We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private tour guide,excellent tour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rui Medeiros - Azores Private Tours

Rui Medeiros - Azores Private Tours
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel, Portugal
351 96 275 81 86
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: My name is Rui and I am a Sao Miguel Island native. I love meeting people from other countries and making their visit to the Azores one they will never forget. My customers are not just clients to me – they are new friends, and as such they receive personalised service. I have many years of experience as a professional private driver, and you will find me an enthusiastic host with an excellent sense of humour. I can provide VIP services, Private Tours by Car and/or Minivan, and Airport Transfers.
ft. laud., fl
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Private tour guide,excellent tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

While sailing to the Azores, we decided we wanted a private guide, not recommended by the cruise line. I know we were taking a chance by booking online;however, we definitely made the right decision. Rui was punctual, waiting for us when we disembarked the ship. His first hand knowledge of the area was amazing. We were able to see all we requested, especially the stunning landscapes of the area. I wouldn't hesitate booking him again.

Visited May 2012

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    4
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour,great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

After 3 days at sea from Southampton we were ready for this tour. On arrival Rui was waiting for us as he had promised in our initial Emails. The weather on the day was overcast so Rui suggested that we tour the city first. We were a bit concerned that we would be unable to see the fire lakes but Rui assured us that the mist would lift. We visited a Pineapple plantation which was interesting and then we headed up into the mountains to the stunning landscapes. Throughout the tour we had frequent stops for pics etc and nothing was a problem to our excellent tour guide, Rui. We left the Azores in low season looking forward to return in the future and would certainly book Rui again, a very informative tour guide and a genuine guy. Highly recommended, and better value than ship tours. 10/10!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Day with Rain and Fog”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The first week of January we were in Ponta Delgada for a 6 hour layover between flights. Rather than spending many hours at the airport - or attempting to strike out to explore the city on our own, my wife and I reviewed Trip Advisor and decided to contact Rui Medeiros to see if he would be available for a half-day private tour of the island of Sao Miguel. We were delighted to find out he was available and made a reservation for him to meet us at the airport when we arrived. Rather than repeat all the positive things that others have said in their 5 star reviews - I would like to state that every glowing statement turned out to be true. Rui is truly the best tour guide we have ever experienced and his rates for our two person private half-day tour were about what we would have expected to pay for both of us to be on a group tour. Instead of having to share Rui with others, we were able to enjoy all of his attention and with Rui's help streamline our tour for our personal wants.

One of the things that made our situation unique from most of the other reviews is that we were there off season. We were flying through the Azores from a Christmas vacation with family on one of the other islands. We knew this meant we might have fog, wind and rain. Rather than schedule a tour to see a specific site at the island - we left our itinerary open. Sure enough we arrived to fog and rain. Rui explained that going to Sete Cidades or Lagoa do Fogo would have limited visibility, but that the city of Furnas was in the crater of a volcano and we wouldn't be able to see the rim of the volcano that surrounded us - but there were many other features that would be below the clouds and give us a feel for that part of the island. In spite of the fog and the rain -we were not disappointed. Rui's intimate knowledge of the island and its people allowed him to adjust our tour so that it was a very special experience for us. We have decided we want to return to the Azores and spend several days on Sao Miguel with Rui showing us more of his part of the world - including some back country hiking to sites that can't be reached by car. He turned what could have been another boring airport layover into a memorable part of our trip.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Blown off course to the Azores and another day with Rui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Due to various hurricanes instead of sailing direct to Halifax the ship detoured to the Azores and fortunately were able to book Rui again - to tour the western half of the island to go with the eastern half seen in February.

What a great island and yet again we were totally satisfied with his in depth knowledge of the island. Finding the honey and cheeses we wanted plaus the local music CD and newspaper is a breeze with Rui. Thanks again.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Tour of Ponta Delgada!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We just returned from our cruise and by far the highight of our trip was the tour provided to us by Rui Mederios. Rui was an outstanding guide for his beautiful island and took us to all of the gorgeous viewpoints, the liquor and tea factories, the pineapple plantation, the hot spings and much more. He brought us to local places to sample the cheeses and wines. He was the consummate host and we would highly recommend a tour with Rui if you are visiting Sao Miguel!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rui Medeiros - Azores Private Tours also viewed

Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 

Been to Rui Medeiros - Azores Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rui Medeiros - Azores Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.