We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private beach? Yes, indeed!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beira Mar

Hotel Beira Mar
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Beira Mar to your Saves list
Hotel Beira Mar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Miguel Corte Real, Terceira, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Terceira
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Private beach? Yes, indeed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great beachfront hotel. Unpretentious, simple and cousy. In need of some refurbishing, yes, but I give it a '4' due to its location, breakfast quality, variety, as well as overall friendliness of staff. (though the bellboy looks like a 'zombie' half the time. Nevertheless, he gets the job done!!:P) Not only can you go for a swim first thing in the morning (or afternoon,or..anytime!!?) but you can also go for a run by the beach: there's a pier and, if you are an experient runner, try the steep road to the castle, it's lovely.

Terceira is a lovely Island, even though its Turism industry is not very well developed..I suggest going to 'Biscoitos', a small natural pool resort in the North. You won't regret it. Try the pastry by the pools, going down the road to your right, second stall I believe. Very nice lady and husband selling brilliant milk 'queijadas' and beans 'queijadas'. If you see a big pot, it's corn on a cob! (a 'must have' for me)

Room Tip: all rooms are very quiet, but obviously I'd choose a room with an ocean view if you reserve earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    15
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
10
15
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Multiple
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This beachfront hotel lives up to its 4 star status. Pleasant modern rooms including a mini-fridge and kettle, clean bathrooms, a great breakfast -- all is as it should be. The location is great for exploring Angra do Heroismo on foot, though difficult to reach by car (streets are narrow and many are one-way). However, be warned, on Saturday, the hotel was very smoky due to the bar downstairs...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had a couple of rooms at the Beira Mar for three days in November, 2012, arriving in a storm and then enjoying fine weather for the rest of our stay. The hotel's location is exceptional and the staff, rooms and breakfast all contributed to making our time there very agreeable. Even parking was no problem as we found a space outside the hotel every night.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

we stayed there for a couple of days at the beginning of October, staff friendly room clean but a little basic, the views were stunning, breakfast was good for Azorian Hotels, dinner very good and fairly priced, we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a refridgerator [ours didn't]
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavia, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

the major advantage of this hotel is its position: straight in front of the beach of Angra, few steps from the marina, our room had a beautiful view to the sea and we really liked it. The room was essential, clean but a bit small. There was free internet connection and the breakfast was quite good. We also had dinner at the restaurant: the food was good, but the service was horrible. We were sitting outside and we had to wait for an incredible amount of time to get served, despite we called and complained more than once.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view, it's obligatory in a place like this!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

not shmancy, but clean and spacious room/balcony facing the bay from which i could hear the waves :) room is simple yet has character. unlike other hotels, nice flatscreen tv/cable and in-room wifi worked very well. i'm a very light sleeper and didn't have any noise issues.

room for improvement: one female staff was super-friendly/helpful, the others more business-like. would have to say that i didn't like the restaurant's food or service.

but overall, compared to the 2 other azorean hotels at which i stayed (angra garden and vila nova on sao miguel), this was the best value and therefore the best :)

Room Tip: facing the sea, ask to preview if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minervino Murge, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I have been for business in this hotel in an room the second floor, last May.
The personal was reserveid and cordial; the restoraunt was good.
The room was clean but a few optional. The cost was not high!
I recommend this Hotel to all tourists!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Beira Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beira Mar

Address: Largo Miguel Corte Real, Terceira, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Terceira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Terceira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Beira Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Beira Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Beira Mar Terceira, Portugal - Azores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beira Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.