We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Ria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Ria Hotel to your Saves list
Melia Ria Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cais da Fonte Nova, Lote 5, Aveiro 3810-200, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Aveiro
Dusseldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“Good value hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed there on a short business trip. It's a modern style hotel. Rooms are ok, service too. They have a large and nice breakfast buffet. And all of that at a good value.

The hotel is located at a small creek, which is nice, but unfortunately not walking distance to downtown. Unfortunately I had a room on the 2nd floor with no view. Try to get a room on the higher floors facing the creek.

All in all a solid choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaRia, Meetings & Events at Melia Ria Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel.

We are glad to hear you've enjoyed your stay with us - we would like to mention, however, that we are in fact within a walking distance to the city center (it takes you no more than 10/15 minutes to reach the most ancient part of our city).

Hope to see you soon!

Best regards,

Inês Ventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    180
    54
    15
    3
See reviews for
78
160
6
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tres Cantos, Spain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Close to the Aveiro channel in a charming place, food was really good (bufett lovely chicken soups and pork meat with "vinho verde", etc 19eur) A plus was free parking in front of the hotel. Would recommend to anyone. The restaurant staff was more than lovely.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaRia, Meetings & Events at Melia Ria Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Meliá Ria Hotel & Spa, and for taking the time to post your feedback here on Tripadvisor.

We are most pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we appreciate your kind words, particularly about our Staff.

Hope to see you soon,

Kind wishes,

Inês Ventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel was in an ideal location, on the edge of the creekwith lovely bots cruising - gave you a feel of Venice ! The location was great, walking distance to supermarket, shopping mall, parks, and a coffe shop across the creek. The hotel was very comfortable and the breakfast was fantastic. Ample choice - continental, American, Portuguese etc etc. The meals and the service were excellent. Want to have a peaceful, quiet and relaxed holiday the Melia ria Hotel in aveiro is the place.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaRia, Meetings & Events at Melia Ria Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Raul,

Many thanks for your kind comments and positive feedback on Tripadvisor. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that our services and facilities met with your expectations.
We hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future and thank you for your preference.

Kind regards and Best Wishes
Inês Ventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were at the hotel in August 2013, I agree with the comments that can be read, but at the hotel we observe that certain things do not care: there was dust in the room, which is not usual, and one of the dirty hand towels, literally went down to reception with it, and they bring me one new and they said sorry, “but it would have been a failure”.

It is next to one of the canals of Aveiro, and at night you can hear the sound of a "bar" nearby, can be annoying.

But what is surprising, and fed back strange, is the last thing that happened to us, we booked the hotel by Melia website, and thanks to that and we had 10 euros Rewards Meliá free every night (2 persons in a room) just had enjoyed the same "gift "at the Melia Maria Pita in Coruña smoothly. On leaving the hotel we pay these costs, particularly were 4 desserts on the menu, and we explained vaguely that are not included in this hotel when in advertising and in my spare paper says otherwise, of course ask for a complaint form , and today we continue to expect some explanation about it ...

I think it has to be a level or cleaning Meliá or treatment, and very careful because the "gift" comes out very very expensive (almost 20 euros in 4 desserts "only" of the letter). Neither back nor recommend in my case.

Room Tip: Avoid the noise from the bar outside if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaRia, Meetings & Events at Melia Ria Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post you comments about our Hotel here on Tripadvisor.

We are truly sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We can assure you that we aim to offer the best service possible.

We have in fact had a few misunderstandings regarding the 10€/day voucher from Meliá website, as the information the client receives is not entirely correct and as every Hotel has a different offer for the voucher - we have been communicating these problems with the management and I believe the text on the voucher has now been corrected.

Nevertheless, we hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future, as we feel sure you will not feel disappointed.

Kind wishes,

Inês Ventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinhal Novo, Portugal
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I am a tour guide and know this hotel for some years and i am rating this hotel for the first time.
I was there again on the 2SET2013 and i have to point out the satisfaction of my 22 german clients and my personal satisfaction to. Good clean rooms, free wifi, friendly staff not only at the reception but also in the dining room. Good buffet for dinner and breakfast with quality products.
Good location and possibility to use the swimming pool to relax...

Room Tip: All the rooms are similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaRia, Meetings & Events at Melia Ria Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind comments and positive feedback on Tripadvisor.
We're happy to hear you and your german group of travellers have enjoyed your recent stay with us and that our services and facilities met with your expectations.
We hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future!

Kind regards and Best Wishes
Inês Ventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guimaraes, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The hotel is superb as well as the service. Rooms are excellent and extremely confortable. Staff is very helpfull anda very nice. Recomend it to everyone o has a chance to experience it. The view to the Ria is very conforting and relaxing and it's within 5 minutes to the city center.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaRia, Meetings & Events at Melia Ria Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments and positive feedback on Tripadvisor. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that our services and facilities met with your expectations.
We hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future and thank you for your preference.

Kind regards and Best Wishes
Inês Ventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Modern looking and located 5 minutes walking distance from Centre. The rooms are a litle bit hot but you have AC.
The reception staff is very nice and will help you with everything you need.
Never ate at the hotel so I can't comment about food quality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaRia, Meetings & Events at Melia Ria Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel, and for taking the time to post your kind comments here on Tripadvisor.

We're also glad you found the Front Desk staff helpful and friendly - we truly aim to please.

We hope to see you soon at our Hotel, or at any other Meliá Hotels International hotel.

Best regads,

Inês Ventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Ria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Ria Hotel

Address: Cais da Fonte Nova, Lote 5, Aveiro 3810-200, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Aveiro District > Aveiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Aveiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Ria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Ria Hotel & Spa is located in a superior quality residential development in the centre of Aveiro, with views of the lake formed by the Ria de Aveiro. Located next to the Cultural and Congress Centre and the train station, just a short distance from the historical heart of the city, 7 km from the beaches, and 60 minutes from Oporto airport, with easy access to the A1, A25 and IC1 highways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Melia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Melia Ria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Aveiro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Ria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.