We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the ocean at your feet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marina Atlantico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Marina Atlantico to your Saves list
Hotel Marina Atlantico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Joao Bosco Mota Amaral, 1, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-767, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Ponta Delgada
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“the ocean at your feet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

If you want to sleep near the deep blue ocean of the Azores Islands, then try this very good hotel, just in front of Ponta Delgada Marina. The rooms are not very big, but if you want to stay in a quiet and central hotel, you have to try it! You will feel verry, very gooood!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    151
    45
    6
    4
See reviews for
49
125
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I have to be fair and say that I can't really assess this hotel as I normally would as we didn't 'stay' there, rather had bed & breakfast before an early flight home to the UK (we returned to Sao Miguel from Terceira at 1800 and flew home at 0900 the next morning). However, this review might be useful for those doing the same as I'm sure it is used extensively for this purpose judging by the numbers on the coach to the airport. It's a large impersonal hotel with professional, if cool, staff. The rooms are what you would expect from a hotel of this type - good but not fantastic. We chose not to use the hotel restaurant for our evening meal and wandered down the promenade in the direction of the town centre. There are plenty of restaurants to choose from close by which are adequate and inexpensive. The hotel receptionist told us an early breakfast would be available at 0600 and, in a way, it was. Just cereal, juice, ham, cheese, bread and hot drinks. I suppose I shouldn't have expected more but I did so it was a disappointment. In summary, OK for what we needed but nothing more than that

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLASGOW
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks. Had a lovely suite on the 2nd floor with a balcony and great view over the Marina.We had a very large bedroom with a tv and plenty of cupboard space. A huge lounge with a suite and extra chairs, also a large tv. A very nice bathroom, kept spotless with plenty of towels etc. The staff in the Hotel very pleasant and helpful. Fabio in the breakfast room was really nice with a good sense of humour. The breakfast buffet was really good, pineapple or orange juice, champangne which was lovely. 3 kinds of cereals. Fresh fruit salads. Assorted yoghurts. Fresh made bread and rolls, croissants, brioches and the local bola levados. Bread for toasting. Cakes and scones. Home made pineapple jam and blackcurrant jam, also local Azorean honey. Cold meats and cheese. Lovely large tomatoes. Also 3 kinds of cheeses from the Islands,the San Jorge is really nice. Bacon, sausages, beans scrambled eggs. Coffees and teas. I agree with one of the previous reports about the coach parties, the hotel should keep them all together as they block up space chatting to each other when they pass the buffet area.
Some of them are quite noisy and they do leave the lids left open.
Used the indoor pool which was nice and warm and the area well kept. Took the tip and brought my own swimming cap.
Used the computer room quite a lot which was very good and the reception staff were very good in printing a e-mail for me, as there are no printers in the room.
We had a light lunch in the Hotel the day before we left and would agree that the Club sandwich was excellent, we shared it between 2 as it was so large.
Would definately return to this Hotel and would recommend. We saw it advertised when we were staying at one of their Hotels in Lisbon, Hotel Acores Lisboa and thought it looked lovely, and it was.

Room Tip: Pay for a suite, there are only 4 of them, ask for 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I really needed a massage to loosen up my sore muscles. So I asked where to get massage and was recommended Spazio Zen at the basement store of Hotel Marina Atlantico.

Based on this recommendation I hoped and expected of course a professional and nice massage treatment. But it was the worst. It was a cold room, she used already used towels, she didn't give me the massage requested. Although I told her before the session what I needed - working my muscles and infiltrations - instead she gave relaxing massage.

During the whole session I frooze. And out of the 60 minutes she only massaged 45 minutes.

And the ultimate chock was at the end her price - 55 EUROs. From what I now price and quality has to correspond. Otherwise I take it as deliberate cheating. Which is what I think about the woman who runs the massage-part. Furthermore the receipt I got was a receipt that is hardly vizible (faded ink).

So all in all I don't recommend neither Spazio Zen nor Hotel Marina Atlantico because they ought to monitor the quality of the businesses working at basement of the hotel.

Furthermore the experience was a really ugly 'spot' on an otherwise very nice stay at Sao Miguel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Unfortunately I did not get one of the glossy Ocean view rooms, my room overlooked the back streets, but saying that it was very clean and comfortable. Only downside to the room was it took me ages to find a power socket and when located(behind the desk) I had to charge stuff on the floor.
The breakfast spread was very good. Unfortunately the plague of locusts AKA tourist coach parties don't let you any where near the food and when you do finally get there you find all the lids have been left open on the hot dishes so they are luke warm at best, not the nicest way to eat a cooked breakfast.

On a positive note the Club Sandwich I had at the bar for my evening meal was one of the best I have ever had, very reasonably priced and washed down with a beer looking at the ocean, very nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Directly at the Seafront, good and cosy. We get there a real friendly Service and we can recommend this Hotel to others. Good Location and the Hotel was nice and cosy outfitted. Room was in a good middle Class Standard outfitted and we found there all was clean. Good Itmes at Breakfast, wich we did liked and it was tasty.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The location was fantastic, everything you could need is within walking distance. The public pool is right across the street and everyone with free time is there in the afternoons. The city gates and gates to the ocean are an easy walk away along with tons of restaurants sitting right on the water. The breakfast that included is typical of this hotel chain, but still better than what you will get anywhere else. There is an outdoor seating which makes it great for a drink at the end of a day. Due to limited staff, don't hold your breath for a drink.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and you can face the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Marina Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Atlantico

Address: Avenida Joao Bosco Mota Amaral, 1, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-767, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the marina and the Port of Cruises, in the center of Ponta Delgada in S. Miguel Island, Hotel Marina Atlântico offers a superb view of the ocean in the horizon colored by boat masts and flags. Hotel Marina Atlântico embodies a ship, with high masts, resting on the shore. As the best hotel in town, its decor is luminous and modern, inspired by nautical motifs and inviting you to have a serene and unique experience. You can leisurely benefit from a first class Health Club and savor its well-known and distinct cuisine full of local Azorean products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Marina Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Atlantico Hotel
Marina Atlantico Ponta Delgada
Hotel Marina Atlantico Ponta Delgada, Azores - Sao Miguel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marina Atlantico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.