We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great tour of a great island......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rui Medeiros - Azores Private Tours

Rui Medeiros - Azores Private Tours
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel, Portugal
351 96 275 81 86
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 22 activities in Ponta Delgada
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: My name is Rui and I am a Sao Miguel Island native. I love meeting people from other countries and making their visit to the Azores one they will never forget. My customers are not just clients to me – they are new friends, and as such they receive personalised service. I have many years of experience as a professional private driver, and you will find me an enthusiastic host with an excellent sense of humour. I can provide VIP services, Private Tours by Car and/or Minivan, and Airport Transfers.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A great tour of a great island......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Visited Ponta Delgada on a cruise last week. We hired Rui Medeiros and his taxi for half a day to show us as much of the Island as he could - what a great idea that was. A charming young man, excellent English, combined with his natural enthusiasm for his Island coupled with an extensive knowledge of every aspect of the Azores.

Time was limited to half a day, but the time spent with Rui was one of the highlights of the cruise. I cannot over-state what a contribution this man made to our holiday and he has certainly left us wanting more of the Azores.

Professional in every aspect, very reasonably priced and completely trustworthy and responsible, I cannot recommend this man more than to say, if I ever return to the Azores, it will be because of him and we will seek him out to use his services.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    4
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“A wonderful guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We were sailing on the Celebrity Eclipse and were looking for an Independent Tour. Through the Cruise Critic Roll Call we made up a group of 6 and booked through Rui. He advised us that we would be driven and guided by his colleague in a people carrier.

After disembarking we easily found our Driver in the Terminal and were shown to the vehicle. We quickly establised that our driver was Rui himself! We had an excellent tour and were taken to view points that the ship's excursions in coaches could not have reached! Although we had booked a 4 hour tour, Rui gave us the best part of 5 hours. It was an excellent afternoon with Rui imparting so much local knowledge and also very carefully driven!

We all thoroughly enjoyed our tour and would strongly recommend Rui to anyone looking for a private tour of this beautiful island.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best guide in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We arranged our tours with Rui via email and everything turned out as planned. We were met at the airport by Fransisco one of Rui's collegues just like it was planned- bonus we met Rui too! We had a half day tour planned and then a full day both days with Fransisco. He was a great guide so if Rui is busy, as he was when we booked don't worry Fransisco is very informative and his English is perfect. We did go out with Rui one morning also and he brought us back to the airport.
I see why everyone loves him he is just a "nice guy".
We highly recommend Rui and Fransisco for your travel guides.
Janice and Bob
Cambridge, Canada

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Personality Plus!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We felt compelled to take a minute and write a review about our tour guide Rui Medeiros. From the minute he picked us up at our residence to when he dropped us off, Rui was not only an outstanding tour guide, but a wonderful person with whom to spend the day! Rui spoke excellent English which made a world of difference. His friendly, outgoing personality made us feel welcome and by the end of our 2-day tour, we felt Rui was more of a friend than a tour guide. Whether we were with Rui on tour or using his service as a taxi cab, his attention to detail and promptness was impeccable. Rui, or Mr. Hollywood as we nicked name him because everywhere we went he was so warmly received and everyone knew him and had nothing but good things to say. We know there are other very good tour guides on the island, but for us, Rui will become our "go to" guide for all of our visits to Sao Miguel. Rui, thanks for making our stay so memorable! Don't forget Tarot root, and we won't forget your smile. Mj, Melissa, Marie.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
“Couldn't have asked for a better guide.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Just finished spending a day with Rui on a private tour. What a great way to see this beautiful island. We booked Rui over the Internet with no prior knowledge of his service. We had no idea what to expect but we were more than pleased with his service! Rui made our day! Even with less than perfect weather, Rui made it a very memorable day. He was friendly, courteous, attentive and extremely knowledgeable. It was the little things that I think made Rui's service stand out from others. He opened car doors, ran to get us umbrellas when it stared to rain, altered his timetable when needed and told us stories and the history of the island.

Looking for a guided tour of Sao Miguel? Give Rui Medeiros a call for an unforgettable day!
Thanks Rui!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rui Medeiros - Azores Private Tours also viewed

Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 

Been to Rui Medeiros - Azores Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rui Medeiros - Azores Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rui Medeiros - Azores Private Tours to your Saves list