We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, acoustic not at the same standard.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Ria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Ria Hotel to your Saves list
Melia Ria Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cais da Fonte Nova, Lote 5, Aveiro 3810-200, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Aveiro
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, acoustic not at the same standard.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Nice localization, modern hotel and good rooms, however there is a big drawback, the acoustic in the rooms. If you have someone in the room next to yours, you will listen absolutely everything coming from the other room. In such a new hotel and recent construction, building could have much better sound proofing.
Besides this, all good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaRia, Sales Department at Melia Ria Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments with us concerning your recent stay at Meliá Ria Hotel and Spa.
We highly appreciate your feedback and we are looking forward to your next stay at our Hotel or any other hotel of Meliá Hotels International.
We remain at your disposal for any further queries.

Best regards
Ines Ventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    182
    55
    15
    3
See reviews for
79
162
6
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is the 3rd or 4th time I stay at the Melia Ria Aveiro
It is a few minutes walk from the city centre and gives you breathing space
Nice rooms and well decorated - nice view of the canal
Great people and nice breakfast
Great spa with swimming pool and sauna (which the charge €10 guests for using )
Great value for money and FREE wifi

This time I had problems connecting with their wifi system
My computer was connecting to the Internet for certain periods and could not connect at other times
I guess it has to do with how many people were using the internet at the time
The very helpful people tried everything to help
Eventually on the second day the General Manager Jorge came to my room at midnight to see if he could connect with his laptop whilst asking for technical assistance from his IT team !!! When we realised that his laptop could connect whilst mine could he offered me his own laptop to work overnight!!! This is what I call hospitality and I am really impressed - OBRIGADISSIMO JORGE. In the meanwhile they are upgrading their internet service

Will be back at the Melia Ria very soon

Room Tip: choose a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaRia, General Manager at Melia Ria Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Mr. Buhalis,

Thank you very much for your kind comments about our staff and Hotel.
We are most pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with Us.
We look forward to your next stay at our Hotel or any other hotel of Meliá Hotels International.

Kind Regards,

Jorge Cabral
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Not the first time there.. The Hotel is nice, the staff very nice, but the Hotel as all, needs to improve in comfort in services, like internet and room temperatures control! An upgrade in beds and cousins, as well as bed linen would definitively help the upgrade quality the property deserves.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaRia, Sales Department at Melia Ria Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Google Translation
Estimado Hóspede,
Agradecemos desde já os seus simpáticos comentários, particularmente no que se refere ao nosso Staff.
Teremos em conta as suas sugestões, para futuras ocasiões em que se realizem melhoramentos no Hotel.
Esperamos recebê-lo de novo, em breve, no Meliá Ria Hotel & Spa ou em qualquer outro hotel da cadeia Melia Hotels Internacional.
Melhores Cumprimentos,

Inês Ventura

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your kind comments, particularly in regards to our Staff.
We will consider your suggestions, on any future refurbishments of the Hotel.
We are looking forward to your next stay at our Hotel or any other hotel of Meliá Hotels International.
Best regards,

Inês Ventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel is modern and confortable, very well located in a quiet area but just a short walking distance from the city center. Breakfast and indoor pool are paid extra.
Indoor pool is pretty warm, the only negative point is that it is very small, but since it's paid extra (10 euros) there aren't many people there. The exception is when they have aquagymnastic classes there.
Breakfast is good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaRia, Sales Department at Melia Ria Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments and positive feedback on Tripadvisor. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that our services and facilities met with your expectations.
We would like to inform you that we have available a large number of special programs and promotions that include both the breakfast and the access to our Welness Centre/Health Club.
We hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future and thank you for your preference.
Kind regards and Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed 4 nights on this 4* hotel and liked everything about it. Great location, kind staff, nice SPA.
Breakfast has all you need. Rooms are quite large and confortable. Rates are not that high. Overall I think is a nice choice if you want to spend quality time in this beautiful city.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaRia, Sales Department at Melia Ria Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments and positive feedback on Tripadvisor. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that our services and facilities met with your expectations.

We hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future and thank you for your preference.

Kind regards and Best Wishes

Ines Ventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed here for one night on a business trip. The rooms are comfortable, spacious and clean . The Buffet breakfast is excellent with many options. My experience with the staff was also positive.
I did not use the spa area, but have been told by the locals that it is worthwhile.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaRia, Sales Department at Melia Ria Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments and positive feedback on Tripadvisor. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future and thank you for your preference.

Kind regards and Best Wishes,

Inês Ventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed 7 nights in this hotel in Aveiro. The location is excellent, just a short walk from the city centre. The university, which I had to visit every day is also well within walking distance. The rooms are spacious and well furnished with all the expected amenities. The restaurant has an excellent breakfast buffet with a large variety of food. No complaints about the price quality ratio, also at dinner time. Just a little improvement could be reached when all the reception staff members would be able to understand English more easily. Only some of them do at this moment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaRia, Sales Department at Melia Ria Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments and positive feedback on Tripadvisor. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that our services and facilities met with your expectations.

We hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future and thank you for your preference.

Kind regards and Best Wishes

Ines Ventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Ria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Ria Hotel

Address: Cais da Fonte Nova, Lote 5, Aveiro 3810-200, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Aveiro District > Aveiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Aveiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Ria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Ria Hotel & Spa is located in a superior quality residential development in the centre of Aveiro, with views of the lake formed by the Ria de Aveiro. Located next to the Cultural and Congress Centre and the train station, just a short distance from the historical heart of the city, 7 km from the beaches, and 60 minutes from Oporto airport, with easy access to the A1, A25 and IC1 highways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Melia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Melia Ria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Aveiro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Ria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.