We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private beach? Yes, indeed!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beira Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Beira Mar to your Saves list
Hotel Beira Mar
Largo Miguel Corte Real, Terceira, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Terceira
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Private beach? Yes, indeed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great beachfront hotel. Unpretentious, simple and cousy. In need of some refurbishing, yes, but I give it a '4' due to its location, breakfast quality, variety, as well as overall friendliness of staff. (though the bellboy looks like a 'zombie' half the time. Nevertheless, he gets the job done!!:P) Not only can you go for a swim first thing in the morning (or afternoon,or..anytime!!?) but you can also go for a run by the beach: there's a pier and, if you are an experient runner, try the steep road to the castle, it's lovely.

Terceira is a lovely Island, even though its Turism industry is not very well developed..I suggest going to 'Biscoitos', a small natural pool resort in the North. You won't regret it. Try the pastry by the pools, going down the road to your right, second stall I believe. Very nice lady and husband selling brilliant milk 'queijadas' and beans 'queijadas'. If you see a big pot, it's corn on a cob! (a 'must have' for me)

Room Tip: all rooms are very quiet, but obviously I'd choose a room with an ocean view if you reserve earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank catmonog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Multiple
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This beachfront hotel lives up to its 4 star status. Pleasant modern rooms including a mini-fridge and kettle, clean bathrooms, a great breakfast -- all is as it should be. The location is great for exploring Angra do Heroismo on foot, though difficult to reach by car (streets are narrow and many are one-way). However, be warned, on Saturday, the hotel was very smoky due to the bar downstairs...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyTravelsForAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had a couple of rooms at the Beira Mar for three days in November, 2012, arriving in a storm and then enjoying fine weather for the rest of our stay. The hotel's location is exceptional and the staff, rooms and breakfast all contributed to making our time there very agreeable. Even parking was no problem as we found a space outside the hotel every night.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorenz250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

we stayed there for a couple of days at the beginning of October, staff friendly room clean but a little basic, the views were stunning, breakfast was good for Azorian Hotels, dinner very good and fairly priced, we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a refridgerator [ours didn't]
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterandjenny282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavia, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

the major advantage of this hotel is its position: straight in front of the beach of Angra, few steps from the marina, our room had a beautiful view to the sea and we really liked it. The room was essential, clean but a bit small. There was free internet connection and the breakfast was quite good. We also had dinner at the restaurant: the food was good, but the service was horrible. We were sitting outside and we had to wait for an incredible amount of time to get served, despite we called and complained more than once.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view, it's obligatory in a place like this!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OminoDiGhisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

not shmancy, but clean and spacious room/balcony facing the bay from which i could hear the waves :) room is simple yet has character. unlike other hotels, nice flatscreen tv/cable and in-room wifi worked very well. i'm a very light sleeper and didn't have any noise issues.

room for improvement: one female staff was super-friendly/helpful, the others more business-like. would have to say that i didn't like the restaurant's food or service.

but overall, compared to the 2 other azorean hotels at which i stayed (angra garden and vila nova on sao miguel), this was the best value and therefore the best :)

Room Tip: facing the sea, ask to preview if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank md_girl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minervino Murge, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I have been for business in this hotel in an room the second floor, last May.
The personal was reserveid and cordial; the restoraunt was good.
The room was clean but a few optional. The cost was not high!
I recommend this Hotel to all tourists!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dbarletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Terceira hotels
0.7 mi away
Terceira Mar Hotel
Terceira Mar Hotel
#1 of 8 in Angra do Heroismo
4.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
9.6 mi away
Aparthotel Atlantida Mar
Aparthotel Atlantida Mar
#1 of 5 in Praia da Vitoria
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angra Garden Hotel
Angra Garden Hotel
#4 of 8 in Angra do Heroismo
3.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Quinta das Merces
Quinta das Merces
#2 of 8 in Angra do Heroismo
4.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel do Caracol
Hotel do Caracol
#3 of 8 in Angra do Heroismo
4.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pensao Residencial a Ilha
Pensao Residencial a Ilha
#6 of 8 in Angra do Heroismo
3.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beira Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beira Mar

Address: Largo Miguel Corte Real, Terceira, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Terceira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Terceira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Beira Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Beira Mar Terceira, Portugal - Azores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing