are satisfied with the breakfast considering its 3 star hotel.

I notice that most of guests seem stay only for one night on their way further to travel. For that this hotel is a good choice as the parking lot is spacious and free.

That is a typical best western hotel, average service and accommondation. In terms of price and quality I may recommand the hotel to some travellers who look for one or two nights as stop in Coimbra.

For myself I will not stay this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldluis, Sales Department at Hotel D. Luis, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at BEST WESTERN Hotel . Luís.

It will be a pleasure if you would like to visit us next time you'll return to Coimbra.

Yours Sincerly,

Tânia Soares
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney, Ontario
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

My wife and I together with our adult son recently spent 2 nights at the Hotel D. Luis. It is a very attractive and modern hotel but lack quick access to the downtown area of Coimbra. Walking into the city centre is out of the question because there are no available sidewalks so you must take taxis which fortunately are very available and inexpensive. The good news is that the hotel has a million dollar view of the city and downtown.

The Hotel D. Luis was an excellent place to stay overall. It was very clean and the service standards are some of the best we've experienced in Portugal. Their complimentary breakfast was excellent and served in a bright dining area.

Despite the location issues, we would definitely stay there again and we would recommend it for visitors to Coimbra which is one our favourite non-tourist places in Portugal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the city and be prepared to wait for a few minutes for taxis to take you downt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldluis, Sales Department at Hotel D. Luis, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Best Western Hotel D. Luís.

The hotel is located in a strategic place in the city, that allows us to appreciate the gorgeous view all over the city.

It will be an honour to welcome you again at our hotel.

Yours Sincerely,

Tânia Soares
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washinton dc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

The service, the food and the great price.We would like to visit again only to stay at this place eating 3 times a day those excellent cuisines.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldluis, Sales Department at Hotel D. Luis, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are very pleased to read that your stay with us was excellent as well as your experience at our restaurant.

Hope to welcome you again at Best Western Hotel D. Luís.

Yours sincerely,
Tânia Soares
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel D. Luis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D. Luis

Address: Rotunda da Ponte Rainha Santa Isabel, Coimbra 3040-091, Portugal (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel D. Luís)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Coimbra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel D. Luis 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel D. Luis is located near downtown Coimbra, in a quiet area with stunning views of the city, the Mondego River and the University of Coimbra. Inaugurated in 1988 and in keeping with a classic and functional style, it combines a family atmosphere and personalized service that distinguish it from other hotels. With areas worthy of a 4-star hotel and adapted to the new technologies, Hotel D. Luis provides comfort both in pleasure trips and business trips. Access to the WIFI network is available at no additional cost throughout the hotel. Its excellent location allows its customers to be near the town centre and simultaneously enjoy its calm atmosphere, without having to worry about parking. At sunset, the gardens of the hotel induce to walks that will transport your imagination to another time, because wherever you look you can contemplate one of the oldest cities in Europe. In the Panorama restaurant you will have the privilege of tasting the most exquisite foods of the city and enjoying the best views of Coimbra. The bar, with a varied list of cocktails and appetizers, is the ideal place to relax after a day in the city. Hotel D. Luis rooms and services are also ideal for meetings, for it has 5 rooms provided with the newest technology, perfect for hosting meetings, conferences, wedding receptions or dinners for special occasions, making it the ideal complement for the many events that take place in Coimbra, the University and the hospitals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel D. Luis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western d Luis
Best Western Coimbra
Coimbra Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel D. Luis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.