We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Ze Neto

Restaurante Ze Neto
R. Azeiteiras 8, Coimbra 3000, Portugal
+351 239 826 786 ‎
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 212 Restaurants in Coimbra
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

amazing little restaurant! had the bacalhau asado, the sardines and the chamfana (goat). everything was excellent. great value for the price, totally worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    49
    13
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We chose this restaurant after looking at other reviews but were disappointed with our evening. The atmosphere was quite nice with several older Portugese customers and a mix of tourists , but we found the meal fairly ordinary. My partner had cod because he wanted vegetables and it was one of the few meals that came with them. It arrived with potatoes and soggy green beans as well as a boiled egg. The fish was tasteless so we asked for some lemon ,salt and pepper. The waitress then poured oil all over the fish as a response. She was probably trying to be helpful but my partner does not like oily food so that made it worse. I noticed she did this to another couple without asking ,and they had to ask her to stop. The lemon arrived when we had finished our meal. I asked for grilled fish, but it came lightly battered and fried - maybe a problem with the menu translation. I also had to ask twice for my drink, since the waitress forgot. I do find this often happens when you don't drink alcohol for some reason. All in all, I would not really recommend this restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Family Run Restaurante”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

looked at several establishments before choosing this one and were glad that we did. Good menu and freshly cooked. A pleasant place to eat an evening meal.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YYC
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Somewhat overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Previous night we had gone to another place around the corner, Adega Paco do Conde, which is lower ranked here than Ze Neto, but which we actually liked. My wife wanted to go back there but upon my insistence, we tried Ze Neto.

Main difference, Ze Neto is small while the other place is quite big. It seems only four people work there, an older man and three women, who seem to spend a good deal of their time arguing loudly. (But presumably not too seriously?) The man did not seem to be working too hard, mainly watching the three women who were quite busy. Waitress was efficient, but she made no effort to be pleasant.

Men's room opens right into the main restaurant room in a somewhat strange way. On the walls, reviews and gastronomica awards. Clearly more pretentious about their food.

Tables also set with white paper on top just like the other place. Somewhat similar type of food at both places, but smaller menu (not necessarily a bad thing).

Customers seemed to be mainly tourists, four Brazilians in the back, a French couple, a British couple, a young Portuguese guy with a female French guest.

Anyway, coming to food, both places serve very similar dishes, large with, potatoes and veggies in addition to the main meat or fish. Both of us had to agree that at the end of the day, food was better at the other place. Not that it was bad at Ze Neto, just not as good. Both places serve simple honest peasant food at very attractive prices.

But in our book, Ze Neto is somewhat overrated on this site. Interestingly, it seemed the wine list was also smaller especially at the high end. No Alvarinho; best Douro was Duas Quintas.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The simple and nice way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

You are treated has family and the food is accordingly.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Ze Neto also viewed

Coimbra, Coimbra District
 
Coimbra, Coimbra District
 

Been to Restaurante Ze Neto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Ze Neto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.