We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 star location and food, old rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aveiro Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Aveiro Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Aveiro Palace
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Viana do Castelo, 4, Aveiro 3800-275, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Aveiro
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“4 star location and food, old rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I picked the hotel for its location in the center, which is great. We had 2 rooms with view of the canal, old furniture and decoration and small bathrooms. 4 stars and no fridge in the room (no place for it I think). These days and in Portugal, you can expect more for the prices they ask in july. Very friendly staff and superb breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    114
    33
    11
    4
See reviews for
39
111
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed for one night in early June 2012, and had trouble finding it as the guide book I was using listed it under its previous name (Arcade). There was no parking here but reception was polite and helpful in showing where I could park the motorcycle.

Like the rest of the hotel, the room was recently renovated, with dual-aspect windows overlooking the canal, and was nicely decorated. Breakfast was the usual buffet but the dining room was lovely, overlooking the canal and an adjacent square. I used the free internet computers which worked well.

Aveiro itself has some nice older parts and as we were only there for one night we stayed fairly close to the hotel. Its very central and a short walk to any point of interest such as the resteraunts, fish market, shops, canals and harbour.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomar, Portugal
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We just spent 4 nights (supposed to have been 3 but there was a rail strike on departure day...ah, Portugal!). Room was of a good size with unnoteworthy furniture but extremely clean. Extra large modern tub in the bathroom, but watch your footing (they should consider some rubber mats). Staff were unerringly courteous if not overly well-informed but the tourist office is only a couple of doors down the street.
Breakfast room and the adjacent lounge (not bar) are spacious and well appointed; very good typical european breakfast spread, and waitstaff attentive about replenishing and cleaning.
As noted in other reviews, the location can't be beaten. Canal boats out the front door (and by all means take the ride), Churches, the fantastic fish market and the beautiful museum for Santa Joana only a couple of blocks in one direction or another.
The only thing that marred our stay was construction work in the courtyard adjacent and partly under our balconied room. Not a horror show, just a nuisance, and we were told everything would be finished the day after we left.
For 69 euro per night, we thought it was great value. Even though we spent longer then planned, we would return to Aveiro because it's a really beautiful city with some great restaurants and bars (especially Tasca do Cafe and Taberna do Canal--separate reviews to follow.). When we do return, we'll stay here.

Room Tip: Usual trade-off: city views come with street noise and quiet rooms have no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Aveiro Palace is a good hotel in a central location. The rooms are good, ours had a view onto het canal. Because of its location it is easy to walk into town. Breakfast was good and the option to park your car for 5 Euros in the parking garage was great. Attention: in our car navigation system the hotel is marked as Arcade hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

This beautiful building has views onto the central canal and is located right in the middle of all the major city sights - the fish market designed by Eiffel, the Art Nouveau museum, restaurants, canals and bridges. The modern shopping centre is close by and the salt pans are within walking distance. The hotel rooms are modern and well equipped for the price. The breakfast is excellent and served in a lovely light sunny room. There is a computer room and a delightful sitting room on the first floor. Its a bit of a walk from the train station but a taxi is only a few euros. Would love to stay there again for more than two days.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

As soon as you get to Aveiro you will want to stay in this beautiful building because it does look like a palace and it is so perfectly situated. It is in the heart of the city, within walking distance of all the attractions, and has great views over the canal. The tourist office is just a few doors down. The hotel has recently been refurbished (on some travel guide sites it is still showing up as the two-star Hotel Arcada!) but now it is plush four-star quality at a reasonable price. The rooms are stylish and modern, but the thing that struck me was how friendly and helpful the staff were. My Portuguese friends say the people of Aveiro are renowned for their friendliness and now I understand why. The hotel does a great buffet breakfast too. Aveiro is lovely city to explore in a relaxed fashion.

Room Tip: Having a view is a must ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Highly qualified for travellers and businessmen, is equally the most well localised hotel in Aveiro. Within the central sqr and with a view to the mother river in Aveiro, this 4 star hotel was newly renovated and either the rooms and the old monumentary building is now a highly quality hotel.
Breakfast is also quite enjoyable and a good bargain too.

Room Tip: Ask for the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aveiro Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aveiro Palace

Address: Rua Viana do Castelo, 4, Aveiro 3800-275, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Aveiro District > Aveiro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Aveiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aveiro Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Aveiro, the city of water and light is "HOTEL AVEIRO PALACE". Situated in the heart of th city where th main channel of the river, baths Aveiro. The is characterized by the tradition of its architecture and art entertainment.Founded in 1937, "HOTEL ARCADA" has been an example of attention to new times and new demands,. In 2011 and after an extensive renovation, was renamed "HOTEL AVEIRO PALACE", 43 room and 5 suites. On the first floor is the "Hall Arcada", which combines with an "open space" Café-Bar, Internet room, reading room and meeting area also it is a breakfast room where we enjoy some panels Tile, from Aleluia Factory, which dates from the founding period of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Aveiro Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aveiro Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.