We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Constructive critique” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vila Nova

Save Saved
You added Hotel Vila Nova to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vila Nova
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Joao F Cabral 1 3, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-208, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 hotels in Ponta Delgada
Coimbra, Portugal
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Constructive critique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed during low low season 7 nights at Hotel Vila Nova - Ponta Delgada.
Excellent value for money, comfortable room/bathroom with all amenities. WiFi was better in the bathroom then in the room itself on the 4th floor. Balcony was on the south. When you have a car, can recommend the use of the protected parking lot. Although hotel is in the flightpath to the nearby airport, noise level was acceptable, which inter alia applies to a lot more hotels in the same area. B/F buffet, pretty standard, was good and sufficient with fresh bread and croissants. Hint: ask for coffee from the espresso machine, rather then the coffee from the automat. Dinner - the expected buffet was not on - for the only one in the restaurant in the evening, was in all aspects, below level. The only drawback that we experienced. But there are sufficient affordable alternatives within easy walking distance. All in all: highly recommended at the right price, for which the internet is the best advisor to compare and book.Rob - NL, January 2014

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    112
    28
    6
    4
See reviews for
41
113
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Excellent value. The staff were all friendly, helpful and spoke English. Great location, 5-10 minute walk from the center of town and a great view of the ocean, ask for a view of the marina. The bar, and room service had great hours. The breakfast buffet had a good and varied selection.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

we stayed in this hotel between 12/10 and the 19/10/13. The hotel is in a great location away from the busy town it is approx 10 minute walk to the centre of Ponta Delgada. The Hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious, decore is great and they are kept clean to a very high standard. We had fresh bed linen and towels every day even though we had not asked for them. Although the hotel is on the flight path to and from the island I didnt think the noise of the planes bothered me that much and they are not late in to the night or too early in the morning.

The only doenside to this hotel was the restaurant on an evening they charge 25 euros per person for an all inclusive buffet, this was really not worth the price very limited choice, you are better off eating at one of the local restaurants or the hotel bar which was reasonably priced.

I would urge anyone visiting this beautiful island to stay at the Vila Nova Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

A very good hotel, clean and efficiently run. The second floor room at the back was clean and spacious with a balcony overlooking the pool, and enjoying the evening sun. The large bed was firm but not uncomfortable.
In order to use the safe we got a key from Reception.
The breakfasts were perfectly adequate, with plenty of choices.
We went out of the hotel for dinner each evening, there were very few people eating in. We used a small friendly restaurant up the road on most evenings, part of the Ponta Delgada Hotel I think.
The hotel is well situated a short walk from the centre of town, with all amenities on hand.
The staff were friendly and helpful, as were the locals we encountered.
The low flying aircraft were no problem whatsoever, quite the reverse in fact!
I would recommend this hotel, and happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back, with a balcony overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here for a week whilst on a Sunvil holiday. All the staff without exception were friendly. The hotel is clean and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. It's in a good location on the outskirts of the town - between 5 and 25 minutes walk depending on where you wanted to get to. Our room had a balcony and over looked the 'town' side. It was pleasant in the early evening to sit with a glass of wine and watch the world go by. The proximity to the airport didn't bother us at all as the flights are not that frequent. We heard more noise from the coaches picking up the early morning tours. Breakfast was buffet style and there was something for everyone. Some mornings were busier than others but we always got a table. We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening as we prefer to try different places but it looked like it was an all inclusive price including drinks. Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Great staff who are willing to help you book tours and give out helpful information that is useful. Spacious rooms that are always clean. Fantastic location, a quick walk to anywhere that you'd like to go in the cite. The airplanes are no trouble whatsoever. Don't eat in the resturant though, as there are much better and cheaper places in the town centre. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Have just returned from a week in the Azores staying at the Vila Nova hotel. This hotel is rated as a 3 star, but it is better than some 4 star hotels I've visited. Rooms good, hotel spotlessly clean. We booked with Atlantic Travel. There was a bit of a gap with communication from Atlantic as they have no rep at or visiting the hotel. Our package included a whale-watching trip, but we didn't know when it was scheduled until we arrived on the island. We had booked two private tours prior to arrival and fortunately there was no clash. However, when we received an envelope on our arrival, it gave details of the trip and where to go in Ponta Delgada to get it. It also gave a local telephone number of an agent if we had any queries, but unless it was an urgent query, this was a 9 to 5, Mon to Fri number. We arrived tea time on Saturday. In view of bad weather we sought out the Whale watching company - Futurism - on the Sunday, to see what was likely to happen the following day. The girl in their quayside office explained that it was very likely to be cancelled on the Monday, and as there were a number of people from the Vila Nova hotel due to go on the trip, they would phone the hotel early on the Monday morning to let us know. Sadly, no phone call, and no further contact at all during the week, so we had no whale-watching trip. However, I am aware that some others did make it to a trip on the Friday, but that would have been through their own endeavours. We very much enjoyed our stay at the hotel and in the Azores, which I would describe as similar to Madeira but without as many people. A short walk from the hotel to the centre of Ponta Delgada, with a variety of restaurants within easy reach. The only criticism I have of the hotel is their buffet price. We did not partake of the buffet, but found €25 Euros per person to be very much on the high side. There are other restaurants where two can eat for 25 Euros. Others have commented on the hard beds, but I agree that they are quite hard. Very close to the airport but that did not bother us at all. In fact it was quite pleasing to watch planes coming in to land. Our room overlooked the pool and we had a side-on view of the sea. No balcony to our room.

Room Tip: Rooms facing out over the front of the hotel have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Vila Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vila Nova

Address: Rua Joao F Cabral 1 3, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-208, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vila Nova 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Vila Nova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Nova Hotel
Hotel Vila Nova Ponta Delgada, Azores - Sao Miguel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vila Nova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.