We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unique Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel do Colegio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel do Colegio to your Saves list
Hotel do Colegio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Carvalho Araujo 39, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-040, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Ponta Delgada
British Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Unique Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We enjoyed the history of the building, (former convent and music school) which they have preserved very nicely.The location on a quiet narrow cobbled street provides ambiance, but it is an easy walk to the harbour and central square. The rooms have high ceilings and are comfortable. The buffet breakfast was good and the hotel restauarant O Colmeia was excellent for dinner.
We especially enjoyed being there on a feast day when the hotel and the street were totally decorated; a very nice cultural insight. The staff were friendly and helpful. There is free wifi in the lobby.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the central pool are noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    93
    35
    15
    1
See reviews for
26
97
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were delighted with the charm, location, comfort, and especially the free parking at this city center hotel. Close to all of Ponta Delgada's city attractions, but in an area where parking can be a challenge (though far from impossible), the free underground parking, accessed by elevator, was a huge extra. Desk staff was exceedingly gracious about attending to he elevator whenever we needed to take our car in or out. Street noise might be an issue for some, but it wasn't a problem for us.The common areas are very comfortable and attractive, complete with a glass case displaying mementoes from the hotel's time as a school. Our room was clean, good sized, with nice quality matelasse coverlets and modern marble bathroom. Breakfast was plentiful and varied, nothing specifically gluten free but enough choice to make the meal satisfying for me. The attractive pool is somewhat awkwardly located amidst the lobby and restaurant areas, a tad too public, we thought. There are definitely some water stains on the otherwise clean carpets, which we assume will be tended to over the slow winter season. Many nice touches for a bargain price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The hotel is on a very narrow one way street in the picturesque old town, but only a few minutes walk from the harbour/sea front. The barrel ceiling reception rooms are impressive. Reception was very helpful - provides locks for the in room safe and towels for swimming. Rooms were good with very effective air conditioning but look over narrow side streets so can be quite noisy, especially as there is a jazz club on one corner - though that didn't go on too late (and the refuse collectors came round about 10pm rather than early morning). Breakfast was fine could do better for a hotel of this quality ( I am comparing with the same star hotel we used in Horta on Faial): no herbal tea or hot water to make your own, no gluten free bread available, hot breakfast didn't come out till nearly 8am which is too late when going to airport or on day trips. Dinner was mixed: the two soups on offer were poor and rich fish soup did not live up to the word rich, however the starters and desserts were excellent (never hungry enough in the evening for a main) but beware the descriptions: chicken curry with mango was barely seasoned chicken bites with mango flesh as a dip - delicious but not what I expected.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel is right in the middle of town - be warned it can get noisy at times - an old building so no chance of double glazing. Convenient for the main attractions. I wouldn't recommend driving to get there - parking anywhere nearby looked virtually impossible, all roads nearby are narrow, cobbled streets with tight corners. We ended up dropping our hire car back early and getting a cab from the airport (about 10 Euros, I think) and are very glad we did.

The rooms were basic but acceptable - no frills. The staff were ok, however didn't pass on a couple of messages which caused mild inconvenience, and we weren't able to find out what time our transfer was until 10pm the night before, about 6 hours before we needed to leave! Also the wi-fi was not working about half the time.

There is a small enclosed pool area - absolutely freezing. Breakfast was ok - decent choice nothing special. Restaurant excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This could be our worst nightmare. Stayed at the hotel due our requested hotel begin overbooked but we would prefer to stay at the Comfort Inn as the rooms was horrible--dirty, noisy, etc. Breakfast very basic!! Entry impressive but that's the end of it!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this charming hotel. It has a comfortable "Old World" atmosphere with period antiques, wood beam ceilings and warm terracotta floors. The front desk staff was excellent, always cheerful and helpful. Our room was quite large and had a private garden area for our small dog which was very much appreciated. The hotel is very convenient to the center of town and the harbor, without any traffic noise. The downside for this hotel, through no fault of theirs, was the clientele. Maybe I've spent too many years living in Europe but the clientele (mostly groups of East Coast Americans) were so extremely loud and vulgar it was often difficult to carry on a quiet conversation in the lobby and breakfast room. Nobody is interested in listening to your booming voice like a loudspeaker broadcasting to the entire breakfast room your morning greetings, how you slept and what you're going to have for breakfast. Are they all hard of hearing? Personally, I don't know how the front desk staff was able to tolerate it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My housekeeper and I recently spent 6 nights at the Colegio accompanied by a number of parishoners, including deacon Hicks and reverend Parvo. The owner was very gracious and the service was spot on. I would highly recommend this Hotel when visiting Ponta Delgata

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel do Colegio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel do Colegio

Address: Rua Carvalho Araujo 39, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-040, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel do Colegio 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A window for the azorean essence and spirit! A small charm hotel installed in an old XIXth century manor house, in the middle of Ponta Delgada's city centre. Ideal for the tourist or business traveler who want, in the end of the day, a place like home, with all the modern commodities. Enjoy all the magical flavours of the Azorean Gastronomy, with a bit of innovation, at our restaurant A Colmeia! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel do Colegio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Do Colegio Hotel
Do Colegio Ponta Delgada
Hotel Do Colegio Ponta Delgada, Azores - Sao Miguel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel do Colegio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.