We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O Batel

O Batel
Travessa Tenende Resende 21 | 3800-270 Aveiro, Aveiro, Portugal
+351234484234
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 124 Restaurants in Aveiro
Price range: $18 - $30
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Logrono, Spain
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Quaint, small restaurant with warm, friendly service and excellent food. If we had eaten here the first night during our stay in Aveiro, we never would have tried other restaurants.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    44
    18
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food, good atmosphere !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Friendly staff, lovely place. It is small, and relatively hidden.
We had the Bacalhau and the Caril de Gambas, both were excellent.
Price was okay.
Highly recommended !

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Second time around was even greater ;-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Visited Batel for the first time 2 years ago when it had just started. A superb experience. Came back in May 2012 and although we thought nothing could top the first visit, they could. We just love the food, the atmosphere, the hospitality and it will always be our favourite pieces of Aveiro. Thanks for a great restaurant from 2 Danes ;-)

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senden, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice small (hidden) restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

we were there in May 2012, friendly staff, recommendation from the chef was marvelous. A little bit hidden in a small street. Best food we had in Portugal up to now, house wine red and white very good. The restaurant is decorated with some requisites from old sailboats. Interior marine like and well arranged.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Lovely food and good prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We had lunch here and found the restaurant very cosy and well fitted out with a marine theme. The service was good, prompt and the food very well prepared and good value. It is situated in the old part of Aveiro.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Batel also viewed

Aveiro, Aveiro District
Aveiro, Aveiro District
 

Been to O Batel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O Batel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.