We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice seafood on local, cozy atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Marisca

Casa Marisca
Rua Engenheiro Jose Cordeiro 127, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-311, Portugal
296 382 780
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 91 Restaurants in Ponta Delgada
Cuisines: Portuguese, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice seafood on local, cozy atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had the limpets as a starter and codfish and the house steak as the main course, both of which were vero pleasant. The service was attentative and the atmosphere genuine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    34
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Glad we made the effort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We tried this restaurant for lunch on the last day of our holiday and were glad we made the effort to walk a little way from the promenade to find it. We had a light starter and an excellent shared mixed seafood platter with a generous glass of white wine each for under 40 euros. If we had found this restaurant earlier on our holiday then we would have made more than one visit, so perhaps it's a good reason for us to make a return visit to Sao Miguel for another holiday!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Restaurant with plenty of locals, but disappointing food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Had fish for main course. It was very tasteless, although fresh. Maybe I picked wrong option, but it was worst of all my meals in Ponta Delgada.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montefollonico, Italy
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Strongly suggested!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Very nice and cosy place, friendly owner, very fresh sea food, and reasonable price. Lot's of local people, which is mean quality. We will for sure come back again....
Free WI-FI and credit card accepted.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This was the first restaurant we went to in Ponta Delgada and for overall value for seafood I thought it was the best. My wife and I shared the cataplana and my 12 year old had the swordfish. My son ate all of the sides as well, something he almost never does. The food was delicious.

The restaurant was mostly filled with local people and the staff was very efficient. It's really not that far a walk from anywhere in town, but it is really worth it if staying on the east side of the city.

Look for the big red neon arrow to find it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Marisca also viewed

Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 

Been to Casa Marisca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Marisca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.