We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, good sleep” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Ria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Ria Hotel to your Saves list
Melia Ria Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cais da Fonte Nova, Lote 5, Aveiro 3810-200, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
up to -15% MeliáRewards
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Aveiro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great Location, good sleep”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Ask for a room overlooking the canal as that is where the pretty boats turn around. A short walk into the town along the canal. Hotel was clean, the service was good and the breakfast was really fantastic. Watch out for floor levels in entry to bar area where one of our group tripped. A real hazard. We had wonderful service, unlike some of your othere reviewers.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaRia, Meetings & Events at Melia Ria Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind comments and positive feedback on Tripadvisor. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that our services and facilities met with your expectations.
We will consider your suggestions regarding the step on the access to our Bar, on a future refurbishment of the Hotel.
We are looking forward to your next stay at our Hotel or any other hotel of Meliá Hotels International.

Best regards,
Inês Ventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    205
    59
    17
    3
See reviews for
91
184
6
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We came to Aveiro to visit friends and stayed at Melia Ria for 2 nights. It was very clean and nice. Good breakfast. Clean beds, modern facilities and great surroundings . However, the overall service could have been better. Easy to get to places

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaRia, Meetings & Events at Melia Ria Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments with us concerning your recent stay at Meliá Ria Hotel and Spa.

We highly appreciate your feedback and we are looking forward to your next stay at our Hotel or any other hotel of Meliá Hotels International.

We remain at your disposal for any further queries.

Best regards,

Inês Ventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I stayed the Melia Ria Hotel during my first visit to Aveiro, Portugal. It had a modern style with equipped with everything you would expect in an average hotel room. The breakfast buffet had an amazing and endless selection of food and beverages. However, the overall service could have been better. For instance, there were no staff present to help us carry our luggage and bags in and out of the vehicle. Also, the internet wi-fi service could be improved, there are no balconies, and the beds were not the most comfortable. Besides that, it is located at a convenient part of the city and the building looks lovely being surrounded by the water, especially at night with the hotel and street lights reflecting the surrounding water.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the waterside give a nice view of the city and surrounding water, while the opposite si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaRia, Meetings & Events at Melia Ria Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments with us concerning your recent stay at Meliá Ria Hotel and Spa.

We highly appreciate your feedback and we are looking forward to your next stay at our Hotel or any other hotel of Meliá Hotels International.

We remain at your disposal for any further queries.

Best regards
Inês Ventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Top Contributor
282 reviews 282 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
271 helpful votes 271 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

This is a fairly new building in a lovely area, only 10 minutes walk to the centre of Aveiro old town. The hotel claims to be 4* which is actually true for the communal areas and some of the rooms but was not really based on my own experience with my room.

Good features: Modern hotel, free internet with good speed, ultra clean and efficient

Not so good features: Small bed, the view from the room (see photo), no coffee making facilities, no ironing board, on the first night the noise from the bar was loud in my room up to 2am but on the second night was very quiet

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaRia, Meetings & Events at Melia Ria Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for selecting our hotel.

Thank you for your suggestions regarding the coffee facilities and the ironing board in the room, which will be taken into maximum consideration.

Your comments are very important as they help us to review and improve our services.

In the meantime, if we can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Looking forward to seeing you at our hotel or at another Meliá International Hotel.

Best Regards,

Ines Ventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aveiro, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We are currently staying at this hotel and are very disappointed by the level of service provided. The AirCon in our room is not working - and although the reception desk promised to send someone up to service it, nobody has shown up.

Another disappointment is the lack of coffee service in the room, although there is a fridge. Also, unlike most hotels in Portugal, breakfast is not included with the night's stay charges. Thankfully there are many coffee shops nearby who serve a nice fare.

We always stay at a Melia Hotel when travelling in Cuba, and have always received excellent service.

This hotel needs to step up it's level of service.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaRia, Meetings & Events at Melia Ria Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments and feedback on Tripadvisor.

We're very sorry to hear that our services and facilities did not meet with your expectations.

It is very unusual for our maintenance colleagues to take time to attend a client's request, particularly when it concerns the air conditioning.

As for the breakfast not being included in the rate, we would like to inform you that we have available a large number of rates, special programs and promotions on most websites, that include the breakfast and the access to our Welness Centre/Health Club, for instance. It's really up to the guest to decide whether he wishes to exclude the breakfast or not.

We will take your comments about the coffee facilities in the guest room on any future refurbishments of the Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future and thank you for your preference.

Kind regards and Best Wishes

Inês Ventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Hotel is located 10 minutes walk from downtown Aveiro. The area is very enjoyable with large ponds and artificial river with gondola like in Venicia.
the Lobby is very spacious and luxurious. The bedroom are large and bathroom well design. The bed are not very comfortable and the pillow very cheap.. I did not have great quality sleeps there. Also, my sink was plugged in and the furnace very noisy.

the staff is OK. Food for breakfast is good,buffet style. The issue is the replenishment of ingredients. They ran out of food all the time and it takes them forever to bring new batch.

Overall a good hotel for 1 or 2 nights, but i would consider this as great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaRia, Meetings & Events at Melia Ria Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for selecting our hotel.
Thank you for your suggestions, which will be taken into maximum consideration.
Your comments are very important as they help us to review and improve our services.
In the meantime, if we can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Looking forward to seeing you at our hotel or at another Meliá International Hotel.

Best Regards,
Inês Ventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Actually chose this as had a very pleasant experience at their ME Reina Victoria in Madrid and it was a cheap option for a couple of nights in Aveiro on a trip along the coast. It actually turned into a way nicer experience and exceptional value. It is a super modern design set outside the town centre but every evening we strolled up the canal, through the open air shopping centre and into the town for dinner and drinks - maybe its a 10 minute walk. Large hotel, oddly it charges for parking in their basement but there is loads of free parking across the road and we left our car there all the time with no problems. Staff were friendly - we didnt eat there (even for breakfast) as we preferred to walk to a cafe in the town. If you are driving its a nice choice.

Room Tip: It was busy when we arrived and I forgot to ask for a non smoking room and we were sent to one which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaRia, Meetings & Events at Melia Ria Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments with us concerning your recent stay at Meliá Ria Hotel and Spa.

We highly appreciate your feedback and we are looking forward to your next stay at our Hotel or any other hotel of Meliá Hotels International.

We remain at your disposal for any further queries.

Best regards,

Inês Ventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Ria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Ria Hotel

Address: Cais da Fonte Nova, Lote 5, Aveiro 3810-200, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Aveiro District > Aveiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Aveiro
#2 Business Hotel in Aveiro
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aveiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Ria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Ria Hotel & Spa is located in a superior quality residential development in the centre of Aveiro, with views of the lake formed by the Ria de Aveiro. Located next to the Cultural and Congress Centre and the train station, just a short distance from the historical heart of the city, 7 km from the beaches, and 60 minutes from Oporto airport, with easy access to the A1, A25 and IC1 highways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Melia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Melia Ria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Aveiro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Ria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.