We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marina Atlantico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Marina Atlantico to your Saves list
Hotel Marina Atlantico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Joao Bosco Mota Amaral, 1, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-767, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Ponta Delgada
GLOS
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed at the Atlantico in Sept this year as part of a Saga island hopping tour,
Hotel is very modern with all glass frontage wth lovely sea and harbour views.
Most rooms at rear have 3 beds and are very large but a little on the dark side
sea view rooms at a supplement are smaller .
All the staff were very polite and very helpfull
The food was international help your self ,A good selection but as most food in the Azores only warm but enjoyable.
Would I stay their again YES

Room Tip: high floor sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    175
    48
    6
    4
See reviews for
55
138
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

If planning on going to Ponta Delgada and want a hotel facing the ocean and mariner make reservations for Hotel Marina Atlantico. Book a room on 5th or 6 th floor with a balcony and you may never want to leave the hotel. Watching the sky change every few minutes and boats entering and leaving the harbor can become a full time hobby.
As is taking pictures of the changing sky line. Food is good, staff is friendly and speak English and there is a hotel spa . Great spot to walk the city. Also city's feels very safe no issues at all regarding safety while i was there.

Room Tip: See above 5th or 6th floor facing sea are great. There are no coffee pots in rooms but there are r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location, you just cross the street and there are a bunch of great restaurants. The price of food here is low. You can have a meal in this town for 1/2 the price of Europe. Rooms are clean. Beds a little hard but over all. Great place

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Nice 4 star hotel with mostly elderly people. Very good sound isolation, no disturbing noise anywhere -I think everybody got to bed early! Good location, only few minutes walking to the central city and the harbour restaurants. Staff was helpful and friendly.

Bathroom was big enough but I wonder why they put bathtubes in relatively new hotel and at the same time tell to be very "green hotel". The truth is that taking a bath uses a lot more water and energy than a shower. And since the average age of guests is quite high it would be much more convinient to them to take a shower when they don't have to climb in a bath tube. The towels sometimes stay in a rail, sometimes are changed even there is a note that they will only be changed when putting them on the floor or tube. Again- a green hotel is expected to saved as much water and energy as possible.

Be careful with the minibar, it is electronic and even moving the items will be billed. As so often the room didn't have enough plugs and the only free was placed under the table -hard to reach. And no plug in the bathroom for hair dryer.

The room was ok size and had a reasonable balkony with wooden table and chairs, traffic under it was quite heavy though. Big window part and good sound isolation also there.The view was over the harbour, would propably be better on the upper floors. The bed was really hard, I had to put an extra blanket under my sheet to help a little. Tv was old fashioned big one and the picture quality not so good. Air condition worked fine when we finally found out how to manage it. No instruction was given. Only thing I hated was the wardrobe with hangers you couldn't take out. Quite common in the hotels, but I still hate it and wonder if people really steel the normal hangers?

Breakfast was ok, but no variation from day to day, always the same. I missed fresh fruits instead of having a fruit salad and canned fruits. I loved to be able to use the coffee machine myself - I like strong Café latte and took always double espresso with fresh hot milk. My friend had a mixed coffee of normal and single espresso. At least some of the chairs were worn out; they looked good but you sank in the and sitting was uncomfortable. The first dinner we had at the restaurant's buffet, that was quite simple and boring as buffets often are. We didn't try it again because there are some lovely restaurants close to the hotel.

Free WiFi only in the lobby area but there are not really any seating (couple of desks and 4 chairs). I had both iPad and iPhone and they didn't work in the restaurant or bar area. Pay WiFi is in the rooms. The hotel has its own garage, 7,5 €/day and to drive in and out was a nightmare because of a very high street edge. It is easy to ruin your car floor...luckily I didn't!

There is a spa which we didn't try, but it looked nice. The outdoor pool is a public pool on the harbour area.

All in all a good hotel with some minor complaints.

Room Tip: Ask a room with a sea view on the upper floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Spent a week there recently. Staff were good in all services. Slight issue with ants but copious sprays of "environmentally-friendly" treatment and they more or less disappeared. Good help-yourself breakfast buffet but mostly the same choices every day (price usually includes breakfast). Did not try the dinner restaurant but fixed buffet (22.50 euros) or a la carte available. Car park in basement. Convenient for city centre restaurants and shops - plenty of choices. We were in an end suite (333) on the 3rd floor overlooking marina and harbour. Excellent suite, it does overlook the main road beneath but we did not find noise an issue as we kept windows/doors closed at night but there was some wind whistling around 1 of the bedroom windows as the outer rubber seal was twisted and left a gap - very windy for a couple of days and nights!! Some late-night noise from "discos" across the Marina but not an issue for us.

Room Tip: Room 333 is an end of floor suite with the lounge area between you and neighbours but heard nothing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattapoisett, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We just spent four days in Ponta Delgada at Hotel Marina Atlantico. This was a short visit to get the taste of my family's `old country'. There is nothing `old country' about this hotel. The staff is welcoming, the location is exceptional, the breakfast is very good and the value is excellent. Our balcony was on the third floor facing the Marina. The view overlooking the harbor is calming and convenient as there are many little cafes to sample and have a cerveja or three at the cruise dock. There was entertainment over the weekend and plenty of activity within a short distance. The restaurants nearby were very well received also but that is for another review.
My wife (who is not of Portuguese ancestry) and I were pleasantly surprised by the overall cleanliness and service. On the flight home she was wondering when we will get to go back.
The only downside was the somewhat spotty WiFi signal.
I heartily recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Some earlier reviews have mentioned the street noise. Don't be afraid to book the harborside; a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto,canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Great service ,excellent location .We stayed on the 6th floor over looking the pool and ocean.On arrival excellent reception ,our bags where picked up right away from the taxi brought into the hotel.Check in was quick with excellent service.Breakfast was ok maybe they can change it up with some different food choices.the only down fall is that this hotel does not supply irons in the room,that kind of sucked.over all very good hotel .

Room Tip: 6th floor over looking the pool and ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Marina Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Atlantico

Address: Avenida Joao Bosco Mota Amaral, 1, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-767, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the marina and the Port of Cruises, in the center of Ponta Delgada in S. Miguel Island, Hotel Marina Atlântico offers a superb view of the ocean in the horizon colored by boat masts and flags. Hotel Marina Atlântico embodies a ship, with high masts, resting on the shore. As the best hotel in town, its decor is luminous and modern, inspired by nautical motifs and inviting you to have a serene and unique experience. You can leisurely benefit from a first class Health Club and savor its well-known and distinct cuisine full of local Azorean products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Marina Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Atlantico Hotel
Marina Atlantico Ponta Delgada
Hotel Marina Atlantico Ponta Delgada, Azores - Sao Miguel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marina Atlantico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.