We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unscheduled but pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ponta Delgada

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ponta Delgada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cabral, 49, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-249, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 24 hotels in Ponta Delgada
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Unscheduled but pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had an unscheduled stay at this hotel as our flight to another island in the Azores was delayed due to bad weather. Everything was arranged for us by Sata airlines and this hotel was clearly used by the airline for these eventualities. We were well looked after by the hotel staff and were very satisfied with the accommodation. The food at the hotel restaurant was good and the staff here treated us well too. We were kept informed of any changes to pick up arrangements for our trip to the airport the next day. The staff were very efficient and obviously used to dealing delayed flight passengers but they managed to make us feel welcome at the same time.

Despite not planning to stay here we were very happy with the hotel and would recommend it to other visitors to Ponta Delgada.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    38
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
14
35
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Very quite position with a very nice view.
Beds very confortable and wonderful balcony.
Swimming pool nice, for some relax is a good place to stay.
Breakfast was rich, not various but we enjoyed it a lot.

Small thing (but aren't the small thing the most important ones?):
when making the bad, the cleaning lady was making nice "forms" with our pajamas.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed in a triple room for a week. Room was very basic but a good size. Beds were comfortable and the rooms were very clean. Good location its at most a 40min drive from most of the sights. Breakfast was nice and the service in the bar was excellent. The only downside is the hotel restaurant. We went here on our last night and sadly it did not leave a good impression
Service was poor and what little we did eat was tasteless and left us with upsetsstomach for our journey home. Would recommend the hotel but not the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel is 5-10 minutes walk to the west of the city centre and is along a quiet street. Very helpful staff. Car park under hotel is small but there are 4 spaces on the street as well - none can be pre-booked. It is close to the flight path into the airport but I did not find this affected the experience as flights are few and far between and the rooms are well insulated against noise. The balconies for each room are a useful and pleasant addition. Air con in the rooms is better than many and bathrooom is fine if a little dated, the shower is standard dual unit tap shower. No tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms which is the only significant drawback.
Swimming pool and spa facilities good but no lockers for clothes. Fitness centre small but never used!
Free Wifi in reception area on ground floor at near computer consoles outside breakfast room. Overall very happy with the hotel.

Room Tip: I beleive balconies at best at front of hotel, 1st floor corridors hot as heat from spa permeates th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warsaw
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My wife and I spent our holiday at this hotel at the beginning of August of 2013. We have no reason to complain. The room was spacious enough to accomodate two of us, and was cleaned every day. Hotel's staff was nice, friendly and English-speaking. Perhaps, breakfasts were a little bit repetitious and basic, but dinners offerred a great choice of good food.

The hotel is situated in front of a marina, with a great sea view from our room # 413. Access to the Internet is free-of-charge, up to a 30-minute session (you need to ask for a password at the reception desk.)

Brace yourself for an unforseeable weather, but we were lucky with tempretures ranging from the 80's up to 90's. If you chose this hotel, you will not regret it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalisz, Poland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I visited the Azores and Ponta Delgada on January 2013. I had chance to stay in Hotel Ponta Delgada in a twin room for a week. The room was very spacious, just renovated with very nice looking bathroom and a good view from the balcony. It also had the TV set, A/C, hairdryer. The hotel itself is also having the inside swimming pool, jacuzzi and a sauna. Considering that we went there off-season it was really a good value for money. The continental breakfast was very good and nutritious for the beginning of the day. The hotel is located close to the city centre and not far from the airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, ON
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We arrived at 7am from Toronto and were able to check in right away - this is a big bonus. After checking in we decided to go for a walk. We now know that when you get near the water front to turn left as this will take you towards the main town. It is a about 5 minute stroll to the downtown area.

Our room faced away from the road so the only noise at night was that of a local dog. The bathroom had a very strong shower with lots of hot water. The only issue was that the bed was very hard, but we were only there two nights.

The breakfast was good but if we showed up between 7:30 and 8:00 then it was difficult getting a table.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ponta Delgada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ponta Delgada

Address: Cabral, 49, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-249, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ponta Delgada 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Ponta Delgada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ponta Delgada Azores - Sao Miguel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ponta Delgada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.