We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Mansion for your own” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta das Merces

Save Saved
You added Quinta das Merces to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quinta das Merces
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Caminho de Baixo - Sao Mateus | (also known as Quinta de Nossa Senhora das Merces), Angra do Heroismo, Terceira 9700-559, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Mansion for your own”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The location is great. We stayed there to visit the island on our 10 day trip through the Azores. Great place, wonderful decorated. It's a mansion, and we stayed there by ourselves. Perfect price value! Even if the location is close to the main road, it is quiet, and you look straight onto the ocean

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    12
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
39
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay with everything you need. Clean, well kept, excellent. We would not consider staying anywhere else on the island. The Manor House is beautiful. You will be made to feel welcome. Parking is available.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The manor house itself is beautifully restored and furnished. The individual bedrooms (11 of them) are comfortable. There is a gorgeous chapel attached to the house (that includes a 2-story suite in the back) and a separate guest house best for a family. The houses have views of the ocean out the front and there are gardens/orchards and forest in the back. The owners are very accomodating and knowledgeable about local restaurants, sights and history.

Couple items of note: The owners speak english passably but not fluently so everyone needs to be patient. The hallways are dark and some sitting areas lack lighting for reading. The bedrooms do not have ocean views...but what can you see at night anyway?!

Room Tip: The bedrooms do not have ocean views...but what can you see at night anyway?!
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

A palace on the sea. Everything is the best, the food, the breakfast has everything is excellent. Call of the best I've ever seen, ask yourself a coffee or tea, we met with much sympathy and kindness. We asked a taxi and were soon met with great delicacy, and not pay the phone calls. I loved it, super quiet relaxing as much, I have no words. The bar is open, it's great because it gives us freedom, we take what we drink, but just have to point out, of course ... we have to pay at checkout. The halls, rooms beautifully furnished with the ultimate in quality, very fine, everything smells good myth with a very light scent of candles. It is very thin.
Although not very cold outside, the halls and rooms were always very warm.
Now I understand why the Kings loved being there so much. It is magnificent.

Room Tip: room with garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We were really looking forward to our stay especially after having read good reviews but we were disappointed. It is a beautiful building with charming gardens but to call it a hotel is nonsense. The restaurant was closed, tea and coffee should have been available 24 hours but wasn't. Our roomwas cold and breakfast was stingy. We had to repeatedly ask for more eggs, coffee and milk. Any request for help was met with a sigh. We can only guess that the owners were away as the service was non existent. No one bothered to even look up when we passed Reception and we felt as thought we were a nuisance. Such a shame. We understand the King of Spain once stayed there and maybe the 'hotel' is now just resting on its laurels.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nicely furnished but a bit chilly. Very quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed two nights in Quinta das Merces. The hotel is not far away from Angra do Heroismo, although it is too far to walk. So a car seems to be necessary, which can also be used to explore the island. Between hotel and sea a quiet busy road is located, but the Quinta is quiet far away. It is lying on a huge estate, with gardens, swimming pool, tennis court and a big parking lot. Everything is well maintained.
The interior of the house is also very nice with old tasteful furnishings and nice carpets. The rooms are also lovely, but the bathroom is a little old fashioned. The television is very small.

The breakfast is fine, but the service could be a little better. Also I did not like the tipsy furniture in the breakfast room. It was also a little cramped.

The price of the double room during high season is a bit too high, in the low season it is fine.

Do not miss the nearby fish restaurants and Angra, a very beautiful town!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Midlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed in the Quinta with a group for five nights in November. Our room was very cold on arrival and we received no warm welcome or hospitality during our stay. The Quinta was being run by the daughter and son of the family who were begrudging in everything they did. They couldn't even be bothered to bid us 'good day' when we came in and out. Breakfast was adequate but no more - probably the worst we have had anywhere, and certainly not four star. We may have been unlucky, but certainly wouldn't recommend it from our experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quinta das Merces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta das Merces

Address: Caminho de Baixo - Sao Mateus | (also known as Quinta de Nossa Senhora das Merces), Angra do Heroismo, Terceira 9700-559, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Azores > Terceira > Angra do Heroismo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Angra do Heroismo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta das Merces 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta das Merces - A secret place at the Atlantic Ocean. The Country House - Quinta das Mercês is ideally situated in the protected area of Mount Brasil, in Island Terceira, Azores. It grows from the sea line through the interior within an area of about 35,000 square meters. It gathers the ocean influence with a dense extension of Atlantic woods wrapping an architectural set of great historical and cultural value. The farm roots go back to the XVIth century when the actual farm tenant’s house was built. In the XVIIth century was raised the Manor House to which, in the same century, was added the chapel in all alike a small church. The House and the Chapel are the nucleus of one of the last examples of the Feudal Architecture on the surrounds of the city of Angra do Heroismo. The outside space, with deep connection to the sea, was valorised through a careful landscape architectural project witch faithfully kept the original line of the land, implementing selective areas of leisure. It is a multifaceted space directed to an exacting and qualified tourism demand. The interaction with the sea allows practicing numerous sports in the open wide Atlantic and the dense woods invite to share a relaxing environment. The Country House Quinta das Merces is a unique space where nature perfectly combines with a rich historical patrimony, giving the pleasure of an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Quinta das Merces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Das Merces Terceira/Angra Do Heroismo, Azores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta das Merces, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.