We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful oasis of calm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa nas Serras

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa nas Serras to your Saves list
Casa nas Serras
Estr. EN2 | Santa Maria, Arrifana, Coimbra 3350-023, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Coimbra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
BC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“wonderful oasis of calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

After three days in Lisbon we were delighted to stay at this peaceful well appointed guest house. It was handy for day trips and welcoming to come home to. Angelique and Frederic gave us excellent and varied suggestions for dinners out. We extended our stay a further two days as we were enjoying ourselves so much. We even chose this as a base to explore Porto rather than move on. Breakfasts on the terrace were memorable. We would love to return.

Room Tip: They were all excellent. I would prefer one of the lower eones with a terrace and each of those had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
57
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We would highly recommend this B&B. The rooms are nicely decorated, the breakfast is delicious and the view is beautiful. There are a couple of very good restaurants within a few minutes drive and a couple of day excursions with fantastic views. It was such a treat to be off the tourist path after several weeks of traveling to all the hot spots in Europe. It was very calming.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, WA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Talented and friendly Frederik and Angelique are a charming couple who have created a pristine oasis in the countryside outside of Coimbra. Just use your GPS-it's a pretty 30 minute drive from and/or the historic treasures of Coimbra! This is a deluxe bed and breakfast at a reasonable price. I really appreciated the tranquil and soothing accommodations, amazing breakfasts, and warm hospitality of this couple.......as did many other reviewers!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We spent three days at Casa nas Serras and loved this place from the very first moment. It looks just as great as on the website's pictures, and Angelique and Frederik make you feel like being at home. We very much enjoyed the rich breakfast on the terrace with a splendid view into the green mountains, and a swim in the big pool. The room was nicely decorated and the bed was just amazingly comfortable. As the surrounding area offers many things to do (we drove to Coimbra and went canoeing on the Mondego river), Casa nas Serras is a great starting point for excursions. A place to remember and a place to recommend!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed two lovely nights on april. It was still cold, but the radiator was more than enough, we had a very clean room and hot waters. Frederick and Angelique are a very nice young european couple with excellent english. They give great recommendations so do consult with them.

For the first night they advised us to go and eat in a local place where chicken is the specialty of the house, it was one of our best meals in Portugal and also the cheapest one :)
The breakfast were great, freshly squeezed orange juice, fruits, cheese and meat and all is served in a calm manner with no rush. We were provided with maps and tips where to go to and all together they made us feel at home.

The location is in a small town and you can just feel the romantic atmosphere as soon as you step in.

Frederick and Angelique we had a wonderful time!
Best Regards to you.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zottegem
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Angelique, Frederik and Chopin,

We had a superb time in Portugal. Casa Nas Serras is excellent.
Your welcome and hospitality really made our holiday.We never found another: fabulous breakfast (eggs, pancackes, fresh fruit,......), pretty and extremely comfortable rooms, great location, the pool and wonderful friendly hosts. We loved staying in your beautiful property and everything was clean, comfortable and great value.
I know that our friends really enjoyed their stay.
I am sure that your business will go from strength to strength. I know that my wife and I would love to come again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My girlfriend and I just stayed at this excellent b&b and are already making plans to return. We can't express the beauty of the view from our little porch, the gorgeous yard, and exceptional company of Angelique, Frederik and Chopin. Just sitting on the porch for the delicious breakfast we were surrounded by the sounds of birds, children in a nearby playground, and the wind in the trees. Frederik kindly answered our endless questions about the history of the restored house, the well, and the neighbor's shed full of farm animals. Thanks for a great visit!

Room Tip: our downstairs room had an awesome view of the backyard and expansive valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa nas Serras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa nas Serras

Address: Estr. EN2 | Santa Maria, Arrifana, Coimbra 3350-023, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Coimbra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa nas Serras is a bed and breakfast located in central Portugal. Situated just outside of Vila Nova de Poiares, a small town in the middle of nature. In May 2010 renovations were started on this authentic Portuguese country house. It is run by Angelique De Geest and Frederik Buys, a young Belgian couple. Under the Portuguese sun and surrounded by beautiful views, they hope to welcome you at Casa nas Serras. GPS: 40.222025,-8.271641 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa nas Serras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa nas Serras, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.